We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed in room 215 and it was spotless, nice and quiet at night, the pool was lovely and well kept. The food was very good with choices for everyone and I had 2 fussy children who both enjoyed the food, the only thing I would say is there wasn't a lot there for children, but we did a lot of excusersions, from submarine to siam parm and loro park, which we had to get coach to get to them and that was a long journey, about 2 hours from loro park, we went to a medieval night which was brilliant it cost us 150 for family of 4 but it included all your food and drinks, but I would stay at the hotel again :) well done to all the staff x

Room Tip: We was in room 215 and it was on second floor and nice and peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,207 - 2,211 of 3,552 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Me and my partner went here from Sep 6 - 13th. We paid only £340 each All Inclusive through Ola Holidays (who I would definitely recommend booking with)

Hotel - It is a bit dated, but it is kept very clean. For a 3* hotel it is perfectly acceptable. Our room was on the 5th floor so we didn't have a balcony but we still had a view of the pool and to be honest we didn't spend much time in the room which was spacious. One of the only problems with our holiday was our shower was small and not very good (however I suspect this was a top floor thing). The air con was a life saver! And towels were changed most days but not on a Sunday.

Food - Why do people moan so much?! There was plenty of choice for meat eaters and vegies alike! Our first night we had the most amazing duck, and the standard was just as good all week. It is definitely worth booking into the pizza restaurant in the hotel if you fancy a change from meats/fish/vegetables/chips etc as they don't serve pizza in the main restaurant. The pool bar snacks in the day was a choice of burgers, hot dogs and chips and that was delicious!

Pool - There are 2 pools, one is quieter and one has music. Both are big pools and kept very clean. The sunbeds were only an issue if you wanted one of the "good ones" (adjustable head bit) otherwise even if you got down there late there was still plenty of other sunbeds available. Yes its true they were chained up for the first 5 days and people went out at 0800 to queue for the good ones, but for the last 2 days they were left out neatly and this stopped the sunbed issues altogether (maybe its an on/off season thing with the chaining?).

Entertainment - This wasn't the best I've seen but they do have the usual bird show, reptile show etc. I recommend going out (literally 100 yards away) to the bars. Route 66 has live music every night and serve up great cocktails! there is also a really nice fish restaurant with amazing views of the sea near the supermarket.

Staff - Check in was excellent, and when we realised we didn't have an air con room they changed this for us straight away (hence the no balcony as the hotel was at capacity this is all they could offer), and we were very glad we did change as it was very hot! The bar staff were very polite and friendly and always serves with a smile.

Overall - For the price this holiday was simply a perfect getaway. Remember it is 3* not 5*! So you get what you pay for. If you are considering this hotel I would say do it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week's all inclusive here.
We arrived at the hotel at 9.25pm to be told that we were too late for dinner.
We also had to ask the receptionist what was included in the all inclusive, and only then given an information sheet.
Our room was on the 2nd floor, it was clean and spacious with a balcony. It had no air conditioning and the rooms are certainly not sound proof. It was however cleaned everyday except Sunday as they don't clean them on Sundays! 
While we were staying at the hotel the pool areas were scrubbed and painted, banisters were being varnished and walls painted.
With regards to all the comments about the sun beds, we did not experience any of the fighting or shouting as the sun beds were not locked away (I think this is because it was off season). It is noisy early in the morning while everyone is at the pool reserving their sun beds, I have never experienced this before. There was however, no shouting or arguments.
The staff seemed fairly friendly, drinks were limited to  2 per person during the day served in plastic cups, but the staff didn't mind how many times you visited the bar!! In the evening the drinks were served in tall glasses.
The food however is edible, but quite banal and of poor quality. We couldn't understand why they didn't stick to local Spanish food. The breakfast and lunch were much better than the dinner options.
The entertainment is boring and done on a tight budget. It's not the most exciting hotel going. 
The only other thing to mention is when we were checking out we asked if we could leave our bags somewhere safe until our transfer. The receptionist said that this was not a problem and also said that we were able to book a 30 minute slot in a room to have a shower before leaving. We thought this was great until we opened the room door to discover it was a recently vacated room that had not been cleaned!! 
Overall this hotel is a good place for a cheap week in the sun, but we wouldn't return.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thebakersdozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Tamaimo Tropical. We had a fabulous holiday. The hotel and staff are lovely. I read a lot of bad reviews about this holiday before we went...DO NOT believe them. The rooms are lovely well furnished and very clean. The food is excellent always plenty of choice....fish,pasta meat and special dishes too. Drinks are good and reading previous reviews about plastic cups...yes around the pool during the day but that is to be expected. In the evenings drinks are served in glasses. As far as the pool yes people are reserving sunbeds but we never had a problem of getting one. There were ample available. The pool area is well maintained and immaculate. I would certainly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed here for two weeks 4th sept first week the sun beds were chained up but the second week all left out Yes you had to be up early if you wanted one but people moving from them all the time and some spare The food was good plenty to choose from the desserts were very good the italian which is included in the all inclusive is worth a visit We had a big room on the 4th floor clean and spacious The area around is hilly but picturess 118 steps upto the top road we found we got what we paid for as it was a last minute booking and greatly reduced i have stayed in better but stayed in a lot worse i was a bit worried from other reviews but really enjoyed our holiday there were a few people that go back every year so it cant be all that bad It would have been nice to have had a bar in the reception area to have a quiet drink sometimes but overall we would return one day staff were allways buisy and helpfull

Room Tip: corner rooms are bigger and quiter at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caz563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.6 km away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,164 reviews
0.4 km away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
415 reviews
0.4 km away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Bahia Flamingo
Hotel Bahia Flamingo
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
770 reviews
0.8 km away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,412 reviews
14.6 km away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#50 of 389 in Tenerife
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Tamaimo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Tamaimo Tropical

Address: Calle La Hondura S/N | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $92 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Tamaimo Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel is made up of 372 comfortable apartments and is located in Puerto Santiago in Tenerife between Los Gigantes and the lovely beach known of Playa de la Arena. At the Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel there is a variety of accommodation to choose from such as comfortable studio apartments, large one-bedroom apartments or two-bedroom apartments - ideal for family holidays. Within the holiday complex there are spacious and peaceful solariums with free sun-lounger service for you to relax in or you can take a refreshing dip in one of the 5 swimming pools (2 adult, 2 kids and 1 heated). For an unforgettable holiday in the sun, entertainment is available for both adults and children from 11:00am to 11:00pm when the disco bar comes to life with with professional night shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Globales Tamaimo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel
Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife
Aparthotel Tenerife Tropical
Tamaimo Tenerife
Globales Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing