We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fairy Tale house in idyllic surtounding”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Chris P
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fairy Tale house in idyllic surtounding”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to rent Alfie's Place over Christmas in order to escape the retail frenzy in London. We couldn't have made a better choice. The house is about 500 years old, in one of Malta's oldest (and traffic free!) streets in Birgu. Friendly local people with a huge sense of community. Many houses display a nativity scene - a couple of them had elaborate models of the entire village of Bethlehem - which only added to the sense of having a real Christmas. The house itself was splendidly equipped, and owner Alfie is a delight, both friendly and knowledgeable. Only a few minutes walk from the Marina and ferry to Valletta. Bliss. To quote Arnie, we'll be back....

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the ho6se
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
So Glad you enjoyed the place and had a beautiful Christmas, was an absolute pleasure having you and sure hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per T
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A perfect place to spend time away We were met at the airport by Alfie and taken to the house and showed how every thing worked and introduced to local residences and places to eat & drink We found the house well equipped and had every thing we could wish for The shower was very good with plenty of hot water Beds very comfortable and clean The kitchen was very well equipped if you needed to cook but why would you when cafes and resterants are so good and are within walking distance Alfie was only a phone call away if we had any questions and was so informative to help us with our stay We would defentley recomend a stay in this house if you are looking for a vacation with quality and character and charm A must place to stay to be near the tradional heart of Malta and with transport so easy to access Well done Alfie !! We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
It has been lovely having you and Great to know you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to see you in the near future. Have a Merry Christmas and a happy New year. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonella...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“charming house in Birgu”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Alfie is an excellent guest, making sure all commuications clear before meeting and offering us a welcome drink. Fridge was stocked with essentials and Alfie made sure everything was ok for us during our stay. .
The house is located in a charming part of Birgu and is a lovely retreat for a holiday. Great value for money and a taste of Maltese life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, always great to know guests enjoyed their stay and got value for money, hope you have a Lovely Christmas & New year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia V
Bad Herrenalb, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Living among the locals”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We met our host at a bar and he showed us aroung Vittoriosa. Where to shop, where to eat and where the ferry was leaving for Valletta. He even showed us where to get a parking permit for our rental car. (If you want to park your car in Vittoriosa over night you need that permit - or you can leave the car outside the city-walls...
The property itself is small but cosy. Alfie provided a starter-kit of basic food and water in the fridge so we didn't need to buy provisions right away.
The bathroom is fitted up to modern standards and the shower is spacious.
The main bedroom has a TV and air condition.
If you are looking for a house of character with the comforts of modern life (such as TV, WIFI), this is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pitturesque setting
Liked least: The neighbor's alarm clock in the morning...
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review T glad you liked and enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules L
Stafford
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It does what it says on this tin ...”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Alfie's place is a beautiful apartment set in the Knights Quarter of the historical city of Birgu. Alfie collected us from the airport as arranged and right from the moment we met him he endeared himself to us. He took us on a whirlwind tour of Birgu and parked in Victory Square where our holiday began with a visit to DCentre, a lovely café/bar where we enjoyed the hospitality of our host. We then collected our luggage and were taken just three streets away to our accommodation for a week.

Just walking to the apartment was wonderful ... beautiful unspoilt streets of terraces built in Medieval times ... our accommodation was accessed via some steps and on opening the door we entered into the most delightful property. Situated on the ground floor is a kitchen/eating area and a bathroom and on the first floor two bedrooms, the main one with seating and a balcony. The property is spotless and Alfie kindly left essentials, water, coffee, etc., to last us for a couple of days.

Birgu has so much to offer with enormous amounts of history on every street. Wander at leisure and take in the sights and sounds of this historic area and meet the wonderful locals. I only wish there was the chance to score this more than 5 because words cannot express our delight. Nothing on the description of this property is false. Alfie is a charming, charismatic man who goes out of his way to ensure that you have everything you need, right down to showing where the bus stop is.

If every we revisit Malta this will be our first choice for accommodation and certainly extremely high on our recommendations to family and friends.

Thank you Alfie.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Thank you for your beautiful words / Review, It was a delight having you and nothing give me more pleasure knowing that visitors not only enjoy their visit but getting value for their hard earned money. I sure hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;