We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed the serene setting, excellent staff and great food. Making plans to return.”
Review of Hotel Sa Barrera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sa Barrera
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2011

From the moment we arrived, Roberto and his team made us feel at home. Every morning we had a superb breakfast with cappuccino served by Tim before heading out to explore the island then coming back in time for a dip in the hotel pool before dinner. We appreciated the tranquillity that the hotel's policy on small children provided. This hotel was very clean, the location was perfect within the small town and centrally located on the island. The bed was a bit too firm,but not uncomfortable. The wi to was good, but did not reach our room. Overall, staying at this hotel was a magical experience!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjnswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 135 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is a bit of a lengthy review but should give you a good insight into the hotel...

The Sa Barrerra Hotel is a small hotel with 26 rooms. We traveled as a couple for the last 10 days of June 2011.

**Room**
I was initially a little bit disappointed with our room. As described, the hotel is styled in a Moroccan theme and the rooms are painted lilac, so probably not to everybody's taste!

There were no drawers in the room and there were also a couple of areas which needed repair. The bathroom door had a large chip out of it and the shower fixture was coming off. There was a Satellite TV in the room which didn't seem to have English channels although I wasn't particularly fussed about this. The room was however always kept clean and there was also a good sized balcony and free safe/air con.

*Sleep Quality*
For a hotel which aims towards couples (there is a no children policy) we thought the rooms should have had a proper double bed rather that 2 single mattresses pushed together. The bed was quite hard and one of the pillows was made of hard foam but after a couple of nights we requested a normal pillow and a better night's sleep was had thereafter! The rooms are very quiet and you generally get a good undisturbed nights sleep.

*Location*
The location of this hotel is what really sells it. It is situated at the top of the cliff overlooking the bay of Cala'n Porter. It's a short but steep walk down to the beach with around 180 steps although we didn't find this to be as bad as people have made out! It is only a 5 minute walk to the nearest restaurant and bar yet you never hear any noise from it. Buses also run every hour or so into the capital of Mahon.

*General Hotel*
The poolside was always pretty quiet and very clean. It never seemed difficult to get a sun lounger and there was a fairly inexpensive bar where you could order drinks and chip amongst other things. Most of the guests were 40+ and traveling as couples so we as a younger couple didn't find as much to do within the hotel as we were hoping for.

*Staff*
The staff at this hotel go out of their way to help you. They all speak very limited English although still do their best to advise of things to see and do. They generally make you feel at home.

*Food*
Breakfast is generally pretty good and consists of the usual toast, bread rolls and croissants. We stayed bed and breakfast so we only ate at the hotel once in the evening but found the food to be very good. You have the choice of eating by the pool or a terrace which overlooks the beach. I would definitely recommend eating there at least once.

Overall this was a very good hotel and for the relatively low price paid we couldn't fault it much. We wouldn't return simply for the fact that we don't think there was enough to do within the area to justify a 2nd visit however would recommend it people who are looking for a nice, quiet hotel within the area.

Room Tip: Request a pool facing room at booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jon0781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location overlooking the bay. It is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Ideal for a quiet, relaxing holiday as it is so peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picketywitchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We loved this hotel. It is in a quiet part of the town, most of the rooms overlook the pool either facing the sea or the setting sun. The terrace bar is great and I had some of the best cocktails. The staff were really friendly and Roberto went out of his way to tell us which were the best beaches and coves on the island. No one in the hotel spoke very good English and without a tourist information office in the town, it is a good idea to have some idea of what you want to do before you go. The Caves of Xoroi are a must, the local beach is worth a visit, and listen for the bullfrogs at dusk.

Room Tip: Ask for a first storey room, facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Just got back from a one week holiday in Menorca. This hotel is so lovely, clean and in an amazing location. The owners are very friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. As it's mainly for adults/couples it is also very quiet, so you can really enjoy a good book by the pool and get a good night sleep. Would definitely recommend it and would definitely try to go back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.1 km away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
1,289 reviews
11 km away
Catalonia Mirador d'es Port
9.4 km away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
12.1 km away
Apartamentos Royal Life
29.5 km away
Apartotel Skyline Menorca
Apartotel Skyline Menorca
#5 of 52 in Ciutadella
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sa Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sa Barrera

Address: Calle Barrera 12, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range: $106 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sa Barrera 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only hotel in Menorca. Enjoy a free kids holiday. Three star hotel in Menorca with 26 rooms at only 200 meters from a beautiful sandy beach. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sa Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Barrera Hotel Cala`n Porter
Sa Barrera Cala n Porter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing