We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
78
19
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
19
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe villa pizza private pool welcome drink separate toilet years living local staff italian food main pool main town island hopping island tour high tide other guests great food ocean view pierre
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Supposedly the draw of this hotel is its thoughtful, and well-designed rooms. While the rooms may have been nice when it was built, it definitely needs maintenance and some renovation. The bathroom floors, for example, were done with wood steps, which after constant use has become quite moldy and slippery. Yes, it is an island, and yes, things do get weathered pretty fast, but I think if the owners want to position this as a luxury resort, they just have to set-aside more budget for maintenance. If other resorts charging comparable amounts can do it, it is definitely not an excuse that the resort is "located in an island." We also didn't appreciate how the manager makes it seem like guests presence is a "nuisance" and just totally ignores guests, and would respond to requests (like a van) only if and when he wants too. A pity, since the other local staff really are doing their best, even though they lack training.

One also feels being "nickle and dimed" at this supposed fancy resort, from airport pick-up to simple requests for chicken soup (at 450 pesos for bony chicken bits, really?) for our baby. Further, they would charge you extra if you pay with your credit card, which is unreasonable and should have already been factored in to their already high rates. I had to argue out of principle for this, since government regulations mandate that establishments shouldn't discriminate between credit card and cash transactions.

Lastly, I don't know if it is the ambience they are going for, but the room is also really really dark.

Room tip: Go someplace else, or go for a hostel and splurge for a night a Dedon.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estvanguardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierresiargaoisland, Owner at Kalinaw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

First thank you for staying in Kalinaw resort.
I'm sad you didn't get the good experience of our place.
Kalinaw resort location is 4 deluxe villas, 1 pool for all villas guest and 1 suite pool villa all facing the ocean on 1 hectare land. No other resort propose the same situation and privacy. For the room they were all renovated and redesigned this year and we spend a lot in maintenance as well. For sure the island situation make it complicated.
For the bad feeling of the managers i really apologize. We had some new manager under training as the previous one stopped and the one who care of you this time is no longer working with us. For the charge of the credit card we are actually the one who charge less as other resort use to charge 5 percents. It should be a regulation for the bank to not over charging us as they charge 4.5 percents and the only excuse from them is because we are on the island. That's explain why all resorts charge credit card payment.
We really try our best to serve our guest and i'm truly sorry for your bad feeling and the wrong approached of the manager this time.
Best regards
Resort owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Great resort! Rooms are top notch and service is very good. One of the best resorts in Sairgo. The pizza's here are the best on the island. Woodfired brickoven pizzas. Had their pizzas 2 nights straight. Looking forward to it again on my next visit.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedd187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed for 5 days and 4 nights and would recommend it to anyone going to Siargao. The only draw back is the price is just a bit higher than the other resorts around the area but it defenitly is worth it.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank z_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband spent 3N and 4D at their villa. A relaxing and true peacefull experience..owner Mr Fred is pleasant and nice. The restaurant waitress and room cleaners are professional and nice. Food is the best in the island (try the sandwiches and baguette!!!) (5 claps for the chef)

The place is a real beautiful creation. =)

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cvdevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

My best friends and I stayed at Kalinaw for 3D and 2N as our last hurrah for the summer. We got the pool villa which is huge -- it has two toilets and baths, and two huge beds. Each bathroom has its own extra charm. The two sides of the villa is just divided by sliding panels so those getting this villa should be okay with being in close contact at all times with the rest of their group.

The resort is right in front of the ocean but you cannot really swim in it. However, they have a lovely pool with lounge chairs to compensate. We would usually swim in the main pool while the sun is out and retire to our villa's pool to cool off.

What we loved about it is that everything is so beautifully designed, you can tell how much effort was put into the place -- from the villas to every part of the resort. It is well kept and allows everyone their privacy.

The food in this resort however is great and surprisingly not expensive considering the quality of food you get. First off thought, their breakfast is not buffet -- I know that many have a preference to this. I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed what they had to offer for breakfast. You get to choose from a selection of fresh juices, and your preference of either brewed coffee, espresso or tea. They then give your freshly baked baguette which is by far the best I have ever tasted in all my travels, together with homemade mango jam and french butter. I could have stuffed my face silly for days with their bread. Then they give you additional choices on the main part of your breakfast.

The serve thin crust brick oven pizza -- and boy, when they say thin crust... they mean it! I must commend their kitchen staff for our happy tummies. All the food that we ordered was great! From their pizza to their pasta (which was perfectly al dente) to the fresh seafood (check out their specials menu to see what the fresh catch of the day is!) and their simply amazing seafood risotto!

The staff's resort was friendly and very accommodating. Everyone spoke English so well and they were eager to answer any questions we may have.

All in all, it was an amazing trip and we were all so glad we chose Kalinaw! We cannot wait to go back!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews