We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful accommodation and hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carman Hill House

Carman Hill House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carman Hill House
Self catering wing of Carman Hill House View from the back of our garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Carman Hill House
Self catering wing of Carman Hill House
View from the back of our garden
Our free range chickens and ducks
Example of our Welcome Pack
Open plan large lounge with fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Luxury fully equipped kitchen
Dining area
Open plan large lounge with fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Open plan large lounge (sofa bed) with fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Master kingsize bedroom or Family Room with a double sofa bed / cot
Double bedroom
Entrance hallway
Hallway
Bathroom
Bathroom
Carman Hill House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Renton, West Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Di C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful accommodation and hosts”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Four of us stayed for 5 nights in June and very much enjoyed it. We were delighted by the thoughtful gifts of wine, freshly-laid eggs, biscuits and sweets and by the lovely comfortable rooms and spacious bathroom. Excellent kitchen appliances - the induction hotplates were a joy to use.
Our hosts were very anxious to please and nothing was too much trouble. We had the run of the yard during the day and could use the outdoor clothesline.
The chooks and ducks were also a source of fascination.
Although a bit out of town the view over Renton was pretty especially at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall presentation and comfort
Liked least: WiFi seemed to drop out each morning about 10am for several hours
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Best wishes, Susan & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley s
Aulnay, France
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Carman Hill with friends for twelve days and could not have made a better choice. The accomodation was very clean and spacious and everything we could ever need was available. Susan and John were excellent hosts and we will be sure to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and quiet but only a few minutes from Loch Lomond and just 30 minutes by train to Glasgow
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
Thanks for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you all and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Susan & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunny_the...
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An absolutely wonderful stay in beautiful accommodation.”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We recently spent 4 lovely nights at Carman Hill House on a trip to a badminton tournament in Glasgow choosing to stay outside the city rather than in a hotel .... what a good choice that was.

The cottage which is independent but attached to the owners house is in a lovely setting on a hill with views looking down on a lovely picture scene (but it's real !!). The cottage itself is furnished to a very high standard throughout with all the features you could really want e.g. sky tv, board games for the family and free wifi. The starter pack was delightful and as well as the basics included some local jam, duck eggs as well as hen eggs, shortbread and a bottle of wine .... that my wife really enjoyed !! It was an easy 30 minute drive in to Glasgow and about 5 to 10 minutes away from Loch Lomond.

Just before we leaving we had a lovely chat with Susan & John who were ever so warm and introduced us to their hens & ducks that roam around the gardens. We hope to be able to go back again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality accommodation, warm hosts and a in a lovely setting.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thanks for your lovely review and I am delighted you had a great time. It was a pleasure to meet you all and thank you for booking with us. We hope to see you in the future. Best wishes, Susan & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete C
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, homely, spacious holiday accomodation”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our second visit. Perfect for our needs. Accommodated us and our 3 young children well. Very comfortable accomodation, location very handy for lots of local amenities and main tourist routes but also quiet with fab views. We'll definitely come for a third time in the future.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for returning to stay with us, it was a pleasure having you and your lovely family again. Hope to see you next year. Thanks again, Susan & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollypa12
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was a beautiful house , Susan and John where fantastic hosts and have really made this a home from home.
We had our young son with us and he enjoyed the freedom of the spacious gardens
Would definitely return
The house is situated near to all local attractions and easily accessible

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thanks for your fab review, hope to see you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing