We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury views with less luxury accommodation, but a great vacation”
Review of Oasis Marigot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oasis Marigot
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Luxury views with less luxury accommodation, but a great vacation”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had a very enjoyable holiday in the Vacation Club villas and then moved to the Caribbean Blue Suite. I was concerned the Vacation Club villas would be noisy as ours was with several closely grouped together, but in fact it was very quiet. The pool was seldom in use. The "beach" is just 160 or so (!) steps below the villas. (NB a small sandy area, with fair access for swimming but not the sweeping caribbean beaches you see in all the brochures) Beach loungers are free to use and although there are beach traders, polite and firm requests to be left alone do seem to be respected. The Vacation Club villa was clean and tidy, although the shower room was cramped and had no water pressure. The internet access, although wifi, is extremely slow so get any mission critical work finished before you go! The "sunday morning briefing" is worth going to, but the team could benefit from smartening up their verbal presentation and at least having a list of what they must discuss every week - there is a difference between relaxed and chaotic! Dolittles restaurant is not part of this group, but conveniently located between the villas and the beach. We ate there on our first evening - very slow (even by Caribbean standards) and really bad singing, although the food was good. Breakfast the next morning was dreadful - 45 minute wait for eggs and toast and a horrific bill - we never went back. The Caribbean Blue Suite was very quiet, private and romantic and the views gets a 5*rating - truly outstanding. You are essentially on the same plot of land as the larger Emerald/Cliff top house, but you can only hear each other if there is lots of fun and laughter in the pools so not a problem (both have private entrances and amenities). The Caribbean Blue Suite is compact, but just fine for 2 people. Superficially it is tidy and presentable, but the whole place could do with a very thorough spring clean and many of the kitchen utensils and pans have seen better days.
For both properties: you don't need a car if you don't want to leave Marigot Bay, but you do need to be able to walk up a steep hill for a good 15 minutes to get back to the Caribbean Blue Suite from the Marigot Bay beach. The local mini supermarket in Marigot Bay (Marina Village) is useful if you are desperate for supplies, but it is worth taking a taxi to the Super J supermarket and stocking up if you are planning to self cater. Choice and price in the supermarket were surprizingly disappointing. The guest services team from Oasis are available for advice and bookings from both properties. They were helpful and reliable, except that we were aware that licensed taxis on the island have a blue number plate - on more than one occassion, guest services arranged "private cars" for us (without telling us in advance). Although they were comparable on price, the one that arrived with no functioning seat belts was the last straw! The house manager (not Oasis team) for the Caribbean Blue Suite itself was friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.
If you are thinking of a rental in Marigot Bay, then you are thinking about something a little different to the standard chain hotel/all inclusive experience. A few words of advice - slow down a few gears before you get there, lower your expectations on luxury if you have had seriously good vacations before, purchase a week long ferry ticket to travel the 40 seconds between the north and south sides of the bay, accept that you are seen as a source of income by locals, wear lots of sun lotion and mosquito repellant and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeedaholidayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    116
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
68
253
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The novelist James Michener described Marigot Bay as "the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean," and Oasis Marigot has the most beautiful view! We spent the week before Thanksgiving in 2011 there, and it was heaven . . . at a most affordable price.

The two level villas are free standing, very quiet, with a deck that stretches the width of the unit . . . and again that killer view. We spent most of our evenings, drinks in hand, with our jaws dropping (from the view, not the alcohol). :)

The staff was most pleasant and helpful, lining up some great snorkel dives, and the Bay also has lots of restaurants you can walk to. All in all, Five Stars!

Steve & Cathy Brody
Cambria, CA

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was absolutely the best vacation we have ever taken!! We stayed in one of the 2 story villas for 7 days then moved to the Ocean cottage for 3 more days. The villa had an awesome view of Marigot Bay, clean and spacious. The grounds were spectacular, it was like being in the rain forest. The staff was great our host Nahdjla, went above an beyond to assist us with our excursions and household needs. I would recommend taking advantage of the managers offer to do some shopping for you. There is a grocery across the bay but it is limited and a little more pricey. We took a water taxi to Castries to shop, which was fun, but couldn't bring back too many groceries. Dived with Dive Fair Helen, they were great. We would definitely go back again and again. Restaurants around the bay were great but J.J'S was the best, try jerk chicken with cristofen.

Room Tip: If you choose the Ocean Cottage try and get the upper room for the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Carribean Blue Villa in Marigot Bay. To say that this was the best vacation we have ever had is an understatement. The villa is perfect for a couple and we loved just relaxing in the pool overlooking the ocean (and I mean overlooking!) and sitting in chairs in the evening to view the exquisite sunset. The villa is at the top of the hill at the corner of the bay and the ocean with a view that cannot be beat and it is very private. The people are wonderful - the owner and housekeeper greeted us upon a late arrival, and were so gracious. We also did a 2 day private sail to the north and south of the island, which was the perfect way to see the local tourist spots. Definitely recommended! The one thing that is understated when renting this villa is the fact that you may hire a chef to come and make dinner for you. Definitely do this!! Joel is a wonderful chef, and we had the best dinner of the week prepared by him. We so enjoyed that evening! We are so glad we rented the villa instead of staying at a "big resort". It was the most romantic place to stay on the island as far as we were concerned and Marigot Bay is the definitely the place to stay on the island if you want a peaceful spot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We decided to try St. Lucia for our annual diving trip. Internet surfing led us to Dive Fair Helen and they recommended the Oasis Marigot on Marigot Bay. Everything was even better than we could have anticipated.
The Oasis Marigot is located on the far side of the bay - only accessible by boat. No road noise, no kids, no TV, very peaceful and quiet. Excellent accomodations - our Upper Ocean cottage was very private and overlooked the bay. We had a full kitchem but only ate breakfasts in our own place. We had lunch most days on the dive boat (the diving was excellent by the way!), and ate dinner at the 6 restaurants right around our bay - all of which had great local food. The guest services desk organized a number of day tours for us on non-diving days and we really enjoyed them - including a local fishing trip and a drive to the South of the island to see the volcano.

Room Tip: The Ocean cottages (upper level) were amazing. Huge outdoor deck overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smt499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
0.0 km away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
9.3 km away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
653 reviews
12.6 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.1 km away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
14.5 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Marigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Marigot

Property: Oasis Marigot
Address: 177 Seaview Avenue | Marigot Bay, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price range (per night): $174 - $362
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Marigot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oasis Marigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Marigot Hotel Marigot Bay
Oasis Marigot Bay
Oasis Marigot Hotel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing