We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quality accommodation in a superb setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private garden & hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Private garden & hot tub
Local Welcome Basket
Spa treatments available
Bala White water rafting nearby
Snowdonia National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ljw47612
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation in a superb setting”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ghillie's Cottage ticked every box for a relaxing self catering break; a really well equipped cottage with a gorgeous view and access to the river. All of our needs were catered for; the hot tub and log burner were very welcome when it rained and the weather turned cold. The cottage was spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. Highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation
Liked least: The weather :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally K
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in a beautiful cottage, surrounded by breathtaking scenery”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two days at Rivercatcher for our honeymoon. It was a beautiful setting - peaceful and relaxing, and well worth a visit.

The cottage was exceptionally clean and well presented and the owners have created a very welcoming feel, with personal touches to the cottage and a fantastic welcome basket of local goodies.

The hot tub was a definite must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaG1...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked mid November as a birthday treat for Simon. He was overjoyed. The property was beautifully layed put, with great care to keep to Welsh product. Quality is unsurpassed. The hot tub went down a treat after I dragged him out for a walk to the aqueduct ;-)
Best yet from my point of view, my dogs were allowed and was safe in an enclosed garden. We will definitely return for this delightful property & its amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelly239...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot rate this place highly enough. I booked Rivercatcher as a surprise for my girlfriend for our anniversary and I'm so glad I did.
The cottage was immaculate and I couldn't find a single fault. It was lovely arriving after a long drive to find a great welcome basket in the kitchen and fresh milk in the fridge. We hadn't even thought of bringing simple things like tea or coffee but this was all provided too!
The hot tub was fabulous and the fire made the cottage so cosy in the evenings.
The surroundings were stunning. We were lucky to have brilliant weather the whole time we were there which made it even better.
It was great being able to read the guest books and get tips from other guests, as I hadn't researched much of the area. We spent a day at Barmouth (about 35miles from Rivercatcher) which was lovely in the sunshine. We also climbed Snowdon for the first time! We're not big walkers so went for the "easy" Llanberis Path (about an hours drive from Rivercatcher). The views from the top are incredible. I would encourage anyone to do it. And relaxing in the hot tub back at the cottage after was perfect!
We also stopped at Pistyll Rhaeadr (highest waterfall in Wales and England). Would also highly recommend this!
We met Aled (the Rivercatcher "maintenance man"). He was lovely to chat too and obviously knew the area really well.
We had a perfect few days away at Rivercatcher and we will definitely be back, hopefully sometime this year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LymmLife
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Totally spoilt!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow!! Where do I start? The cottage was so delightful and the attention to detail is simply overwhelming. The finishing touches, welcome basket, fire, hot tub and beautiful surrounding is stunning. Our stay could not have been any more perfect, especially with the hot tub after an afternoon of white water rafting!
We loved it so much that we have already booked to go back next year. There are only amazing things that we can say about this place and can't thank Rivercatcher enough for treasured memories of such a wonderful and romantic weekend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire and hot tub
Liked least: Nothing as we loved it all.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing