We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
10
6
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
6
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

We had heard good things about meat cove so we decided to add a night there. We found Hines Ocean View lodge on tripadvisor. Superb view, very clean and neat house, comfortable bright rooms, beautiful double deck, full kitchen facilities, two bathrooms (one shower with awesome water temperature and pressure). Hector came by in the eve, lit a fire for us, answered questions. What a sweetheart. The highlight of my entire Cape Breton trip but don't misunderstand that to be fancy. It's not fancy but i don't like fancy. It is simple, scenic, clean, fun. They had games for people to play, towels, coffee for the morning, and some fridge staples. Only suggestion is more deck chairs and a clothesline.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Sam181738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

WOW! WHAT A VIEW, we had the privilege of staying at the lodge , rooms were clean, and lodge was equipped with everything we needed for a nights stay. seen whales,seals and local wildlife from the deck. we will be booking again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ticktock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here 2 nights a couple years ago. The first night was amazing and restful, we had the lodge to ourselves. It was quiet, clean, had everything we needed and a priceless view! Unfortunately, the second night was hell. I am not telling this story to devalue this place because it really is something unique and special. I would still tell most people to go for it BUT also to be aware that this is a lodge that the owners do not stay in and there is no screening process as to who may be your roommates for the night! In close quarters like these, it can make or break your time there. The second night of our stay, a group of 4 or 5 men showed up on motorcycles. They were polite at first but as the night went on they became increasingly drunk, disrespectful and rowdy to the point where we no longer felt safe. We stayed in our room with our doors locked the whole night. We would have left but there was a fairly major storm and its a long way to alternate accommodations. Im sure the majority of people you would encounter here are fine but there is always a risk involved when sharing accommodations with strangers. Something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Radiumsprings81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Top of the mountain! Stayed only one night, and we were the only people there. Rooms were clean and freshly painted. The shared kitchen had everything we needed. The owners are extremely helpful!! They have done a lot of renovation, and have more planned. We made a fire and got some of our best photos from their front picnic table. Go there and stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A decent spot to spend a night - very chilled out. You can basically just walk in and have a look around, and if you like it, throw your bag in the room and it's yours. Bring your own cutlery and crockery as it's not super well equipped.

The managers come around in the evening to see who is staying there and collect the room fee. Free Wifi too. Same price as the cabins down at the campground, however in the lodge you get a bed (with bedding), kitchen, more space etc. It's a no brainer.

Room Tip: Email ahead if you want one of the upstairs rooms with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews