We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star hotel in idyllic surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Lanark Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Certificate of Excellence
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“5 star hotel in idyllic surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a hotel!! As soon as I drive down the hill into the village I feel like I'm coming home. Choose the Valentines package this time. In our room a beautifully package single red rose(which is still alive 6 days later) on the bed with fluffy bathrobes. Later arrived champagne, strawberries and dipping chocolate. My husband thought all his Christmas's had come a once even after 30 years of marriage!!!. The rooms are perfect with beautiful linen, plenty of tea and coffee and more if you request. Scottish fine soap toiletries and fluffy towels in the bathroom. The leisure facilities are of an excellent quality with spa treatments for that extra treat. Plenty of towels and toiletries in the changing areas and even hair dryers. A must is the heritage centre which made need several visits to understand Robert Owen's vision. There are plenty of walks as well. The food is beyond excellent. A must is the lamb, beef and salmon- well everything. Try the deserts especially the raspberry souffle which has a 20 minute wait and worth every single second of that wait. Finally the staff what a team both front and back of house. So profession able, knowledgeable , friendly and willing to go that extra mile to make your stay so pleasurable. I have never met such a hands on manager as John Stirrat and no wonder staff turnover is so low. Will We be going back certainly so and hopefully several times

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Don't dismiss those at the front they have lovely views of the village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marmalade68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
I just wanted to take this opportunity once again to thank you for writing such a positive review of our hotel on tripadvisor following your recent stay. I really do appreciate this so much and I know the team do too. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I have already displayed your review in our staff room for everyone to see.

As you know we do try very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay as we want them to return time and time again. Its very important to us to take on all of our customer comments and act upon them to further improve upon the level of service that we offer.

Thank you for such kind words in relation to the professionalism of my team. I am glad that they were able to look after you in a positive manner.

On behalf of the team I very much look forward to welcoming you back and in the meantime if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    376
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
368
809
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Excellent Staff all round. Superb food, extremely interesting location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just arrived back after a thoroughly relaxing weekend with my husband. From the time we arrived, the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
We spent time in the spa area which was lovely, very relaxing. The pool, steam room and sauna were pristine and not overcrowded at all.
Our food in the evening was exceptional and the staff again were faultless, doing everything they could to make sure you enjoyed your time.
I would definately recommend people to stay here, it's excellent value for money with good facilities and high standard of food. The neighbouring world heritage site is fascinating and worth a visit. Also make sure to pack walking shoes for the lovely riverside walks. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hcowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a very favourable review of our hotel following your recent stay at New Lanark. I am delighted to read that you had a very relaxing experience and that you found the package to offer excellent value for money.

On behalf of the team, thank you for your kind words and please be assured that I have shared your review with my staff and they very much appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review.

In the meantime, I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very spacious and comfortable room, friendly and attentive staff, well cooked & not ridiculously expensive bar meals, excellent breakfast, and great to have use of the pool/sauna (although the changing room was rather chilly).

Location is very attractive and the mill is worth a visit (and I don't mean the on-site Edinburgh Woollen Mill, which is full of the usual tat).

The walk to the Falls of Clyde is very picturesque, and it would be even more impressive if Scottish Power didn't extract most of the water above the falls to channel to their hydro-electric station. Apparently they magnanimously turn the tap back on twice a year - very generous of them.

If we'd been mid-week to the hotel, it would have cost £59 for 2 people B&B, which is a brilliant deal. Even £79 is excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspectorBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our hotel following your recent stay . I am delighted to read such favourable comments and please be assured that I have passed your review onto the team.

We strive hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience so that we can ensure they return in the future. I certainly hope to see you in the near future and in the meantime I will see if Scottish Water will leave the water running for us!.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just had 2night break here with 5 friends our second year . Break was perfect from start to finish. Arrived friday had afternoon tea was lovely , dinners were excellent and beautifully presented. Staff excellent service and friendly. Rooms very spacious and clean. 3 had treatments massages and manicure and were so relaxing therapist very good. We all enjoyed our swim in afternoon pool was quiet. We booked for next year when we checked out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samanthia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our hotel following your recent stay at New Lanark Mill. It was a pelasure to see you return for a second time and we certainly hope that we will see you back again next year.

On behalf of the team thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Lanark Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Lanark Mill Hotel

Property: New Lanark Mill Hotel
Address: Mill One | New Lanark, Lanark ML11 9DB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Price range (per night): $138 - $267
Hotel Class:3 star — New Lanark Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Lanark World Heritage Site is a truly unique setting. Surrounded by native woodlands and close to the famous Falls of Clyde, New Lanark was founded in 1785 as a cotton spinning village and became famous as the site of Robert Owen's pioneering social reforms. Now beautifully restored, New Lanark is both a living community and tourist attraction. New Lanark Mill Hotel is a stunning award winning conversion from an original 18th century mill. It offers fantastic views across the surrounding conservation area and River Clyde ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your New Lanark Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Lanark Mill
New Lanark Mill Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing