We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome!”

Review of La Crouzette

La Crouzette - a house with majestic views of the historic castle and surrounding valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Crouzette - a house with majestic views of the historic castle and surrounding valley.
A private pool, overlooked by nothing but lush green valley. Open lounge & dining room with tv, dvd, wifi and stereo to help you unwind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
La Crouzette - a house with majestic views of the historic castle and surrounding valley.
A private pool, overlooked by nothing but lush green valley.
Open lounge & dining room with tv, dvd, wifi and stereo to help you unwind.
A light, airy and spacious living room with great views.
The living room, looking through to the dining room.
Enjoy outdoor dining - with prime views of the golden castle and lush green valley hills.
Use our bbq with fresh food from Castelnaud village or Sarlat market. Yummy!
Make use of the bbq and watch the starry skies if you decide to have a night in.
When you hear the roar of the burners, you'll know there's a hotair balloon near by!
Hire canoes and pass chateaux, Roque Gageac, Castelnaud & Beynac castles
One of 3 double bedrooms (+ 1 twin room), all beautifully decorated.
Modern and well equipped kitchen with dining table.
Private pool with private valley views in this relaxing sun trap.
Visit Castelnaud castle & see the village, Dordogne river and valley from the turrets.
Walk up to the castle or down to the river - they're both so close.
Don't miss market days in the gorgeous medieval town of Sarlat.
Sarlat is less than 20 mins by car. Markets, restaurants, church, entertainment!
Lots of entertainment on in Sarlat during the summer.
La Roque Gageac is only 5 mins away by car and not much more by canoe!
The bastide of Domme is close by, with a history of The Knights Templar!
Great food + wine! Dinner party outside.
The ideal French getaway.
Chilling in the pool on a hot day.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hal_Kidde...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013

A top holiday experience throughout! After a long drive we were all amazed at how perfect La Crouzette is! Better than any of the pictures, our stay here surpassed all our expectations...perfect house, pool, gardens and surroundings. The View of the Castle and surrounding valley is just breath-taking and something we can all appreciate. Everything is close by, although a car is essential for supplies and going further on sight seeing trips. Booking was easy and support/advice was very good (Thank you David!) We definitely want to return here and will soon!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki959
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house with great pool”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in August 2012, there were 4 adults and 3 children aged between 7 and 14. The house is in a great area with lots to do within an hours drive. La Crouzette is a lovely house which is well equipped. On the ground floor there is a double bedroom and laundry room, first floor double bedroom, large dining kitchen, large lounge with fantastic views and separate dining room, shower room (shower and sink) and separate toilet on the second floor there is a double and twin bedroom and a bathroom with bath, toilet and sink. The pool was heaven when we stayed as it was very hot - couldn't get our boys out! We really enjoyed our stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lap7819
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful rustic French house!”
Reviewed 9 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We loved this house! Perfect for families as there is loads of space inside and out especially having its own swimming pool. The house is picture perfect and the views from the garden are stunning. Its also a very private and quiet location not overlooked by any other properties. The house is beautifully decorated and has everything you need to a great stay. A short walk to the bottom of the road there are a couple of restaurants, shop, bakery etc. We would definitely recommend La Crouzette and plan to visit again next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yfam4
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the best - beautiful home in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 7 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a week in La Crouzette with our two children and it was just wonderful - the pictures are gorgeous but even they do not do it justice. The house is spacious and beautifully furnished, there are flowers blooming all around the house and garden, and the view from every window is amazing - you can see the castle and the village church from one window, and the others look out onto the green valley leading up to the village of Castelnaud. It was so peaceful and quiet here that the only noise we could hear was birds chirping and the church bell ringing on the hour. The house location was so perfect we could have happily stayed a month. Our children absolutely loved the pool and the weather was perfect for swimming - hot and sunny almost the entire week.

The house is located after the turn off for the castle for cars so there is no traffic at all on the road past the house to the village by the castle. You can easily walk up to the castle - it is less than a 2 minute stroll, and there are several restaurants and places to get ice cream and snacks along the way, most with amazing views and outdoor gardens, or you can walk down to the river on the footpath where you can rent canoes, or pick up supplies from the small grocery and bakery. We spent several days without even getting in the car - wading in the river, going canoeing, biking in the beautiful countryside, visiting the castle, and swimming in the pool could fill a whole week. However if you do want to do some sight-seeing, Sarlat, Beynac, La Roque Gageac, the gardens at Marqueyssac, and Milandes chateau are all within a 10-15 drive.

The only negative of staying at La Crouzette is that we did not want to leave - not to visit the long list of beautiful sights in the area, and definitely not when our week was up. We were delighted enough with the sights we could see from the windows and the things we could walk to from the house itself, and the afternoons we spent by the pool followed by dinners outside in the garden were the best part of the entire trip. Of all the many homes we have rented for summer vacation, this was by far the best of the best and we have the most wonderful memories of our stay here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing