We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING visit to Spello!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Spello, North-South View (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spello, North-South View (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Living Room (photo copyright Geoff Beatty) Unit#1 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
147 reviews
Spello, North-South View (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Living Room (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Master Bathroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Kitchen and Breakfast Area (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit #1 Hallway with Hand Painted Ceramics (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#2 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Garden Entrance to Unit#3 (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#3 Upper and Lower Bedrooms (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Entry to Unit#4 (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Spello Walkways (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
East View of the Town of Spello (copyright Geoff Beatty)
Sunset View from Casa Spello (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Spello Countryside (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Sunflowers in Spello Countryside (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Fall at Montefalco
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Spello, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kerry W
Menifee, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING visit to Spello!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From the first email I inquired about this property, until the time we checked out, the experience was amazing!

Gina always responded in a timely fashion, and all of the information provided was right on key! We were lucky enough to have Gina visiting Spello during part of our stay, so she and Nadia both greeted us at our meeting spot. Nadia helped us with our luggage and showed us around our apt. We had friends join us last minute, and were able to rent the adjoining apt Marc Anthony (we were in Cleopatra).

The apt. has everything you would need! It was clean and very charming. When we were home before sunset, we would sit outside and enjoy wine and snacks in the garden.

This will forever be a memorable experience. We did take day trips to Assisi, Spoleto, Siena, San Gimiagno and wine tasted in two wonderful wineries.

Cant wait to go back!
Thank you Gina for your hospitality, and especially the incredible dinner! One of our favorite nights!!
Ciao for now!!!

Kerry and Ron, California

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim H
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
“Historical Home with beautiful views”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed in the Mark Anthony unit at Cassa Spello and it had everything I could have dreamed of. This quaint historical home provided us with spectacular views every evening where we relaxed while watching the sunset. We even picked Plums off the tree to eat and they were delicious. Gina and Nadia provided a warm and enthusiastic welcome upon our arrival. Nadia went above and beyond her duties by helping me retrieve my luggage after airline lost for 5 days. I would not have received this kind of customer service along with genuine concern at any hotel. The city of Spello was absolutely amazing! So many local shops with authentic Italian items and very friendly staff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
heat57
Terrigal NSW
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great accommodation , excellent location but best for U.S travellers”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The accommodation itself is wonderful; spacious, comfortable well equipped and Nadia the house-keeper had the place spic and span on our arrival. It was also within the quaint town so ideal location : On this criteria alone I would rate the stay as 5 stars.

However in my opinion the set up only suits to U.S. travelers.

We were looking for a lay back Italian holiday ( when in Rome do as the Romans do) and all our other bookings with Italians in our 5 week travels were paid in Euro on arrival, relaxed and hassle free.
With this booking we had to sign a U.S. contract,provide full payment in advance of stay with the sole option of payment in $US into a US bank account meaning poor exchange rate and bank conversion fees. In addition, instructions for exact times that we must contact the house-keeper in advance of arrival or penalties would be incurred, does not show understanding for the travelers unexpected misadventures. At the unit there were dozens of "you must do this and don't do that" instructions and house rules.

The experience was not as rewarding as it could be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort and space, cleanliness
Liked least: Payment arrangements, U.S. contract,instructions threatening penalties and don't do this
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
For the 11 years we have been running Casa Spello rentals, we have always rented the house with a simple contract to protect both the tenants and Casa Spello. Three times I rented out the units without a contract and guests cancelled the reservations only hours before they were due to arrive. Yes, you are right, some places in Italy require payment on arrival because they would prefer cash payments to avoid taxes. Since we do not rent a room but an entire house we require payment in advance. Wouldn't you?


Casa Spello payments are made on line and the exchange rate is exactly the rate on the XE.COM website, we do not choose the rate nor profit from any exchange. We charge what the official exchange rate from Euro to us$ is at the time of the booking.

We have NEVER , in 11 years of business , charged euro 25 penalties for people arriving late. We ask people to avoid arriving very late at night , but have always been and continue to be accommodating with our guests, no matter what time they arrive.

We suggest check in time 3p.m and simply ask that guests give an eta and call to our check- in person when they get into town. This we do simply because we know that its hard to have an exact time of arrival for the guests and therefore, we allows them the flexibility to call when they arrive to Spello. Our check- in person lives 5 minutes away from the meeting place, so that guests do not have to wait . If you have a better suggestion on how guests should contact our keyholder besides calling on arrival, let us know.

Regarding house rules, our Italian washing machines and dishwashers work very differently than in the U.S.A , Canada or Australia, our guests like to have exact directions on how to run the appliances and for this we give them instructions. For example in Italy, if you do not put an anti calcium powder in the washing machine it will ruin the machine because the water has too much calcium in it. In the past five years I had to replace 2 very expensive washing machine.

Furthermore, often our guests had to call our check in person because they didn't know how to operate the appliances. But now that the instructions are clear , they can be self sufficient.
I agree that as you say: "When in Rome do as the Romans do", that's why you need to have the instructions on how appliances work "in Rome", so that you can operate them like the "Romans do" , and believe me they do not work like American or Australian appliances. They can be as temperamental as the Italian people who manufacture them! But good instructions give our guests a clean fresh load of wash!
Thanks for your comments about our comfortable house and please come to visit us again.
Gina Waldman, manager owner of Casa Spello
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy_Ton...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Casa Spello, a unique restored property”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in Cleopatra, the smallest of the apartments, however in saying that it was plenty of room for 2 people. Very comfortable and good facilities (no oven) the best shower of our 3 week travels. Lovely garden to sit in, with great views and when we were there the owners invited all guests to a wine and antipasto afternoon. A nice way to spend the afternoon and hear from other guests about their travels. Spello is a lovely hilltop town to explore with lots of restaurants and wonderful shops. There is also lots to do in the area and a week really is not enough to time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location and view and also the shower was excellent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing