We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Neuk

River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
The Master Bedroom has a stylish double bed, wardrobes and chest of drawers
The second bedroom is a twin and has a single and a large day bed.
The extremely well equipped kitchen includes all modern appliances and a slimline dishwasher
River Neuk is deceptively spacious with it's large entrance hallway
The outside space is landscaped and provides a lovely spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine.
The outside space is landscaped and provides a lovely spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine.
River Neuk offers a small secure courtyard, ideal for letting the dog out and increased security.
Plenty of games, cards, DVDs and even a Wii Games Console to entertain the kids!
The stunning riverside views & children's play area - less than a minute walk from River Ne
The beautiful Village centre of Rothbury, River Neuk is just yards from here.
With local views like this River Neuk is the perfect base to discover the Heart of Northumberland.
Great country pubs nearby, with great views from the beer gardens!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather F
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow. ”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at River Neuk today. It was a fairly last minute holiday....and much needed! We ha e stayed in self catering accommodation all over the UK, so we are used to the standard of good holiday homes. I'd read the reviews and seen the pics and so thought we'd made a good choice to book.....but when we got here,

wow.

We were blown away with the attention to detail and beautiful accommodation. The cottage is wonderful, and although we have the week to go, I don't think we would be able to find any fault at all!
Spotless, and to be welcomed with a basket of produce and fresh flowers, we really couldn't ask for more. We are staying with our 5 year old daughter who is over the moon with the place. The town itself is stunning, very British and quirky shops and tea rooms. We have eaten at Italian Plus at a local hotel and we're more than impressed. Overall, I feel sorry for the next guests who stay here after us, as we will have to be shoehorned out of the place!
A genuine find, and a credit to the owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Wow! thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful comments about River Neuk I am really pleased you love our cottage as much as we do. I hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay and hopefully you will come back to holiday with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina...
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem!”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We holiday with our dogs in the UK 2 or 3 times a year, staying in self catering properties and I can honestly say, this is one of the best I've stayed in. The apartment is bright, airy and spacious and from the delicious welcome gift to thoughtful touches such as the Christmas tree and dog towels, the owner has thought of everything.

There is excellent walking straight from the door and Rothbury has all the amenities you could need. Cragside (NT property) is on the outskirts of the village and always worth a visit and you are close to lovely towns such as Alnwick and Morpeth. For a refreshing walk along the beach, the coast is only 30 minutes away.

All-in-all, an absolute gem of a property in a beautiful village - what more could you ask for?!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and centrally located
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen79
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We are staying at this immaculate spacious property right now. It is extremely spacious and has absolutely everything that could be possibly needed. A lovely hamper is provided. It is tucked away behind a church and close to the river in this lovely village. I am sure we will be back again soon!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenPen3
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Excellent Place in a Charming Village”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were in River Neuk for a week in mid-May. The flat is light and spacious and very well appointed with comfortable, tasteful furniture. It has pretty much all that anyone would need. The welcome basket with bread, tea, etc. was a nice touch. It has all that the specs promised and more, even a little library of left-behind books. It is tucked away on a pedestrian way, so bringing baggage to the flat means walking from wherever you managed to find a parking space (our initial one was in front of the church, about 100 yards away). We had not been to Rothbury before and it took a little while to discover the flat’s entry was round the rear, not on the apparent street Google Maps (or the booking site's picture) showed.

We had a very pleasant stay, but there were three minor niggles: the first was that the previous tenants had managed to pull off the shower curtain, so showers were impossible. Even a temporary shampoo spray would have been helpful. Also the combi boiler needed required fine tuning of the tap to produce hot (as opposed to warm) water for the bath; the third was the time lock on the front door, which disabled itself at least a quarter of an hour before the promised 10am, which meant that we couldn’t lock the flat when we left.

Rothbury is a lovely place with much to do see and do and some very good pubs and restaurants (particularly the Newcastle and the Indian over The Railway pub). We were so impressed with Cragside that we went round the house twice! We have already thought about returning to Northumberland and to River Neuk next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hpage90
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We originally booked to stay in Riverside Cottage in West Thirston, however due to an issue with that cottage we were offered a stay at River Neuk instead. This was all handled very well by Darren, we recieved a refund for the difference in price and did not impact on our holiday at all. River Neuk is a lovely little cottage, there were only two of us staying there but there is plenty of space for up to 4 people. The cottage is incredibly well equipped in every area and there is plenty to do inside - WiFi, television, DVD player, Nintendo Wii, games, books etc. We also received a lovely welcome basket of items from the local shop and bakery which was a great touch. Rothbury itself is a lovely town, and River Neuk is positioned less than a minutes walk from the riverside - there are plenty of picnic benches along the river which is perfect for when the weather is good. River Neuk is also a great base to explore Northumberland, we visited Hadrian's wall, Lindisfarne, Seahouses, Bamburgh, Edinburgh, Alnwick, Alnmouth and more! All of these are within driving distance. Also in the cottage is a fantastic guide put together by the owners which covers everything from the cottage facilities to local areas to visit to local restaurants - very helpful for those who have not visited the area before like us! All in all a fantastic stay - thanks to Northumberland Holidays, hopefully we will return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for the review. I'm really pleased that you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing