We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
207
214
94
40
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
214
94
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm four poster bed traditional hotel cocktail bar residents lounge family room no lift roaring fire breakfast room friendly hotel evening meal loch etive fish and chips cooked breakfast lovely location single room main course
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The staff are amazing nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and warm, with a fantastic on suite. The views from the bedroom were breathtaking looking over Loch Ettive and we had access to the hotel gardens which went down to the loch.
We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights of our stay, they have a good selection for both lunch and dinner catering for majority of tastes. The bar has the most fantastic open fire, which was very pleasant sipping a nightcap from the bar.
The hotel is about 5 miles outside Oban which has ample parking and easy to walk round, we also took the ferry over to Mull for the afternoon.
I would be happy to visit again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MarieL2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed here as a child and it was lovely to revisit many years later. Staff are very friendly and the hotel is a little quirky. We stayed in the Jacuzzi room, very spacious, huge bed with wood effect flooring which was cosy and warm. The room was on offer for two nights and so was good value for the price. Breakfast was included and was served in a room with amazing views across Loch Etive. Cooked breakfast was very good. Oban is only about 5 minutes away by car so this is a perfect place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C_Sutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with our wee dog and from the start the staff were so friendly. The room (28) was a good size double room which was clean, modern and there are obvious signs that there is modernisations ongoing. We loved the old and new look. We had a small issue in that the hot water ran out but on speaking to staff it was quickly sorted. They actually identified that someone had left a valve open causing all the hot water to run off, so they were happy we told them. It was my wife who identified it but I got a complementary pint . The bar area was cosy with a log fire and the dog was able to come in. We had dinner which again was excellent with good size portions. Overall we will definitely return and stay a couple of nights next time. A big thank you goes to the excellent staff, food and rooms. Loved every minute. Great Stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Del1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This is my second & equally enjoyable visit.

I had a newly refurbished double bedroom which was very comfortable

WiFi was fast & strong

The public areas maintain the historic/traditional feel & add to the ambiance of staying in an “old” Scottish house

The staff are very friendly, the evening meal was excellent & value for money

I will definitely return when next passing

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank IslayAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous hotel with such a character, in a location with beautiful views. The staff are so friendly, and go out of their way to meet your every need. We had a very snowy weekend at the highland sale, the huge fire in the hotel bar was a great refuge from the snow along with the great selection of wine that warmed us up too! The new modern twists to the rooms are bringing this old hotel into the 21st century yet the unique character remains present throughout. There is a great selection of food with great quick service, we were never disappointed.
Overall a great stay, will be returning at the soonest opportunity and would recommend to all!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank natashal769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews