We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Local Welcome Basket
Bala White-Water Rafting nearby
Mountain Biking trails nearby and secure storage at Rivercatcher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GSP1984
Nottinghamshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in the Shepherds Cottage at Rivercatcher during June 2016.

The place is really like a home from home and finished to a very high standard. Typically holiday lets are fitted out with cheap appliances, but these cottages have great high spec finishes with appliances that work and are easy to use.

The setting is very relaxing and in a beautiful location. Surrounded by an array of wildlife... during our weeks stay we had pheasants, rabbits and a hedgehog in the garden. Even a baby blue tits which we helped back into its nest.

Everything was very easy from start to finish, from booking, through to obtaining the keys and checking out. It also very rare to fine such amazing accommodation that is also dog friendly.

We had weather that was unbelievable for Wales and the garden and hot tub was the most idyllic place to have breakfast and dinner every day.

If I had to be critical of anything at all, I would say the bedrooms were extremely warm even with the windows open. The thermostats suggested the indoor temperature was 25.5c which made sleeping extremely uncomfortable on some nights. It should be noted the weather was particularly unusual for Wales during our weeks stay, so it would perhaps be unreasonable to expect air-conditioning which would also ruin the absolutely beautiful exteriors of the properties. It's the only addition I could think of that would increase the already high spec accommodation.

We will definitely be returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic Getaway...perfect cottage”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We enjoyed a fantastic long weekend at the Rivercatcher Cottage - the cottage itself is lovely, set in peaceful countryside, equipped with everything we needed and the hot tub really was the icing on the cake! Local village of Llandrillo had a couple of fantastic restaurants and charming local pub, everyone very friendly and made us welcome...would certainly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Cottage itself, Hot Tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y
Heywood, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most relaxing holiday ever!!!!”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a place. Paradise! The most enjoyable and relaxing break you could wish for. The cottages are all incredible and what a setting to sit in a hot tub with a glass of the fizzy stuff. Well done to Jen and Andy who have done an incredible job.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Nothing worth mentioning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fay G
Guild
2 reviews
“A peaceful riverside retreat”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Beautiful setting and well fitted out, we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The hot tub was the perfect way to warm up after some very long, wet and windy walks. A great base to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariedes1
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 5 nights and were blown away by the location.
The cottage is stunning and exceeded our expectations.
The welcome basket was a nice touch.
The whole cottage was immaculate and the beds were super comfortable with top notch bedding.
Facilities were excellent with each cottage having their own private hottub.
Netflix service in the lounge.
Wood burner in lounge,logs topped up daily in your log store by Aled.
Do not hesitate,book this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings
Liked least: Nothing,everything us perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing