We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner”
Review of Drinkingwine

Drinkingwine
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Drinkingwine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 60 Restaurants in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Family group of sisters and niece ate inside as outdoor dining filled. Family run, attention to detail very good. Very knowledgeable of wines from region, recommended fantastic wines. Great service but the food - wow! Tagliatelle with cinghaile to die for. Orrechiette with tomatoes simple yet perfect.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kiptopeke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Passed by last night at 10:20, asked if we could sit and have a glass of wine and perhaps a selection of local cheeses. “ but of course”, she replied. ( All this in Italian as I am) at 10:40 arrived a glass of wine, at 11:00 three slices of bread and two plates. My friend tried the bread to discover it tasted of oil! Upon closer inspection the plates they brought us WERE USED AND SEEPING OF OIL. Needless to say we left, without paying. Do not waste you time in this dreadful place.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio S, Direttore at Drinkingwine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018
Google Translation

Senti !! ! Siete arrivati ultimi allora giusto che serve aspettare suo turno !!!
Quando ti ho fatto assaggiare vino hai detto che buonissimo !!! Quindi se non ti piaceva potevi dire non mi piace!!! Invece vi siete bevuti 2 bicchieri abbondanti di Sagrantino !! A me se non piace non lo bevooo!!! Se hai bevuto giusto a pagare ma si vede che vuoi siete abituati bere e scappare! I formaggi hai chiesto locali e di fossa !!! Allora prima di esprmersi sul prezzo informati quando costano !!!
Ultimo mi scuso per i piatti .., però un errore può capitare solo chi lavora ... chi non fa nulla i errori non li fa !! Era buglio sotto ombrellone e con la fretta la cameriera ( poi era suo primo giorno di lavoro) che portato i piatti non li ha controlati. I miei distinti saluti e buona vita!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We dived in here for a bowl of pasta and a glass of wine for lunch. Both were excellent - the pasta most definitely the best we had during our holiday. This is my kind of place - small and slightly quirky. I can't understand why there was only one other couple there (locals) - it's just such a great place for lunch. It's a pity we were just passing through otherwise we would almost certainly have been back for more.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W-Man77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We liked the owner and stopped there having glasses of wines a few times. He was very knowledgeable about wine and generous with wine serving. We decided to eat there one night. I enjoyed my pasta dish with truffle very much but not the second course which was pigeon dish. Its presentation was rather odd with half size of pigeon and a hand full of lettuce "salad". No source and dressing very dry. I would recommend having wine and maybe lunch there but not a proper dinner.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Flying88_phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We live in Umbria for a good part of every year, therefore we are quite familiar with small, non-touristy restaurants all across the region. This one is in a class of it's own. It is a wine store with just a few tables, where you can sit and enjoy a meal among an extensive collection of Umbrian wines, artfully displayed throughout the tiny restaurant. It is an adorable eating establishment! Even the bathroom is oh, so cute! The menu items change with the season. It is a family run business and often, the owner's children will be sitting in a corner quietly drawing pictures while Mom and Pop attend to the guests. My favorite item on the menu is piccione (pigeon)! In fact, I rarely order anything else because I love it so much. My husband has ordered a variety of different dishes and each one has always been "out of this world" delicious. Skip the bigger restaurants in this charming town and eat at Drinkingwine!! You will be telling everyone about you experience.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JDiLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drinkingwine also viewed

Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 
Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 
Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Drinkingwine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing