We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
82
112
72
24
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
112
72
24
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelsea viewalfa coachturkey tinselrefurbished roompublic areasmeal timeslarge bathroomleisureplex hotelssea frontgood sizeevery eveningon arrivalentertainment every nightsingle roomtea or coffeebed linen
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were lucky to have had a recent 2 day stay at the Seabank Hotel! We found the Staff really welcoming and friendly. Our room was spotless and very cosy. From the window we had a wonderful view of the coast. There was an excellent choice of meals both for breakfast and for evening meal- all very tasty and well presented. Our waitress, 'Hayley' was charming and so helpful. The service was A1 and Staff very well organised.
We found the serving staff good humoured and that enhanced our stay also. We look forward to returning By the way, this was our second visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with a sea view!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Marian1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Had an overnight stay at the seabank on Wednesday (28/03) We used a groupon voucher and had a lovely stay at a bargain price. The deal included a twin room, full British breakfast and a four course dinner. We paid an extra £8 for a seaview room and it was so worth it. Our room had french doors that opened up to a small room with a bow window which had two comfy chairs and a table, perfect to enjoy the glorious vista. The room itself was really nice and the bathroom had been refurbished to a high standard with included a large corner shower. There were large fluffy towels and a range of toiletries which met all our needs. The hospitality tray had tetley tea bags and maxwell house coffee sachets. So nice to have quality products.

The restaurant was very comfortable with white tablecloths and quality cutlery. The waiting staff were super friendly despite being extremely busy. The evening meal was very tasty with large portions. We had tomato and basil soup, followed by roast pork and all the trimmings, my partner had a black forest gateau with cream and I had a selection of cheese and biscuits. This was followed by a pot of coffee. First class food and service. There was entertainment which looked good, but we preferred to sit in one of the quiet lounges and then go for a walk on the sea front. The room was really comfortable and quiet ensuring a good night,s sleep.

Breakfast was just about okay, there were fruit juices and grapefruit segments which were nice and fresh. However, the full British breakfast was what let the dining experience down. It was plentiful, but it was not fresh and therefore, the egg was rubbery if fact it was inedible, and the bacon and sausage tasted fatty as can happen when a breakfast is kept hot for too long. The waiting staff were again great. So all in all we had a fantastic stay, and would have given it a 5 rating but for the breakfast. However, it was still excellent value, and we would return and recommend it. Finally a big thank you to Libby on reception who was very efficient and accommodating.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms well worth the supplement
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gwenllian812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

we recently returned from an alfa coach tour to the south wales resort of porthcawl. we had a beautiful refurbished room, light wood furniture , wallmounted tv, dressing table, very hot water almost instantly even though we were on the top floor. we didnt ask for a sea view room as so little time is spent in the room. spotlessly cleaned on arrival with the largest bath towels i have ever seen as well as hand towels and a bath mat,snow white too. if you want a really quiet room ask for 319, its at the back but suited us fine.

the food was nicely prepared and presented and a good selection for breakfast and evening dinner. the entertainment was really good for the 5 nights we stayed. The trips to Mumbles and Swansea, and the guided commentary by coach around cardiff bay, prior to your " Time to do your own thing " was excellent. there are so many little
arcades and unusual small shops, i have never seen so many coffee-shops. huge shopping centre has the usual outlets that we are all accustomed to but there are other things to see if shopping isnt what you like to do. its a bit odd seeing a marina right in the town centre but worth walking over the flyover to see the 2 old tug-boats.
our driver wayne was a fountain of knowledge being from wales himself., and he was an incredible driver, knowing the back road routes when we would have been in two long delays due to motorway hold-ups. another thing we both commented on was the huge lack of POT HOLES in that part of wales, in fact we didnt see ANY. so would we recommend this hotel, coach company and porthcawl? YES WE WOULD. The hotel frontage is the middle of refurbishment but dont let that put you off, its fine indoors and they are working every day that the weather is allowing to complete the makeover.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank emjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

After being told where our seat was and finding a grubby dirty table. filthy conduments cups etc out of date sauces we had to ask about service after being totally ignored for 20 minutes I'm scared to think what the kitchen is like!. We were that shocked with the awful dried salad greasy breaded mushrooms which 1 of mine didn't contain a mushroom we left to eat somewhere else in porthcawl as I was too apprehensive to eat in the restaurant. I was refused a vegetarian option as u didn't ask for it this morning!. Check in was not till 3pm. So how was this possible?

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thomas2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

As the result of severe weather on our way to Newquay coach driver Francis was told to go Porthcawl Seabank Hotel for emergency one night. The hotel staff pulled out all the stops in a matter of a few hours. On arrival a very warm welcome. The hotel was first class, room was spacious and very comfortable, food and entertainment very good. We left next morning hoping we could stay another night. Thanks to Alfa and the hotel team and our driver Francis. Certainly will go back to stay

Room Tip: Room 306 perfect for a solo traveller, double bed and spacious
Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews