We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Setting on the banks of the Dee”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private garden & hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Private garden & hot tub
Local Welcome Basket
Spa treatments available
Bala White water rafting nearby
Snowdonia National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mickA6061...
Sunbury-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Setting on the banks of the Dee”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A week of lovely weather in a beautiful setting. Great restaurant (Michelin starred) close by. good pub and restaurant (closed when we were there) in the village. Crockery needs at least 4 of everything. Boiler from next door noisy. Aled was a great help. Good walking locally. Fantasic setting in North Wales for Bala etc. as a Cestrian, it was so nice to be back in part of unspoilt Wales. Cottage very comfortable. we are experienced cottagers and this is in our top five (and the most expensive!) but it was my wife's 65th Birthday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage,setting and location
Liked least: Boiler noise at night (not ours)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had no problem finding the Rivercatcher location, which consists of an old farmhouse and outbuildings. All are renovated and decorated to a very high standard and excellently maintained by Aled, who is on site weekdays and very helpful. We loved the setting overlooking the River Dee and the hot tub. Each property is "fenced" off to keep children and dogs from straying. We were the only people there and enjoyed peace and quiet until our last day when most properties were occupied by people and dogs. The dog in the Farmhouse would not stop barking and when we went out in the garden it appeared at the fence barking at us without any attempt by the guests in the farmhouse stopping it. It was even barking in the middle of the night. We were therefore pleased to be leaving the next day. Pity, but it's probably better if you go with a dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Other people's dogs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Hello Audry, Thank you for taking time to review Ghillie's Cottage at Rivercatcher. I'm so pleased you had a lovely time and you enjoyed our Riverside location. I'll pass your comments onto Aled, who is loved by our Guests for being so helpful and friendly.
With regards to the dog that wouldn't stop barking I can only apologies for this disturbing your last day. In the nearly 2 years that we have been open we have had no trouble from our doggy guests and no complaints from guests regarding this matter. This was just so unlucky for you and very annoying to be the first, I'm sure. In this situation we would always approach our guests about the noise and ask them to consider others when such issues are reported.
I hope you have fond memories of your stay and can be reassured that this is not a regular occurrence. However I really do understand your frustration. Kind regards, Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway! Ghillies cottage”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

5 star cottage with everything you could need! Hot tub was fantastic with the perfect view of wildlife, river, and countryside! The cottage was very cozy especially when you can light the log fire. Meals can be eaten inside with a view of the river or outside with again a view of the river. Couldn't recommend this cottage enough for the perfect getaway break. Only 20mins drive to Bala and an hour drive to Portmeirion and Beddgelert.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage and cozyness of inside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LymmLife
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“5 Star - Idyllic Retreat ”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our second year at Ghillies Cottage and it is still the most wonderful, romantic, Idyllic Retreat we've stayed in. From the little touches of the welcome basket to the hot tub, fire, attention to detail and even meeting Alan (mainatance man) we've just had another amazing stay... If you're looking to completely get away from the world (no mobile phone reception ) then this is the perfect retreat. This time we tried the Thai take away from the local shop - for a take away at home this was absolutely delicious and the vegetable spring rolls are to die for... we can not recommended Rivercatcher enough and look forward to coming back to stay in a larger cottage with friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Myself, girlfriend and our Westie stayed the weekend of 26th February - 29th February. We cannot recommend it enough to anyone thinking of going. The setting of the cottage is beautiful and relatively easy to find, the cottage was of one of the highest standards we've stayed in. Upon arrival finding a small hamper with essentials and extras (wine, butter, eggs) was a really nice touch.

The only gripe we had was that there was only one toilet roll between two people for 3 nights so bring some with you. Although, not too much of a problem as there is a shop down the road or a co-op about 15 minutes drive.

We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hot tub, cleanliness
Liked least: couldn't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing