We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
121
77
22
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
77
22
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent family theme park balloon animals uk journey
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We were looking for somewhere to stay between the alps and Calais to break up the drive for the wife and I and protect us from the poor kids stuck in the back of the car going crackers.
I spotted the oriental gardens near Troyes and started looking. We picked this place having seen the ratings and facilities for children - nightly face painting, balloon animals, magic and outside park. Then we realised this place was part of a large theme park -Nigloland.

This turned out to be a great two days as a family. The hotel was clean, quiet and staff very polite. The breakfast/dinner were good. The price is reasonable considering what was on offer including wine (you would need to pay for stuff from bottles - but this was france so the stuff coming out of the red or rose tap was perfectly drinkable - no white though). The park was great - very very tidy and lovely landscaping/gardens/shrubs. The rides are excellent too - we have a 2 and 4 year old. In the UK the 2 year old would be limited to excruciatingly tame rides and likewise the 4 year old would hardly be exposed to anything exciting. As it was the 4 year old was on a pirate ship among other rides and the 2 year old was having a great time on various rides that went round at a pretty fast pace - fast enough for adults to really enjoy! All seemed very safe. The people at the park all seemed to be having a good time and the whole vibe was more pleasant that you get in UK theme parks. Im no snob - just an observation.
All in all - an excellent family break and perfect location to break up a long trip. The park has enough stuff for 1 day - on the 2nd day we were doing rides again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JKRMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 nights stay for family of 5 in one room. the room was great, clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and aircon was very welcome in 38 deg heat outside! Wifi worked well so kids happy... play area was great for younger children, they also have face painting and balloon animals in the evening prior to dinner. The food was very good. We tried lots of new things in the buffet. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Staff very friendly and spoke english. Very nice end to our 2 week European holiday.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We tried this hotel as a fun 1 night stay over on a trip through France and Spain. I had some reservations about this choice of hotel for our 2 older children (14 &12). However, I needn't have worried. The hotel was very clean, very comfortable, welcoming and the food and entertainment was great. We really enjoyed the restaurant where you pay a set price per person and choose whatever you want from the starter, main course and dessert areas. The food was fantastic and all water, wine and soft drinks were included. After dinner we attend the regular magic show which lasted for about an hour (tested my schoolgirl French a little) but the standard of show was very impressive! The next morning we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast and then continued on our journey, very happy customers!

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank Mimosa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Nigloland's fun and relaxed atmosphere spills over into the adjoining hotel. Attentive staff, free face-painting and balloon-modelling for the kids, a free magic show every evening, etc.

Absolutely loved the fact we could fit 5 of us into one room; plenty of room and added to the sense of a family break.

The restaurant was also great, both for the buffet breakfasts (included) and for the buffet dinner. The latter, however, proved to be poor value, with our young kids charged 20 Euros a head where elsewhere they'd have eaten the same for 8, while the adults would have had to sink a dozen glasses of house wine each to really justify the price.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ER1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel really enjoyed our stay here. Rooms were basic but v clean and well equipped The dinner and breakfast superb really fresh cooked food with a massive amount of choice of healthy food !!!! Not chips pizza pie and rubbish !!! Steak Duck Fish vegetables salad and lots of fruit the buffet was €35 per adult ?? And €15 per child. The house wine was v good
Overall really enjoyed pirates hotel a great one night stop and start to our holiday.

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank Chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews