We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We never wanted to leave!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pelican House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pelican House
DSC00479.JPG GL3D2971
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Pelican House
DSC00479.JPG
GL3D2971
bedroom
small bedroom
Sun room
Tram
kitchen
Dining area
Sitting area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colleen M
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
“We never wanted to leave!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We decided on Pelican House for our St. Lucia trip based on all of the five star reviews, but were just a little bit apprehensive. Could this place be as great as everyone says? I can emphatically say: yes! It is just as lovely, comfortable, and unforgettable as you could hope. The setting is beautiful, really one of the loveliest places we've ever been. The people are amazing, just incredilby friendly locals; we hugged at least three or four people when leaving, and that was after staying for only a little over a week! I can't say enough great things about the island, about the people, and about Pelican House.

The pictures don't really do justice to the beautiful view from the house. The open air living arrangment is really fantastic and every morning when we walked out of our bedroom, we couldn't believe how lucky we were to get to stay here. I was worried about no air conditioning in a tropical setting, but the breeze from the bay, the intermittent quick rain showers, and the ceiling fans kept us from getting too hot. I was also worried about mosiquitos, but Jim made sure to have bug spray available for us to spray the bedrooms each night, and at least two bedrooms included mosquito netting, so we didn't really have any problems as long as we were vigilant. Also be aware that the restaurants in Marigo Bay can be pretty expensive. The local shacks on the beach were the best deal, and we ended up cooking at home most nights. The Saturday market in Castries was a great place to get food for the week and the kitchen was well-stocked with whatever equipment we needed.

Jim was very helpful as was everyone else in the process of getting to and staying at the house, especially Smalley, the driver, who was incredibly accomodating when one of our party got sick and we needed to reschedule our tour of the island last minute. We would have stayed longer if we could, and definitely plan on being back. I can't recommend Pelican House enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the people
Liked least: Wifi could be a bit spotty
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou V
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Anniversary in a Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Pelican House is Paradise!”

Pelican House is the perfect tropical get away for all types of travelers! Whether you're a SCUBA diver, a water enthusiast, or just want to relax, Pelican House provides privacy while having several amenities nearby. We celebrated our 2nd anniversary here and loved the home and island. The open-air layout of the house, the spectacular view of Marigot Bay and the unique tram that drops you right at the front door, makes this house a must stay place in St. Lucia. Compared to other locations on the island, Marigot Bay is quiet with less activity. That's what we like! The diving was great and Scuba Steve picked us up at the local dock. No need to travel to them. The local food was delicious and everyone on the island was so polite, friendly and helpful. Take advantage of Smally, the taxi driver for a variety of tours, or rent a car and explore. Pelican House is everything that Jim and Gail said it was. We would recommend Pelican House to anyone visiting St. Lucia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tropical environment
Liked least: Getting around the island
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DannyboyH...
hood river
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shangri-La house rated one of the BEST in Caribbean. It's Paradise A+”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Donna and I stopped 2 times at Marigot Bay while on 9 caribbean cruises….. We agreed it was rated the most scenic location of the Caribbean so, we skipped the cruise and rent ed Pelican House for two weeks.
****Hands-down the Pelican House is best vacation we ever had.***

The bay’s natural scenery is to die for. Daily it captivates visitors showing yet another tropical feature of the abundance of the huge sweeping Caribbean view from Pelican House veranda decks of Marigot Bay(:Ma-ree Go", it’s a french name). While we lounged, red, or soaked in sunshine of the a real life daily in paradise from the front porch. It was right here….swimming beach, hiking trails, sailing, snorkeling, and adventure in the front yard.
Speaking of Movies: Did you know that Pirates of Caribbean, The BACHELOR TV show( returned a second time for final episodes), Sports Illustrated Swim Suit Issue Front Page 2014, and Dr. Doolittle with Rex Harrison. ALL RIGHT around Marigot Bay. Towering Palm Trees, soft trade winds, wonderful swimming beach, friendly people, reasonable prices and true tropical caribbean buildings makes it amazing for atmosphere and relaxing.

Did you know that the North side of Marigot Bay has NO ROADS so Pelican House is very secluded. The building of Doolittle’s resort, Oasis Resort and Pellican House constructed by village folks bringing all the materials over by 100’s of short boat trips. St. Lucians offer-up to tell their tales of town pitching in boating and packing the supplies. A formidable undertaking. Today still, two outboard pirogue skiffs, operated by Doolittle and a private ferry, tender passengers one and all continiously all day, 3minuet sback and forth, customers & employees to dockside at set of Dr. Doolittle ….. a mystical trip from a busy world to "Shangri-la".

Pelican House looks out at some mighty prime Caribbean real estate: Sophia Loren, George Foreman, Mick Jagger, Opera, bay view homes nestled into the lush hillside. The show is delightful from daylight to dusk: Catamarans colorful pirogue boats (runabout outboard boats), luxury yachts, sail boats, dugouts, and the chatter of tropical birds happy bathers. The Pelican House difference is a richly colorful Caribbean decor with added open space of natural wood, pastels of local artists are represented in artwork masks, color blends, murals. Vivid pigments of the Caribbean culture draws you in. Pelican House is straight out of the real caribbean. It’s what the Caribbean experience is all about. So, good that we'd just sit and take in the scenery. "WHY go anywhere when it's right here!? We been wasting our time cruising"

really cool IS: You can buy an unlimited water taxi to go from the marina to Pelican house and all around the bay for 14 bucks for two weeks. Riding water taxi reminded me of the movie African Queen.Here I am, down to earth in paradise …. it feels great. Ahhh, no agenda, sunset magazine scenery, it's laid back …. "grows on ya”.
There is this guy they call “santa”: With a red SANTA cap in a 10 foot dugout kayak loaded with freshly gathered bananas and grapefruit he paddles from sailboat, to yacht customers selling his fresh fruit. Now that makes a breakfast not soon forgotten. 120 varieties of bananas are grown on St. Lucia.

Some Good stuff to know: Pelican house is perched ideally for a private bird’s-eye view of the drop dead sunsets while manicured walkways and lawns terrace down to the sugar-beach movie site of Dr Doolittle including the lively bustle of the bay’s “goings-ons”.

There are all all levels of restaurants right handy from the Pelican House. You can ave a great Hamburger at the Marina and take in multi million Yachts as they provision, there is a bank, grocery store, water taxi, regular taxi, local artists and Oniel the carver. OR... TripAdvisor as the number one restaurant in Marigot Bay and now the Caribbean: Rainforest Hideaway. Other places to eat are, Julietta’s, JJ’s, Rowly’s, Bouddreau,Hurricane Hole, and Doolittles Restaurant. AND... if you just want solitude and to take in the ambiance of the true caribbean, you can do like Donna and I did, we cooked our meals in the full kitchen at the Pelican House (microwave, stove, excellent coffee brewer, blender, refigerator/freezer (ice cubes), pots n pans, dishes, utensils, dining tables, chairs, screened areas, dutch doors, and a sun deck. There's dozens of books and magazines as well as 110 plug adapter. St. Lucia is on the 220v British voltage/plug system but, the Burchett's have thought of everything and we got by nicely. Each bedroom has a ceiling fan, variable light, shower, bath room, closet space, comfortable beds and all this is with a view that’s world-class.
If ooking for yourself, then you need to make a GRUB trip to the grocery store to stock up, beer, pop, juice, bread veggies. There is a megafoods and IGA supermarket in Casteries, IGA in Cul de sac, and Rodney Bay. Smally the taxi driver, Alex the water Taxi, or Julietta the maid has a person that can shop.

IMPORTANT: Never agree on any taxi trip, porter, tour, rental or anything without this golden!
RULE: "always determine TOTAL price". First. BEFORE you go. Capish?


Our MUST DO trip of them all on the island is a day with SPENCER AMBROSE 5 to 6 hours.
758-721-8844 Sspencer7114@gmail.com. Call him and arrange to be picked up at the dock in Marigot Bay in one of his 38 foot twin 300hp Mercury Verado boats for a tour, of the Island coast, lunch at the world famous Jalouse Beach, Pitons, Bat Cave. We have been 3 or 4 times. $85 us per person. At the end of the tour, he drops you off back at Marigot Bay at your door step. Oh what a trip to remember.

Julette is the Pelican House maid and can help with any and all questions. She is a dandy cook to as she fills in at Julietta’s Resturant (not the owner). Every other word is a smile from Julettia John. Another MUST DO is to have Oneil carve you out a humming bird feeder or parrot… He is a true master carver that has taught carving at most of the schools. He will get the coconut from the palm tree in your front yard and then the magic begins as he sits down and begins.

We found that texting was cheap with AT&T and the Pelican House has a land phone there for local calls. Next door is the Oasis Marigot where they are most helpful with tour information and local activities. VERY HELPFULL.
Like mentioned above there is EVERYTHING provided to make a stay at the Pelican House memorable. There are beach towels, swim fins, clean linens, bbq grill, hammock, Sunsets, crickets, books, security on the grounds, excellent pathways, and an elevator/escelator tram that takes the strain out of going to and from Pelican House. The owners have a very good notebook of tips, phone numbers, places to visit, and suggestions on things to do. They have gone the extra mile to make the Pelican House guest feel at home and have FUN. And it is a fun place.
WELL DONE JIM AND GAIL BURCHETT. We give you a “10”!! Yes, we are going back again, we could have stayed longer… pelican house, It grows on ya.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Caribbean decor and welcome feeling of the Pelican House.
Liked least: Having to leave so soon!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
momof308
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The previous review gives an excellent description of Pelican House - the pictures on the website really don't adequately convey the villa's charm.

My husband, young teenage son and college-age son just returned from spending a fabulous week there. We've rented places in Costa Rica, Mexico and a couple of other Caribbean islands, and all agree that Pelican House is one of our favorites. Unless you are looking for a lot of big resort action/looking after, Marigot Bay is the perfect location on St. Lucia: it's breathtakingly beautiful (the views from Pelican House can't be beat) and has a nice mix of vacationers, locals and those lucky folks who have the time & means to sail the seas. We had a great time watching the yachts sail out in the morning and return before sunset.

The owners were very helpful in providing information about the villa, car rentals, recommending a great scuba company (Scuba Steve's), arranging a porter to meet us, arranging for Julietta to clean, etc. The villa was impeccably clean on arrival - the fresh flowers were a very nice touch. Johnson went through the house with us to show us where everything was and recommended spraying the bedrooms early in the evening to get rid of any pesky mosquitoes. There is no a/c but I'm pretty certain no islander has a/c and manages - the ceiling fans were fine. We were without power twice during the week (once b/c of a storm) but there is a hand crank flashlight available and we just ate out rather than cooking in on those occasions.

We loved having to take the 'ferry' across the bay or to some of the restaurants - definitely adds to the charm of the location, and makes you SLOW DOWN. Ditto the tram - it's faster to walk, but after a long day of exploring/diving, sometimes it was worth the wait.

One point to make is that the restaurants on the bay are somewhat on the pricey side - good food though. Actually, any restaurant that tends to cater to tourists will be somewhat pricey. That being said, make sure you always have a plentiful supply of cash on hand; we always seemed to be running short. On 3 occasions gas stations/restaurants cc machines weren't working. All of the admission to hiking trails, the volcano, Pigeon Island, venders, parking, chair rentals on beaches, etc. ONLY take cash.

All in all, this was a fabulous vacation and a perfect place to stay. We loved the open air concept of the living area and never used the screened area. What could be better than having your morning coffee or evening drink, watching the sun come up or sink into the sea, while sitting in paradise. Miss it already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: can hear the music on weekends from Doolittles and Wednesdays from the community 'Crab Night'
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;