We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage, Location and Lovely People.”
other travellers have booked this property
Decking and picnic table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Decking and picnic table
Outside Cottage View from Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Decking and picnic table
Outside Cottage
View from Cottage
Lounge area.
Kitchen
Bedroom
Shower room.
Secure bike / sporting accessory storage
Bala Lake foreshore.
Bala Lake and Narrow Gauge Railway.
Sunset over Llyn Tegid / Bala Lake.
The Aran Mountain.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hiscoe660
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outdated”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This property looks good from the pictures provided however you get a total different it
when your there. On arrival was unsure if we had the right cottage as it look different from the pictures provided, the grass and garden was over grown and although the cottage says pet friendly you couldn't really relax due to having to check where the dogs were there is a get at the property but was sure if we could close it or not. There garden of the cottage is over looked by the main house so not much privacy either. As for the inside of the property very out dated and felt damp,

The bedroom,

The bedroom furniture had seen better days and the carpet was dirty and stained looking around the bedroom there was cobwebs and spiders behind the wardrobes and draws and on the ceiling and you could tell this wasn't really cared for and cleaned as it should be.

The bathroom,
The bathroom seemed ok but again the spiders where alive and kicking there was an infestation of spiders in this cottage there was not very much light going into this room as due to the over grown brambles at the back of the cottage one night I had to mop up water that seemed to be coming through the outside wall of the cottage.

The living Room/kitchen/dining,

This area of the property would be the most used however felt very enclosed the kitchen was not a fully equipped kitchen from my understanding,

The table in the living was dirty Ie it was a drop down table and there was alsorts of food and dust and dirt in the crack of the table join,

Final thought.

The property was very much out of date and dark fun clean and in loved to make this property much better al it needs is take in God the rental market and giving some quick fixes. And by quick fixes

A new lick of paint through out the hole cottage a nice brilliant white.
New lighting
Take away the table and chairs and put another sofa in
A new mattress and bedding with mattress and pillow protectors.
Sort the spiders out.
New matching curtains that are not see through,through out the cottage.
Make it more like a home from home

The garden

Make a barrier between the main house and the cottage ie a picket fence and a gate so if someone has a dog they can let them out you have 2 bits of garden to the cottage tidy the garden to the right of the cottage and and that would be perfect for pet owners and would make it more pet friendly.

the welcome pack should always been display so have this ready on the side for when your customers arrive it really would help them a lot when it comes to knowing what they can and can't do.

Overall this could be a lovely place to stay if the work was put in too make it a nice place.

At the moment I wouldn't recommend this property improve it

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The main garden to the cottage once it was maintained half way through are stay
Liked least: The cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your review- we have been able to respond to your comments over the winter period. This includes installing new double glazed windows, new beds /mattresses and bedding, new mechanical extractor fan in kitchen and a general upgrade including re-decorating / soft furnishings etc. A trellis partition has been set up to provide some privacy from the main house .The electric meter has been removed so all electrical and heating costs are included."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sbamck
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cottage, Location and Lovely People.”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

One of the best places I've stayed in Wales, Perfect location to explore Snowdonia, and situated amongst beautiful scenery. The owners are incredible, really helpful and friendly. I really appreciated that they were so accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay really enjoyable. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanettec...
Llandovery, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great time in Bala”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A very nice place to stay. Very central to most of the attractions of northern Wales, but in particular the Snowden National park. We were very lucky and had a week of glorious weather which really made our stay very attractive. The place was very adequate for our stay with the owners very attentive to our needs

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the central location
Liked least: The parkiing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage,lovely people,lovely area,specially if interested in n/g railways.”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Nicely situated near Bala, ideal if you are interested in the railways of Wales, all within 11/2 hours drive from Bala. ,The cottage is well appointed, everything is supplied, the only item I missed from home was a freezer section in the fridge, but otherwise a little home from home.
The owners are very friendly, and very helpful, only too pleased to answer any questions.
Off road parking for a car, (in full view of the cottage), nice outdoor seating, for eating out in the garden, or taking in the evening sun!
Would stay there again, in fact saving up for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area,the friendliness of the people
Liked least: Only one,no freezer compartment in the fridge.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well appointed and good location for sight-seeing.”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On arrival was warmly greeted by the owners.
I had previously advised them that I am Registered Disabled and the owners immediately offered me a parking space nearer than usual to the property, moving their own cars to a less favourable position. They also fashioned an extra step to help me negotiate the single 8 inch step to the property.
I found that the property was well equiped with a good supply of everything needed regards cooking utensils/crockery and bedding. The furniture in the lounge/kitchen area was of good standard and comfortable, as were the beds.
The property is close to the small town of Bala where I could buy everything I needed for my stay.
I would definately consider staying there again.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing