We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You may need industrial earplugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Reviewed 26 December 2015

There were positives about this hotel. Our self catering apartment was very roomy and had enough equipment to prepare simple meals including toaster and microwave. There was daily maid service.
Unfortunately, for us the negatives outweighed the good aspects. There was a general 'tiredness' about our apartment. This was seen in the bed linens, the decoration and some of the fittings but even more importantly in the residents! The room was VERY noisy. The noise would start at about8.30 pm and would continue some nights until 5am. The noise came from one side of the apartment from the on site disco bar - this noise ended before midnight - but There was also noise from bars just outside our bedroom window. This noise went on for much of the night. At times the noise was so loud it was almost impossible to hear the TV and certainly impossible to sleep even with earplugs!
This is certainly the noisiest hotel that we have ever stayed in - we are regular travellers - this was our 6th holiday in 2015!
If you idea of fun is staying up partying most of the night, this may be a reasonable value destination for you - if you want a rest, forget it!

Room Tip: Avoid 354 and all in that block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 926 of 3,598 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2015

We spent a week here from 15 to 22 December. The rooms are large and bright with good facilities. The hotel is very close to amenities such as shops, bars and restaurants. There are two pools at the hotel which is just as well as there is no beach nearby. Our balcony overlooked the smaller pool which was quiet during the day, but noisy at night due to the fact that the evening entertainment was based around this pool. This didn't really bother us, but what did bother us was the noise from the road which surrounds the hotel. Unfortunately, our room was above the reception so we were disturbed by the tour buses and delivery lorries parking outside from very early in the morning and leaving their engines revving for at least 5-10 mind at a time. I don't think this hotel has any quiet rooms as they either face onto the pools, the road, or the bars behind the hotel. If it's a quiet, relaxing holiday you want, then this isn't the hotel for you, but, if you like a low-cost family holiday with plenty of entertainment and you don't mind some noise then you won't go wrong with this.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TraceyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays. We are sorry to see you did not have a completly pleasant stay due to the noise from the street. Had you let us know while you were here, I´m sure the staff at reception could have found a quieter room for you to stay.
Best regards and Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Really enjoyed our stay, our one bedroom apartment was roomy, light and airy with a balcony overlooking the main entrance to the hotel (room 471). Very little road noise throughout the night and Sunny from early morning till mid afternoon, we did get a bit of noise from the evening entertainment but usually this was finished by 11.30 pm so no real issue. Stayed on a self catering basis eating out every night so we did not use the restaurant or bar. For me the apartment was well set out with 2 ring hob, kettle, microwave and toaster as well as a fridge.
All staff were extremely friendly - bed linen changed twice in our 10 days and towels changed on a daily basis if required except Sunday(all you have to do is leave your dirty towels in the bath and they will be changed) room also cleaned daily - except Sunday. Kettle would not boil - replaced within 10 minutes with a new one, microwave stopped working - again replaced within 10 minutes.

Large pool was busy during the day and space in the sun was a bit limited we used the solarium/roof terrace and although breezy plenty of sunshine.

for a good quality value break I would recommend

Room Tip: Can be loud at times so a room looking on to the busy large pool would be quieter at night when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank ianb024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor; and we are really pleased to see you´ve enjoyed your stay at Tamaimo Tropical.

Best regards and Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Myself and my boyfriend returned last week (15th December 2015) from a 7 day break at Tamaimo Tropical.
After reading some worrying reviews, we were really impressed with this hotel.
We went "all exclusive" and unlike some reviews, found the food to be really good. Great choice (the fish is gorgeous). I am a diabetic and the staff could not do enough to help me find some little extra things to eat. They went into the kitchen and emerged with some special no sugar biscuits (to dunk in my tea). VERY attentive staff, with nothing too much bother.
Our room 401 was very clean and "yes" we did see one very small beetle in the room but the way I look at it is, it is a hot country and nature is nature. We were not "overrun" with cockroaches, as some have said on here. We simply threw it over the balcony ( why kill it !! ).
The entertainment was not really our cup of tea BUT there are a lot of bars near.
We "loved" Route 66, a few minutes away, that do live entertainment in the way of live bands, which we love.
The staff there are amazing.
Only down side is the steps that you need to climb (opposite the hotel) to enable you to catch the buses to roam further afield. That said, just "pace yourself" and it can be done. (I've got dodgy hips and I could do it) !!
Overall, a very enjoyable holiday. Met some lovely people and YES, we would go back.

Stayed: December 2015
2  Thank dennyg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you, very much, for your nice review and, among all, for trusting us after reading bad reviews. We are very pleased to see you´ve had a nice stay at Tamaimo Tropical hotel, and we really appreciate you´ve shared your experience on TripAdvisor.

Best regards and Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

don't believe the reviews who rate this excuse of a hotel. the early sun bed snatchers started from 5;30 a.m and the hotel says its not allowed! huh!! they turn a blind eye!!.dont expect a porter to help with your luggage to your room either...we must have got lucky as one was loitering when we arrived and took 23 minutes to find our room. the so called quality bedding isn't....stained pillowslips...polyester throws with tears in...rough blankets with burns in!! air con is 2 fans and opening windows/balcony door!! ants all over surfaces in kitchen !! 63 euros will get you the room safe for 2weeks....10 euros and you get the t.v remotes!!! the food was never hot or very varied ...the drinks were lacking in much alcohol content!! all in all not impressed .we stayed for 2 weeks and came home 19th December ...the only good thing was the sunny warm weather plus some of the local bars/eateries..

Room Tip: none are of any good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank snogalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.6 km away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,266 reviews
0.4 km away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
209 reviews
0.4 km away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Bahia Flamingo
Hotel Bahia Flamingo
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
790 reviews
3.9 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
#3 of 3 in Los Gigantes
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Tamaimo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Tamaimo Tropical

Address: Calle La Hondura S/N | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $63 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Tamaimo Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel is made up of 372 comfortable apartments and is located in Puerto Santiago in Tenerife between Los Gigantes and the lovely beach known of Playa de la Arena. At the Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel there is a variety of accommodation to choose from such as comfortable studio apartments, large one-bedroom apartments or two-bedroom apartments - ideal for family holidays. Within the holiday complex there are spacious and peaceful solariums with free sun-lounger service for you to relax in or you can take a refreshing dip in one of the 5 swimming pools (2 adult, 2 kids and 1 heated). For an unforgettable holiday in the sun, entertainment is available for both adults and children from 11:00am to 11:00pm when the disco bar comes to life with with professional night shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Globales Tamaimo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel
Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife
Aparthotel Tenerife Tropical
Tamaimo Tenerife
Globales Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing