We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and lovely house”

Review of Templar House

View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Breathtaking views from the roof terrace The comfortable roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Breathtaking views from the roof terrace
The comfortable roof terrace
Shade under the pergola
The courtyard, cool in the hot malta sunshine
Hallway
Dining area
Lounge
Living area downstairs
Kitchen
Stairwell
Hallway upstairs
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Twin Bedroom
Facade of Templar House
Typical Three Cities Street
Vittoriosa view from Valletta
Fort St Angelo, Vittoriosa
Blue Lagoon, Comino
The view from just outside the house looking over to Senglea & Valletta
The bridge to Senglea, a minute from Templar house
Valletta ferry stop, just outside Templar House
View towards Templar House, the bridge to Senglea & the Valletta ferry stop
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Margaretd...
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely house”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the house. It was in a great location and had all the amenities listed. We were met by the driver at the airport as promised and found some necessary supplies at the house. Everything was clean and sunny, the bedrroms and bathrooms were fresh and roomy. We enjoyed eating out on the deck both downstairs and up on the roof. The rooftop balcony requires climbing quite a few steps. this was no problem for us but might be a consideration for some travellers. the bus system in Malta is excellent and allowed us to get around conveniently and at a low cost. We highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing views and outstanding property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
blazing8
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spacious, historic house in a great location”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very delayed review (Sorry, Paul!), but my fiancé and I had wonderful time staying at the Templar House in December 2011. It is a very spacious house in a fantastic location, and it’s a great value. We wouldn’t hesitate to return!

The pros of staying at the Templar House:

Paul is fantastic! We were coming from the US, and he made the process of booking the house and getting the key extremely convenient. He answered all of my questions very promptly.

As with a number of other vacation rentals in Malta, Paul offered to have a car pick us up at the airport when we arrived. Since we were renting a car, we didn’t need a ride from the airport, but Paul offered to have a car meet us at the airport and drive ahead of us to guide us to the house. This was a wonderful idea!! We arrived at night, and without the driver ahead of us, we would have gotten so lost. With the driver’s help, we were able to find parking, find the house, and get settled in very quickly after our arrival. Also, we found parking to be very convenient. Even though there was ongoing construction on the main street outside the house, it never took us long to find a parking spot that was within a few minutes’ walk from the house.

The house itself is made of limestone and has wonderful character and architectural details. My fiancé said that it felt like we were staying in a castle. It is very spacious and the roof deck has a fantastic view. Wi-fi, washer/dryer, dishwasher, etc were all easy to use.

It was also in a great location, located in a small alley in Bormla (Cospicua). It’s about a five minute walk from Vittoriosa (Birgu), which has lots of great restaurants and trendy wine bars. However, we fell in love with the small village of Bormla, which seemed like a working class, less gentrified version of Vittoriosa. We stayed at the house during Bormla’s feast day in early December, and I would *highly* recommend staying at the house during that time. On the main feast day, there is a big street fair on the main road outside the house. On several nights around the feast day, there were fireworks at night that can be viewed from the roof deck and were accompanied by music from the local neighborhood band.

Cons of staying at the Templar House:

There were only two downsides to staying at the house. First, we thought the mattresses were quite uncomfortable. We found the futon on the top floor to be more comfortable than the beds. However, we are spoiled by our super comfy tempur-pedic mattress at home. Also, there was a musty smell near the house entrance that seemed to be coming from the basement. This issue seems to be a challenge for Malta in general – the limestone appears to be really porous and hard to keep dry. Perhaps it might help to add some dehumidifiers in the basement?

All in all, the Templar House was a great value and a wonderful place for a vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wonderful character of the house, roof deck, location
Liked least: mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syysheina
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a perfect way to get a true Malta experience”
Reviewed 1 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Breakfast on the terrace made from the fresh ingredients provided by the local market and a sip of cold white wine under the stars on the roof terrace late at night? If this is the basis for your Malta experience, then Templar House is an excellent choice. You can live like locals but still everything is easily within reach. Both the house itself as well as the location are marvellous. I definitely recommend skipping the most touristic areas for Malta accommodation and try out a more true experience. Still with enough luxury to make it feel like a vacation should (clean and beautiful house with all the modern equipment required). There were only two of us, but I could see the house working also for a larger group. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The combo of an old house with a modern twist in a stunning setting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthEast...
south east london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing beautful house set in a a beautful place”
Reviewed 20 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What can i say, the second we walked into the house we absolutely loved it! A very rustic traditional feel to the house with all the modcons available! Perfect location for access and great for staying in with the wonderful view from the balcony both at day and night. Paul was very helpful at all times leading up to the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing