We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury in a perfect setting, exceeds all...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Local welcome basket
Mountain biking trails nearby. Secure bike storage at rivercatcher
Snowdonia National Park
Bala White-water rafting nearby
Spa Treatments available
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
X40NNA
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury in a perfect setting, exceeds all expedations”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a beautiful setting, from booking to leaving everything was perfect.
Stayed here with family (6 adults) for a week 8th August. Directions given were perfect, all correspondence via email answered same day.
The cottage is perfect with lovely views, large enclosed garden, built in BBQ, hot tub, seating. The fixtures and furnishings are all top quality, best sleep I have had in ages! beds so comfy, we did have to ask Alad (the local caretaker) to turn down the heating as we were too hot, probably unusual for wales, not a problem he did it straight away. All floors have under floor heating. I liked the idea that all bedrooms had ensuites except the upstairs which had a free standing bath of which room we did not use. But the room looked fab. The care of the décor to match the name of the cottage was perfect.
The kitchen was supplied with everything you could want (apart from pegs) which Alad is aware of so sure they will be supplied in future. plenty of plates, glasses etc, large fridge freezer and of course not forgetting the wine cooler (holds beer cans too!)
It is within easy driving to many site seeing places, and lovely close walks by the river.
ready for that lovely hot tub and a glass of bubbly to unwind and enjoy on your return.
lovely restaurant in village, out of this world food and hospitality fantastic ask Alad, you will need to book though as only small and only open Wednesday onwards.
This is a beautiful cottage (one of 5) but all private that you will not be disappointed in booking. The owners have gone way beyond quality and it shows, brilliant :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: exceeded my expectations
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EalaNaMar...
Swansea County, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Luxury in the heart of the Berwyn Mountains”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from our second visit to Gamekeeper's cottage. Wonderfully comfortable, cosy cottage, immaculately presented and maintained. This is a great base for walking the hills, with many walks on your doorstep. The scenery is gorgeous and the view from the hot tub spectacular. Very friendly and helpful staff . Would definitely recommend the Llangollen aqueduct cruise, Chester, Bodnant Gardens and the Precipice Walk at Dollgellau, not to mention the bronze age hill fort at Corwen and the Bala and Llangollen steam railways. This cottage is luxury in the heart of the glorious Berwyn Mountains. We are already planning a return trip.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loubiekid
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious rustic comfort”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A really well equipped house, in a small group of properties with everything you could need for aa relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub in the back garden overlooking the river and the mountains
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mar_mical...
Island Of Malta, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply amazing and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group made up of 4 couples all travelling with children. The cottage was clean, comfortable, child friendly and simply amazing. The views from all rooms was breathtaking. We were provided with baby beds and high chairs all up to standard. The common laundry has modern machines which were very clean to use. We had a problem with the heating for which we complained in the morning. As we went back home in the evening we found heaters placed in every room of the cottage which made it all warm amd comfy. Would surely recommend these beautiful cottages!!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage - Wonderful Location......”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First time at Rivercatcher, and would thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants to be in this area of Wales, staying in the most beautiful accommodation we could find.
The cottage is furnished to a very high standard and has everything you need and more.
The Hot-tub was the icing on the cake, sat looking at the lovely river just yards away.
Jen and all involved were a delight to deal with and we would look to stay at one of the few properties on the plot depending on group size - all look equally as lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The care and attention that went into the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you at Rivercatcher in the future. Many thanks, Jen & Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing