We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Villa, so relaxing you'll not want to...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Makambu and surroundings Villa Makambu and surroundings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Mezzanine in the upper level unit
The mezzanine
Bedrrom with ensuite bathroom with extra large double shower
Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with double shower
Ensuite bathroom with double shower
Outside living on large verandas
Marigot Bay
Myranda and Carlos our exceptional staff!!!
Pascale and Franz the owners
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JulieS420
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Villa, so relaxing you'll not want to leave!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just would like everyone to know the owner, manager, grounds keeper and housekeeper are all admirable people. If you are looking for a place where you can kick back, relax and celebrate life, Villa Makambu is just the place. We stayed in the upper level and the view is breath taking day and night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TK-Sask
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation rental”
Reviewed 20 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We just got back from St. Lucia and had the privilege of staying at Villa Makambu for 12 days. Due to availability when we booked, we ended up splitting our stay between both the lower and upper level, which gave us the chance to experience both units. I can only echo the previous reviews already written and agree that this is a wonderful vacation rental with fantastic views, a quiet atmosphere, spacious and comfortable accommodations on both levels. I would also recommend renting a car to give you the freedom to come and go as you please and to see the island on your own schedule. I walked the local roads everyday and walked down to Marigot Bay a few times with no difficulty but this would not be for everyone unless you are a regular walker or are somewhat physically fit. You certainly could get by with taking cabs to get groceries and seeing sites, but we were glad we had a vehicle. The main highway is in very good shape, narrow compared to North American standards, but very good pavement. The transition to driving a right-hand-drive car on the left side of the road was easy, and the constant curves in the road keeps everyone driving at a slow enough speed to be able to easily react to anything that might pop up. St. Lucians honk to say hi, not to indicate you've done something wrong. There really is no real close beaches to access if that is your thing, but many you can drive to which also supports the rental car recommendation. Fisherman's cove, about a 10 minute walk down the road, is very secluded and quiet and has a small dock, a bit of sand and shady areas, decent snorkelling, but is rocky so water shoes are must for wading in to go swimming. We too enjoyed the beach at Ti Kaye Village and went there several times ($5 US each for chair and umbrella for the day), Vigi beach at Castries is a very nice long sandy beach great for walking, very scenic, lots of surf etc.. We saw a lot of the island and for us, Marigot Bay was the best location for quiet, scenery, and relaxation as it is removed from the large resort areas. The boats in the bay were fantastic, everything from local fishermen and water taxis to multi million dollar yachts. Overall a fantastic trip, and a great rental spot. Pascale is very prompt with email correspondence and was a pleasure to deal with. Her local managers that look after you are the owner's of Villa Pomm'e D'Amour and they are fantastic and make sure you are well looked after while you are there. Make sure these two Villas are on your short list when choosing a place in St. Lucia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: New building, quiet location, the views
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jftripper
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No hesitation to stay again!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very relaxed and pampered stay at Villa Makambu.

Pascale, the owner, is a delightful host who anticipates what you would like and can recommend your every need. Carlos, who helps out for all general things, is the perfect gentlemen who can provide all the local needs you might have.

The villa we were in was on the lower floor and has large comfortable rooms, fantastic bathrooms with enormous walk in showers and all the amenities you need. Add in a lovely private terrace with fantastic views of Marigot Bay, a large pool with plenty of chairs to relax in and a large terrace with further views of Marigot Bay. Absolute pleasure!

We decided to have a BBQ one evening just for ourselves and Carlos set it all up and surprised us by providing his own cooked starter for us! Delicious.

Do take the boat trip that Carlos offers, snorkeling in beautiful bays and visitng many locations.

Do take the advice of Pascale and hire a 4 wheel drive car. It helps you get access to remote places in the island but also makes it easier to get to Villa Makambu. Its a stony road up to the Villa which is easy to drive up to, but helps with a 4 wheel drive. The views reward you!

Enjoy the experience of this wonderful location, wonderful hosts and a wonderful island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, View, Perfect Villa, Clean Villa, Great Pool, Fantastic Hosts
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green4eva
Rosetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Gorgeous New Villa....Amazing Views !!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We, 2 couples rented the lower level of the Villa, using 2 of the 3 bedrooms. The home is exactly as the pictures show...absolutely gorgeous ! Bedrooms are large w king size beds and mosquito netting, one bedroom has an ensuite bathroom,and there is large main bathroom. The kitchen is well stocked, there is a huge table for dining at..furniture is all new. There are lots of towels, beach towels as well, so need to take your own.

The pool is good for cooling off in, as it gets very hot laying on the pool chairs when the sun is shining.Carlos is always cleaning the leaves out of it, so it was lovely and clean.You can not see homes from here, but there are none right beside the Villa, so you have lots of privacy. We could hear the music at night from the bars down in Marigot Bay though because it was so quiet.

We had dinner one night at Doolittle's, and another at Chateau Mygo, both were very good. We had a rental SUV, so we drove down and back..you could probably walk down if you didn't have a vehicle, but you would want to take a taxi back up if you were coming back up at night. There is a BBQ, and briquettes at the villa if you wanted to BBQ there.

The landscaping is beautiful, and Carlos is always working on it, keeping it maintained. The view from the Villa is stunning...looking down on Marigot Bay, and out to the ocean.

We went to Ti Kaye beach to snorkel one day, and this was a great decision, as the current does not try to pull you out, and the water is fairly shallow to snorkel in. We saw lots of fish, the beach is nice..not much shade though..there is also a bar, of course, to get drinks and food. I had a Rum Punch there at Happy Hour..2 for 1...wow !! lots of rum in that drink !! Ti Kaye was about a half hour away, well worth the drive.

We also went to Castries one afternoon to the Market, and dinner..it is probably about a half hour the other direction.

There are a set of binoculars in the Villa, which was nice for looking at the ships and sailboats on the ocean, and dice and Yahtzee score pads so you can play a game in the evening if you want.

I will say that if you are not getting picked up by the owners or Carlos, that I would suggest that you not try to navigate the road up there with a car. We were driving a small SUV, and we were happy we were..parts of the road are quite steep, have large potholes and rocks. When we went, there was no sign at the Villa, but will probably have one by now.....signs up the hills where you turn.

I would highly recommend it ...we hated to leave !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the pool, the villa itself.
Liked least: The road to get there.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_and_E_1...
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay in St Lucia!!!”
Reviewed 2 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Where do I begin? Villa Makambu, Marigot Bay and St Lucia exceeded every expectation during our 8 day stay. Villa Makambu was finished ~December 2011, so we were some of the lucky first guests. We also had an opportunity to meet Pascale (owner) and her friend while we visited and formed a lasting friendship with them. Rest assured you are doing business with amazing, truly one of a kind people. Pascale and her husband Franz live in Canada, but travel down to St Lucia quite often.

Villa Makambu has 2 buildings that share a pool between them. Building A (for the sake of conversation) has 2 levels that are rented out for guests while building B is where ‘Carlos’ stays full time. Carlos is a native Lucian that takes care of the property. He is also available for boat tours around the island. He offered to drop us off/pick us up at private beach, or have an ‘all day’ tour with multiple beaches, snorkeling, shopping, you name it. He asks what you want to do, and makes it happen. It was so nice having Carlos around, because he knows the island and the people inside and out. The people of St Lucia are EXTREMELY friendly, but it was nice having Carlos as your ‘tour guide’ as he is very respected on the island. Pascale and Franz are lucky to have him.

Villa Makambu: We knew it would be nice, but we were amazed at the level of detail that was put into this property. Easy to see that Franz and Pascale are in the construction industry back in Canada. We stayed on the upper-level of ‘Building A’ and I would highly recommend this (if it is available). The views from the upper level are spectacular, and you have an additional ‘loft’ area that has a sitting area, tv and bed. Our villa had a full kitchen that we stocked with food from the local grocery store (we were shocked to see how ‘American’ the grocery options were). There are 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (that include gorgeous walk-in showers), tv area and a huge balcony complete with furniture. Not a detail was spared. Each bedroom had large doors that opened up to Marigot Bay. The doors and built-in cabinets are all made from local wood. There is a shared, saltwater pool that was always quiet. We never felt like we needed more space from Carlos or the other guests (lower level). Carlos gave us plenty of space during our stay, but was there when we needed him.

Driving in St Lucia: ‘Smally’, (their recommended taxi driver) was there to pick us up from the airport. He was extremely nice and had lots to share with us about the island during our hour long drive from the airport to the villa. He is also available for tours of the island by car. Prices vary by what you are looking to do. St Lucia roads feel like a roller coaster. Right turn, left turn, up, down. We chose to skip the rental car as the locals do drive pretty aggressively on these small roads and we simply didn’t feel comfortable. Depending upon your shape, I would recommend a rental car getting up to the villa. It is on a hill overlooking Marigot Bay. My wife and I are 28, so we were able to handle the 15 minute walk up and down the steep roads.

Marigot Bay: Unreal. Bring a good camera! It was awesome to see the ships sail in from around the world. You have an opportunity to sit down by the docks and meet a lot of great people. Everyone is very friendly. A trip to St Lucia isn’t complete without a bottle of ‘Piton’ beer on the docks of Marigot Bay.

Beaches: There are plenty of private beaches along the coast of St Lucia that Carlos can drop you off at for a couple hours. Every beach in St Lucia is available regardless if it is in front of a resort. Some resorts require a fee to ‘rent’ a chair.

Currency: I didn’t find a single place during our 8 day stay that didn’t accept US currency. Most every place accepts major credit cards as well. If using US cash, they convert at $1US = $2.50EC for easy math’s sake instead of the current $1US = $2.68EC. You are technically best off paying the 3% fee (in most cases) that your credit card company charges to convert the currency. And you don’t have to carry around a wad of cash.

Recommendations:
-All day water taxi with Carlos to Jalousie (white sand) between the Pitons, snorkeling along the way. You can catch a taxi in Soufriere that will take you up to the water falls, mud baths, gardens, etc.
-Rent a 4x4 car if you plan to explore the island every day, or are in less than good shape (to make it up the hill from the bay to the villa). You can easily hire Smalley or Carlos and walk like we did.
-Chateau Mygo in the bay for Pizza and Pitons. Enjoy the open air while ships sail in right next to you.
-Be sure to tip Carlos, Smalley and the locals. St Lucia is a 3rd world country and they all rely on the tourism industry.
-Relax and enjoy your time!

Thank you Pascale for all the great memories. I already have recommend Villa Makambu to friends. We hope to be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the balcony and great people.
Liked least: Roads in St Lucia
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing