We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic, Authentic Italy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa dell Ava

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pianazzola village (left) and Engadina
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Pianazzola village (left) and Engadina
Sitting room
Bedroom
Pianazzola and Casa dell'Ava
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chiavenna, Province of Sondrio, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JudyCroom...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic, Authentic Italy”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa dell Ava in Pianazzola – a wonderful romantic village to stay in, and an authentic experience of romantic Italy.

There were a few challenges during our stay – with neither of us speaking Italian or French, communication was interesting and not having a car was a disadvantage. Thankfully, Riccardo Volpati from MGA Car hire, recommended by the owner of Casa dell Ava, gave us excellent service and could not have been more helpful in meeting our transport needs (and going over and above the call of duty in other areas too!).

Casa dell Ava itself was super comfortable, clean and well equipped with modern appliances. The view over the valley below is outstanding. There is a detailed info file, as well as maps, provided for use by guests - this was of great help and we had fun exploring and chatting (through miming & other hilarious means) with the friendly villagers we met! All appliances worked well and the hot water supply was great!

We had a fabulous time at Casa dell Ava – we agreed one week was too short to see all that the area had to offer such as the Aqua di Fraggia, the magnificent Chruch of San Lorenzo with its famous "Pace" Bible (the little Church in Pianazzola itself is a marvellous sanctuary of peace and quiet) and the beautiful natural park at Val de Mello. Casa dell Ava is a perfect location to use as a base to explore the area, and is away from the hustle and bustle of Chiavenna (and the complete opposite of the chaos of Milan).

It’s a gem of a location and we were very happy to have spent part of our extended European holiday in the beautiful Casa dell Ava.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJoZurich
Zurich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is an amazing place with incredible views. We will return. It is very well equipped with everything we need. We have spent many hours hours on the balcony enjoying the peace and quiet and views. It is beautiful even when it rains!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne_tr...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Casa dell’Ava is a lovely, comfortable, well equipped house. Think crisp bed linen, good shower, nice beds and a well equipped kitchen. From your bed you can gaze at the mountains. The balcony has the most amazing views over the valley.
The location of the house is in an authentic Italian mountainside village called Pianazolla. It is car-free, has cobbled windy paths around charmingly old stone houses. There are no shops or bars, but Chiavenna has everything including some fabulous restaurants.
The living area has a large dining table. The balcony is the only outdoor space, it’s long and narrow, and only fits small folding chairs.
There are walks, waterfalls, lovely villages in both Italy and Switzerland, nearby. The outings outlined in the handbook, made by the owners, did not disappoints their suggestions were really useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 'live like a local' - this is not a touristy place
Liked least: balcony does not fit a table
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fieldsofs...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cottage with breathtaking views”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We loved our stay in this great cottage. You literally feel as if you are on top of the world. The kitchen was very well appointed, comfortable beds and a great shower. It is in an area of such natural beauty. So much to do an explore in the surrounding area. For nature lovers,! We highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and incredible village
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing