We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Return”

Ristorante Porta Venere
Ranked #10 of 60 Restaurants in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We have become part-year residents of Spello and over the years have dined at most, if not all, of the establishments in the City. When we first arrived eight years ago, we discovered Porta Venere. It became an instant favorite for both inside and outside dining and we went often, by ourselves or with visiting friends. We were never disappointed. For reasons not worthy of explanation in a Review, we deferred to another ‘friend’ and business owner’s wishes and quit patronizing this restaurant. That was our loss and, recently, we ended our self-deprivation and revisited not only a very good restaurant but one with outstanding views to the west of the City. The food, the service and, again, the pleasing and relaxing view, reinforced the acknowledged error of our ways in not making this a “Regular” in our choices for lunch and dinner. We recommend it enthusiastically!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Drfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting with even lovelier food! Had lunch with a friend who lives nearby and his recommendation of the restaurant was well proven. It makes one feel like you want to stay there all day. Great view of the valley below.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank G153NBmariam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We were recommended the restaurant by a you lady in the bar at the top of the street. It was a glorious autumn day and the terrace was already half full when we arrived at 12 30 ish. The menu is a little out of the ordinary, which we like. My mille foglie di melanzane, ricotta and parmigiano was superb, just right for a lighter lunch. A glass of local grechetto was the perfect partner. It also went well with the pollo, though I couldn't resist a glass of sagrantino, sitting there watching it grow
,I appreciated that the waiters spoke Italian with me, even though they could speak English

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mecharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Great food, meat and cheeses and the lightest pumpkin soufflé to start. Wild boar ragu with tagliatelle, rabbit, pork cooked porchetta style to follow. Then chocolate fondant with ice cream, pannacotta with pears poached in Sagrantino and cinnamon. Coffee and grappa to finish. English menu, English speaking staff who love it when you try Italian, great service, amazing food

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank debbiedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

All courses in our dinner experience were exellen. The staff were helpful and friendly without the often annoying habit of pestering for drink orders

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank RoaderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Porta Venere also viewed

Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 
Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 
Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Porta Venere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing