We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful experience in a pretty town”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Masham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
655heathe...
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful experience in a pretty town”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

the cottage is located in the centre of a picturesque town and only a few minutes walk to all the shops which have anything that you need. The cottage is very clean and is fully equipped with everything that you require, . I recommend having a meal at the Kings Head pub, we enjoyed a nice meal and friendly atmosphere. There is a weekly market and it is worth a visit as there are home made products and artists who sell pictures and cards. We used it as a base to travel around north yorkshire to do family history. I recommend also visiting surrounding towns such as Ripon. Hawes, Richmond and if you are a fan of the last of the summer wine go to Holmfirth. I would definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your holiday, we are so pleased that you had a lovely time. It seems like you found a bit of something for everyone on your travels in the area - excellent! Please do visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy C
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An interesting break”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We were 2 adults staying for some peace and quiet but within easy reach of amenities. That is exactly what we got.
My friend smokes and was greeted by the old chap almost every time that people have
mentioned negatively in reviews. Either he or his wife were in constant attendance. We however went along with it. The old chap was interested in where we were going and where we had been. You could set your clock by him and his tour of the village walking with his dog.
The cottage is just off the village centre, so 3 pubs and 2 breweries were within crawling distance but away from any noise. The deli on the corner had some fab cheese, a bakery around the opposite direction for fresh bread.
The place reminded me of a mini Oxford with huddled up terraces opening out onto the street. The centre has a parking honesty box of 50p. Steeped in history, cyclists and real ale drinkers following a country walk.
Yes, the old chap is a talking point, but we are nurses and are used to long chats with older people, so it didn't bother us

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hlfreer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No privacy!”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this 6 sleep cottage with friends, for 4 adults, 1 infant and 3 cats it was ideal. However, we did not appreciate being "checked up on" 3/4 times a day by the old man who lives across the road (looking after the cottage) coming and staring in our windows! We had a 2 year old child staying with us so we found this type of behaviour very disturbing! The worst was when he came and looked through the window at 11pm, checking we were going to bed or something?! we certainly drew the curtains after this but noticed the curtains on the door have been removed!!! Probably so they can watch everyone who stays in this cottage. Not an enjoyable experience and even thought about cutting our holiday short because of this nosy neighbour behaviour!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Masham hotels

Dawsonleo
1 review
“Cosy and ideal location. Shame about nosy neighbours!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Great cosy cottage. Ideal location, clean. Overall great cottage. There was just one thing. Been watched all the time. The cottage manager lives opposite is always nosying in. To the point we felt so uncomfortable that we left a day early. Such a shame. I wanted a holiday to relax instead got a man walking outside up and down. Like pacing as such. Staring in at us. Found it quite nerving and has put me off visting again with me and my family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing