We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
78
19
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
19
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe villa pizza private pool welcome drink separate toilet years living local staff italian food main pool main town island hopping island tour high tide other guests great food ocean view pierre
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Villa #1.It was an amazing three days in our lives. Managers, Christina and Baya were unbelievable. The all day island tour is a must. They took care of all our needs including finding a fresh fish and cooking it at 2 minutes notice.

The restaurant chef is excellent. Everything we ate from breakfast to dinner was outstanding (loved the stuffed calamari and pizza)
The entire staff is professional, polished and spot on in how they deal with the guests.
The attention to detail in converting a coconut grove on a remote island to a luxury boutique hotel with a world class restaurant is something the 2 French owners should both be proud of.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

5-villa resort, 4.5 star stay.

Well-maintained hotel grounds, friendly staff, spacious - really spacious - villa. Quiet, laid-back and relaxed atmosphere. Lounge chairs, love seats all spread around the resort grounds where one can chill, relax and enjoy the Pacific Ocean while sipping wine and other cocktails during happy hour/sunset. Resort is waterfront but missing a decent beach. This is one of the better hotel on the island though.

The hotel restaurant is bright, airy and serves one of the best pizzas I've had

We were given a tablet, though we didn't get to use, and contained info about the island, available activities, etc.

Just a couple of things:

- After spending 5/6 days, other options for breakfast other than eggs and/or crepes would be good. Just a thought.

- Improve WiFi the further you're away from the restaurant. We had to go out of our room/villa to get a signal and couldn't connect to other of their WiFi networks.

- A way for guest to contact front desk/restaurant from the villa. It's a bit of a trek from the villa we stayed at if we needed something (room service, etc.). Maybe it's in the tablet(?)

Other than these, we would totally return.

Thanks to Len for taking care of us during our 3-island tour, and to the lady who made my iced coffee everyday!

Fred, you've done a wonderful job with Kalinaw!

Room tip: Any villa would do but for connectivity purposes, Villa 1 might be a better option.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DaimosLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Supposedly the draw of this hotel is its thoughtful, and well-designed rooms. While the rooms may have been nice when it was built, it definitely needs maintenance and some renovation. The bathroom floors, for example, were done with wood steps, which after constant use has become quite moldy and slippery. Yes, it is an island, and yes, things do get weathered pretty fast, but I think if the owners want to position this as a luxury resort, they just have to set-aside more budget for maintenance. If other resorts charging comparable amounts can do it, it is definitely not an excuse that the resort is "located in an island." We also didn't appreciate how the manager makes it seem like guests presence is a "nuisance" and just totally ignores guests, and would respond to requests (like a van) only if and when he wants too. A pity, since the other local staff really are doing their best, even though they lack training.

One also feels being "nickle and dimed" at this supposed fancy resort, from airport pick-up to simple requests for chicken soup (at 450 pesos for bony chicken bits, really?) for our baby. Further, they would charge you extra if you pay with your credit card, which is unreasonable and should have already been factored in to their already high rates. I had to argue out of principle for this, since government regulations mandate that establishments shouldn't discriminate between credit card and cash transactions.

Lastly, I don't know if it is the ambience they are going for, but the room is also really really dark.

Room tip: Go someplace else, or go for a hostel and splurge for a night a Dedon.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estvanguardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierresiargaoisland, Owner at Kalinaw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

First thank you for staying in Kalinaw resort.
I'm sad you didn't get the good experience of our place.
Kalinaw resort location is 4 deluxe villas, 1 pool for all villas guest and 1 suite pool villa all facing the ocean on 1 hectare land. No other resort propose the same situation and privacy. For the room they were all renovated and redesigned this year and we spend a lot in maintenance as well. For sure the island situation make it complicated.
For the bad feeling of the managers i really apologize. We had some new manager under training as the previous one stopped and the one who care of you this time is no longer working with us. For the charge of the credit card we are actually the one who charge less as other resort use to charge 5 percents. It should be a regulation for the bank to not over charging us as they charge 4.5 percents and the only excuse from them is because we are on the island. That's explain why all resorts charge credit card payment.
We really try our best to serve our guest and i'm truly sorry for your bad feeling and the wrong approached of the manager this time.
Best regards
Resort owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Great resort! Rooms are top notch and service is very good. One of the best resorts in Sairgo. The pizza's here are the best on the island. Woodfired brickoven pizzas. Had their pizzas 2 nights straight. Looking forward to it again on my next visit.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedd187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed for 5 days and 4 nights and would recommend it to anyone going to Siargao. The only draw back is the price is just a bit higher than the other resorts around the area but it defenitly is worth it.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank z_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews