We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Step into a little piece of paradise...”
Main house, view from poolside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main house, view from poolside
Elevated view from the beach Orchid Bay beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Main house, view from poolside
Elevated view from the beach
Orchid Bay beach
Garden Suite
Diamante Suite
Presidente Suite bath
Royal Palm Suite bath with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Samana Suite sits cliffside for stunning views
Sun bathing overlook
Diamonte Suite
Royal Palm bath
Hot tub view
Cliffside sitting area
Dining deck
Beachview from cliff
Beach view from cliff
Party-sized hot tub
Cliff side gazebo
Front of main house
Entrance
View from great room
Garden suites building
On the beach
Presidente living room and bar
Presidente and Piscina suites building
View from cliff looking towards the main area
Outdoor chess
garden Suite bedroom
Elevated walkway to Garden suites from main house
View as you drive in
Royal Palm bath
Presidente bath
Billiards and gaming area
Custom card table
Great room
Dining room
Diamonte suite
Hot tub verandah
Hot tub verandah
Beach overlook
Covered hot tub
Manana Bar, open on three sides
Manana bar
Wedding ceremony site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cabrera, Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather T
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Step into a little piece of paradise...”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Looking for a slice of serenity? Sunrise Villa gave us a winning combination of luxury and privacy for an intimate and memorable honeymoon experience. Bringing together the natural beauty of the Dominican beachfront, first-rate accommodations, along with unparalleled service from a stellar staff, our stay at Sunrise was exceptional.

Location - Nestled in the secure and exclusive gated community of Orchid Bay Estates in the quiet rural town of Cabrera, Sunrise Villa sits on a gorgeous beachfront property atop a sea cliff with spectacular views of the ocean coast. Although you never have to leave this tranquil and picturesque setting, Sunrise Villa is minutes away from the town core of Cabrera if you choose to explore the local culture, or take in a scenic dinner experience at the infamous Hotel Catalina. We highly recommend a stop at Flor Cafe - an amazing local restaurant situated among manicured gardens of orchids and exotic plants. The food is outstanding and the atmosphere is top-notch.

Accommodations - Elegantly decorated and meticulously maintained, Sunrise Villa offers an endless choice of spacious accommodations. You can choose from an array of beautifully appointed suites on the property, but we highly recommend the Samana Suite that offers discretely private accommodations, a spectacular patio deck with sweeping views of the ocean and its surrounding lush tropical landscape. Try the upscale outdoor shower by moonlight - it is an experience to remember.

Service - The entire staff at Sunrise provided impeccable first class service throughout our stay. Chris, Sunrise's Property Manager and a remarkable host, was extremely attentive to our needs and ensured we lacked nothing throughout our stay. Frank, the Villa's Chef, provided an assortment of delectable meals from morning to night, making sure we never went hungry. Let's not forget Ramon, Sunrise's entertaining bartender who makes your time at the Manana Bar a memorable one - from his thirst-quenching creations to his never-ending sunny disposition. Sandy, Rosa, Mariela, Vivi, Papito and Francesco tended to our every need. The entire staff provided the professionalism, responsiveness, and friendly atmosphere that make Sunrise Villa unique in its own right. Our conversations with Kevin, the owner, coupled with his responsiveness, flexibility, and friendly-nature reinforced our decision that Sunrise Villa would be the ultimate destination for our honeymoon retreat.

Exceptional in every way, Sunrise Villa exceeded all of our expectations. It encompasses everything for the most discerning traveler. We will return and highly recommend this little piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and staff
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dancing on the beach at night with a band and big fire.
Liked least: I could not stay, it was already rented.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
995tonyh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Heaven on earth! One week is not long enough.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The pictures do not do this comfortable magnificent retreat justice. The rooms on the beach with the outdoor showers were a dream. I had 4 wonderful massages on the porch of my suite. Our group had a great time in the pool and on 3 different beaches.

Ramon was a very charming and accommodating young man that made wonderful drinks and conversation.

Chris was very helpful and got everything we asked for and made great suggestions and arrangements for fishing and golf.

I was the organizer of the group and our group can't wait to be back at Sunrise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful comfortable grounds.
Liked least: Air conditioning in 3 of the rooms needed tweaking
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
If Trip Adviser allowed vacation home owners to rate guests these folks would receive 5 Stars!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
beenthere...
memphis
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property is awesome. Great views, in a very secluded private development. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There is a beach minutes away (the beach off the villa is not normally suitable for swimming). We had a great dinner out at La Catalina and two of us played golf one day. If you want something besides a pool there is not much else to do. We were not impressed with the food situation. We are accustomed to eating when we are hungry and ordering something we are hungry for. The villa serves up meals buffet style at set times. I would imagine the ocean breezes cool the villa most of the year, but not so at the end of June. Our room was very nice; but very hot most of our stay. They brought us fans and had the A/C checked out and tried to help in every way. The bathrooms were steamy and hot all week, the room got sort of cool on some nights. We did not adjust to the jungle very well, others in our group seemed to do better or just kept their mouths shut.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review. We certainly do appreciate the kind words about the property and staff. Staff wanted to pass along their thanks for your hugs, tearful goodbye to them, and for your generous tip. There a couple of points we would like to make about your other issues. The area actually has quite a lot of activities in addition to golf. Perhaps you forgot the deep sea fishing trip members of your group took? Many of our guests go horseback riding, scuba diving, visit the nature park, see whales, and more. We also regret you didn't like set meal times. Being a private home for rent, and not a hotel means there is not a 24/7 restaurant. Of course, our meal times are set by the guests themselves. Finally, we would like to make it clear the guest in the their review mistakenly indicated her room was hot and the A/C didn't work. This is true only for the bathroom. It does not have A/C as it opens to an outdoor shower. We know the A/C works in this room because the next guest asked for instructions on how to turn it down (it got too cold!)We value our clients feedback and thank you for your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing