We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - great view”
Review of Barcelo Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norrköping Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - great view”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

To celebrate my father's 60'th my husband, son (21 months) and I went on holiday with my parents to Barcelo Santiago. My parents had already stayed at the hotel twice before so we knew that they liked place. We were a bit worried though after reading about noro virus and luke warm dinners. However we had a really good stay there and encountered none of the problems I mentioned above.

The best parts of the hotel are the pool area, the restaurant and of course - the view. We had a room with seaview and the view of the cliffs was amazing (make sure you don't get a ground floor room).
The view was also wonderful from the pool area. The pool area was nicely designed with several pools in different shapes. However, only one pool was heated and even that one was quite chilly (and I'm swedish!). The pools could all do with a bit more heating but the view was so amazing that we loved the pool area anyway. There were no problems getting a sunchair when we were there so you don't need to worry about that. There's also a play area for children which my son enjoyed.

We had half board so we ate our breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was great with lots of nice things to choose from -enough to keep everybody happy. The dinner buffet was also really good but at the end of the stay I started getting bored with the variety so I wouldn't wanna go all inclusive and have all my meals there. There was a big dessert table with cakes, icecream and cheese which was very much appreciated buy all the members of our family.

The rooms were ok but the bathroom felt a bit dated. It could do with some new tiles and a new bath.

We were very pleased with our stay and could definetely recommend the hotel to other travellers who enjoy a lazy holiday by the pool.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a sea view room (the view is amazing). Avoid the ground floor. The path outside mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer_and_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,251
    2,023
    736
    247
    131
See reviews for
1,314
3,204
96
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel itself is nice, albeit in need of some updating in areas. We had booked a junior suite and was given room 567 - this was not what we call a suite - it was badly in need of a refurb and was very scruffy. We changed the next morning to room 819, now this was a nice suite, nice bathroom with smoky glass doors and a lovely balcony, (the staff are very good and will change your room if you aren't happy and we weren't ! I actually don't think the suites are worth the difference in cost of the standard rooms. There is little storage space and the wardrobes are very small for all your clothes for a two week stay.

The food was okay and plentiful, but have had better. The breakfasts are very good, with plenty of choice for all tastes, particularly the bacon ! We went all inclusive, again, not sure if it is worth it, except perhaps for the soft drinks and beer during the day. We bought our spirits from supermarket and took them to our room and had them on the balcony at night.

Pool bar was good and there was a good choice of snacks. We preferred to eat there than in the main dining room, as we would eat to much !

Entertainment was quite poor, except for the second Saturday when Old Dogs New Tricks were on stage - they are very good and we went across to Route 66 to see them a couple of times also.

The pool area was very good, with various pools - I found the small one warmer. We never had a problem with sunbeds, although, as always, you get the ones that come out at crack of dawn/late night and put their towels on, but we always got a couple whatever time of day.

The weather was very mixed - one day sunny, one day cloudy and at night it was cold and windy. So do take a fleece/cardigan, as you may well need them.

The lounge area is only small - we used to sit outside after dinner, but then went to our room when it got too cold.

If you like a good market - take a trip to Los Christianos on Sunday morning.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay - all the staff were friendly and obliging. Nothing much to do at night, so don't think we would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor between 6 and 9 and facing sea/pool and not the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The setting is gorgeous, with Los Gigantes cliffs in the background, and the pool and garden area is stunning! We heeded previous advice and requested room 4th floor or above, and our balcony was private and quiet. On some of the lower levels the walkways could overlook your room.
The room was fine, no special luxury features, but perfectly adequate and spacious. Bathroom a bit dated, but in good working order. Beds are firm, but I do perfer that to too soft.
Service was very good, staff friendly and helpful.
The dining room was huge and a bit noisy, we perferred to use the outside seating area, smaller, quieter and you overlook garden and can see the stars. At busy times we had to queue a bit for a table outside, but never too long, and it was worth it.
We had half board, buffet food provided good selection, some the same every day, but some was also varied every day. Could have eaten really healthily, but succumbed to tempting desserts and pastries... Coffee was bit rough, and the milk that comes with it is sweetened (but you can find "normal" milk near cereals). But I can recommend reasonably priced Vino Norte (red wine, grown on Tenerife)...
Had a really relaxing stay!

Room Tip: someone suggested 4th floor or above, to avoid walkways, can second this
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathPocahontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The hotel's best feature is the beautiful view. We found the service to be good, although the food quality did vary from day to day. The rooms are spacious, but decor is quite basic. The location is really suited for the reasonable fit, which ever way you go there are hills and steps both ways. We really enjoyed our February break and although we went all inclusive did not find we were treated any different from other guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We should like to start by saying how much we enjoyed our stay at the Barcelo Santiago and the beautiful surrounding areas. As it was the last two weeks of January we felt it was a real winter tonic and we came home feeling our batteries had been recharged.

Hopefully we will try not to repeat the reports on this hotel, as it has been described adequately by many previous contributors.

The hotel is in a wonderful location but it should be pointed out that anybody who has difficulty with stairs, slopes and hills might find it a struggle to get around, everywhere is up or down.

We were pleasantly surprised how reasonable the drinks were in the Hotel/restaurant. €8 for house wine, plus a wine list for extra choices. All inclusive guests paid the difference between the €8 and the wine list.

The restaurant was well laid out and we were happy with the catering, we should think there was something to everyone's taste - we never came away hungry.
However, when sitting in the outside dining area at breakfast, we would recommend that someone stays at the table to keep the pigeons from landing on it.

We were disappointed that there was so little comfortable seating in the hotel for the evening; the only place being in Reception which, because it was a free wifi zone, was occupied by laptop/netbook/skype users. The alternative was the downstairs bar which unfortunately we didn't find relaxing.

La Gomera – a really worthwhile day trip . An extraordinary island. (Take some warm clothing as it gets very cold on the high peaks.) Well worth the €62 each which included ferry crossing and lunch.

Google Earth /street view will give an excellent idea of the hotel and Santiago surroundings.

Would we return? Yes, we would like to.

Room Tip: Ask reception to change your room if you are not happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PairAShorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.7 km away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,435 reviews
4.1 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
1.0 km away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,173 reviews
0.2 km away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,238 reviews
19.0 km away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santiago

Property: Barcelo Santiago
Address: La Hondura, 8, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price range (per night): $122 - $293
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Barcelo Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santiago Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Hotel Santiago
Barcelo Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Santiago Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing