We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umbria Hacienda Hotel Gourmet
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machachi
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Hacienda Umbria for two nights with my wife and two children. The total experience at Hacienda Umbria is extremely warm and inviting, and the owners could not have made us feel more at ease - we truly felt as if we were guests in the home of family friends. The property is beautiful, serene, and relaxing, and the website is a completely accurate portrayal of what to expect. Dinner each evening is a special experience, with Alvaro inviting everyone into his kitchen for a personal culinary demonstration, followed by what was certainly some of the best food and wine we have had in Ecuador. Our stay at the hacienda was a truly unique and memorable experience for the entire family, and we can't wait to visit there again very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gocav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have just returned from Hacienda Umbria. We stayed there for our honeymoon! What a place! Imagine getting up surrounded by volcanoes covered with snow? This hacienda which has only 4 rooms caters for the upscale market making it pricy but certainly worth every penny!! The owners (Alvaro and Lorena) make every effort to make your stay a time to remember. Alvaro is a gourmet chef and sommelier who enjoys tremendoulsy preparing the food you like or rather meals with the type of food you like. This is the perfect place for a honeymoon, to relax, away from the daily stress and close to mother nature. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrancos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dclandi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les recomiendo la Habitación Cotopaxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAJI1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Sosasolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Machachi hotels
0.0 km away
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
#2 of 12 in Machachi
213 reviews
0.0 km away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 12 in Machachi
128 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Sakiwa Hotel
Casa Sakiwa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Machachi
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Illinizas Lodge
Illinizas Lodge
#8 of 12 in Machachi
15 reviews
0.0 km away
Hosteria Merceditas
Hosteria Merceditas
#5 of 12 in Machachi
10 reviews
0.0 km away
Chuquiragua Lodge & Spa
Chuquiragua Lodge & Spa
#4 of 12 in Machachi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbria Hacienda Hotel Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbria Hacienda Hotel Gourmet

Address: Panamericana Sur, Via Machachi, Machachi 170350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Machachi
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machachi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hacienda belonged to the great Ecuadorian philanthropist Maria Augusta Urrutia, a historical figure who on her passing away left the property to the Mariana de Jesús Foundation created by the Jesuits. The Samper family bought the hacienda from this foundation in 1994.Our splendid and spacious suites offer wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. These magnificent rooms provide our guests with a truly special experience which promotes physical well being.Relax in the welcoming environment of Umbria, with its coral coloured exteriors and warm colourful interior decoration, highlighted with special touches - fresh flowers, adobe fireplaces and spectacular views.Discreet touches of luxury are found within the house, such as beautiful pieces of carved wooden furniture, spacious bathrooms, and not forgetting the large windows, perfect for observing the natural surroundings and stars at night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing