We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Castel d'Orcino
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calcatoggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2014

The hotel is situated about 2 km from the main road, on one side of the Liscia bay, right at the seaside. In front of the hotel there is no real beach (some rocks), but there is a public sandy beach at approx 800 meters.
We enjoyed the quiet and peaceful location and the beautiful view on the sea from the breakfastarea, the poolarea and a relaxing area under some pinetrees. Our room was very clean and with sufficient comfort, but the decorating/colours used are getting slightly outdated.
We had a room with seaview, which is unfortunately partly blocked by the terrace fences, but still it was worthwhile. Wifi is available (code at reception) but connection is not always stable and we had no connection in the room.
Breakfast is ok : orange juice (not fresh), cheese, charcuterie, cereals, several homemade jams, vienoiseries and possibility to boil an egg (diy).
The restaurants in the neighbourhood are of average quality (les tamaris, l'abri á barques). We found the best one to be U Castellu at Sagone (approx 7 km). The hotel is a good starting point for trips to Ajaccio (30 min) and Piana/Porto (60 min).
Price/quality this hotel is an excellent choise and if I ever go back I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

We actually extended our stay since this hotel had it all as far as I am concerned. Fantastic location close by the sea (rocks, not sand, which I love), and a terrace with a pool overlooking a beautiful bay. Quiet with no neighboring hotels and few families with kids.

Had a small but nice and very clean room with direct access to the pool. Noted that there were a lot of French "return clients" which is a good sign as well. One couple returned for their 14th summer...

No dining facilities, but we preferred to visit all the small villages anyway and found great local restaurants. You of course need a car though.

All in all a perfect stay and very Corsican hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Being there for two nights with fellows bikers.
Pros: far from the little town and therefore far from noise and trafic (although off season there's not so much going on)
Very clean hotel, above the average for sure
Very good "expanded" continental breakfast, no hot food such as eggs or sausages for our TA friends from oversea but still a very nice buffet to pick from (juices, hot beverages, jams, bread, croissants and the like)
Cons: pool not heated despite its awesome location in fron of the sea (the hotel website pictures are quite self explaining...)
No restaurant, not even nearby, you'll have to pick your vehicle and reach something around the area (not that many choices available there either)
Price: surely not cheap and probably a little too much for what you get overall, but it's always better to pay a little more and be glad rather than saving some $$$ and having an awful experience... especially on holidays!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarloCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Having been to Corsica several times now, we know what we like. And Castel d'Orcino was not an option. It was a must! For this next trip, I had to juggle availability in 6 different hotels in Corsica. I rearranged our trip several times to suit Castel d'Orcino's availability because it would not have been possible to go to Corsica and not stay there. Yes, there is not really a restaurant, and yes it is not a hotel with an active night life, but the rooms, the pool, the feel and especially the location make it unmissable. It is a small, intimate, friendly hotel with very helpful staff and to us now, it feels like a home from home. Splurge, but get rooms with a sea view. Yes it isn't cheap, but wow...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earwiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Susi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcatoggio
14.6 km away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
593 reviews
12.2 km away
Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
18 km away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
68.6 km away
Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa & Spa NUCCA
16 km away
Hotel Stella di Mare
Hotel Stella di Mare
#10 of 28 in Ajaccio
405 reviews
25.1 km away
Hotel Le Lonca
Hotel Le Lonca
#10 of 15 in Porto
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel d'Orcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel d'Orcino

Address: Baie de la Liscia, 20111 Calcatoggio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Calcatoggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calcatoggio
Price Range: $208 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castel d'Orcino 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Castel d'Orcino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castel d Orcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing