We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
12
21
17
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
21
17
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Clean and comfort room but not expensive.
Kind and friendly staffs.

It's a little far from central of city. It takes 20-30 minutes by walk.
But you can take a bus from big street that is located at north side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yu35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Most of the people - those on reception were really helpful and friendly as was the guy that served behind the bar. The restaurant staff were not so friendly possibly due to language barrier even though a smile or acknowledgement would have been nice. My room was good having a kitchenette area and a small longe area.

Room Tip: Oil workers / contractors hotel
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trev3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Glad to see the Chagala in Aktau still delivers.

Best business lunch in town and Sunday lunch cannot be beaten.

Staff really friendly and happy to help.

Stayed realistic on rates not like other Western hotels in town

Of all the Chagala hotels this is my favourite

Room Tip: For the difference in price get a suite excellent value for money
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Stayed two nights on a weekend break to Aktau. The hotel is a way out of the city centre and although you can get a taxi I found it isolated. The room was fine but in need of refurbishment - too many stains on the carpet. Friendly and helpful staff.

I liked the breakfast; yes the range is small but cold they had cheese and meats of several types and the hot was freshly cooked eggs with bacon and sausage. Also a reasonable range of breakfast rolls and bread, Yogurts and a basic fruit salad. It's good for a short stay.

Too tired to walk back into town for my dinner, I ate at the hotel. The meal was good, 4200 tenge for a Russian salad with beef, soup, fish kebab with grilled veg and a dull fruit salad. As is typical in Kazakhstan, the next course arrived well before you had finished the current one.

Smell of sewage surrounded the hotel on both days. They claim a private beach but the hotel is separated from a public beach by another building. The beach has a broken down jetty, other left over structures and a good mix of sand, gravel and broken glass. Excellent WiFi in bar, non-existent in room.

For the price (£48 per night B&B) an okay choice but would probably stay elsewhere if ever in Aktau again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greenpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I spent in Chagala Aktau hotel couple of days during my April business trip. Hotel location is good (shore, city skirt, quite place), however for dining you need to go to hotel restaurant or go by taxi to city center. Sea shore near the hotel is just good for jogging or long walks, the sea was cold and dirty.
Simple breakfast (even got a packet breakfast when laving the hotel early morning).
Nice equipped rooms. My bed was uncomfortable.
Warmly welcome and helpful reception desk. No pool or sauna, just a gym.

Room Tip: room with balcony shore oriented
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChagalaHotelAktau, Manager at Chagala Hotel Aktau, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Dear Karel,

Thank you very much for your feedback. In regards to your reviews, we will work on it.

Shall you come back to Aktau, we would love to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews