We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing After 2013's High Standards”

Moulins de la vergne
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Pons
Price range: USD 12 - USD 35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Living like a god in France, who doesn’t want that? The Burgundian French life includes of course a nice meal. The restaurant Les Moulins de la Vergne serves traditional cuisine prepared from local, fair and only fresh and seasonal ingredients. Trendsetters of the French countrysideOur chef creates the most delicious and healthy delights where beautiful vegetables and herbs - from local suppliers in the direct vicinity of the land - the absolute trendsetters are. Surprise!We like to put our guests in the culinary pampered. And thereby go suprises that are not on the menu. Think of a sublime front or side dish, a liqueur or sweetener for coffee or a present for our youngest guests. Voilà.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We know this restaurant well having enjoyed some splendid evenings there in 2013. Now under new stewardship, the atmosphere is less warm and the customer friendliness in need of attention.
Food remains good quality, but the simple request for a further slither of one of the cheeses which met with 'buy another plate full' beggared belief. Even after a discussion with the manager, the answer remained a definite 'no'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Happyshoppa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just outside Pons, by a campsite ON a river, its a perfect place for a meal, great food, great service, not expensive, 3 courses for 20 euros, very good wine, but its the setting thats JUST PERFECT, thoroughly recommended, apparently ( i could be wrong its recently changed owner or chef and has upped its game) I never went before, but found the whole evening faultless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jmsnjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We/I went to Les Moulins des Vergnes many times, this summer. Initially, it started off as a nice fun place to pass some afternoons or evenings but it wasn't long before the Casper, the person who ran the restaurant/bar, changed his character and became extremely rude and sarcastic. His focus was on passing trade/making as much money as possible ... tourists who did not have time to 'read the book'! Don't waste your money. There are more friendly, better value and better places around Pons. PS ... the tap water is disgusting (needs testing, seriously) and the bottled water is very expensive. I won't mention the toilet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
4  Thank Bollonbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gert-Jan d, Gérant at Moulins de la vergne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Since 1 March 2014 are we the new owners of the restaurant and the camping Les Moulins de la Vergne.
So we will invite you to come see our new restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I can't believe the other reviews ! We were met on the terrace and asked if we would like a large or a small bottle of Perrier - when I asked for a small one was told he only had large - when it came it was Badoit - he said it was the same thing - had bubbles. Our friends then arrived and we had a menu forced on us with pressure to order. We did and went into the restaurant to find it waiting on the table - no water, no napkins - until asked for. My seafood starter was wet to say the least - when he was asked if it was frozen - most definitely not was the reply - it came out of a tin - this was the daily "special" (not). The carpaccio of beef was OK I understand, the other 2 starters were mediocre at best. Mains were fine and desserts were ok. A trip to the WC revealed no WC paper and no hand towels - when I asked the same young Dutch chap - he replied he wouldnt know if he wasn't told - snippy back when I remarked maybe he should check periodically. Overall quite a grotty experience and if the meals were prepared by a properly trained chef - I'm the Dutchman !! Won;t be back even though we live locally.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gert-Jan d, Gérant at Moulins de la vergne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Since 1 March 2014 are we the new owners of the restaurant and the camping Les Moulins de la Vergne.
So we will invite you to come see our new restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The reason to come to this place is the atmosphere created by the staff, and the enthusiasm of the multilingual Portuguese chef, Marco, and his assistant, Carlos.

Caspar - a complete extrovert - runs the show and has two delightful young bar staff - Uri and Shannon. The clientele are principally Dutch and English, but the local French are there in good numbers, which is a real recommendation.

I live near this place and visit it frequently - drop in for a drink and find out when they have the best meal deals. Quiz on Friday evenings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterBaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moulins de la vergne also viewed

Pons, Charente-Maritime
Pons, Charente-Maritime
 
Pons, Charente-Maritime
Pons, Charente-Maritime
 
Pons, Charente-Maritime
Pons, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Moulins de la vergne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing