We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss .”
other travellers have booked this property
A warm welcome awaits you at The Snug. Guests keep returning to enjoy the comforts.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome awaits you at The Snug. Guests keep returning to enjoy the comforts.
Enjoy that cosy feel. Logs provided.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
A warm welcome awaits you at The Snug. Guests keep returning to enjoy the comforts.
Enjoy that cosy feel. Logs provided.
Stylish period furniture.
Comfortable leather sofas.
Historic stone fireplace shown in an Ibbotson painting.
Master bedroom, spacious with good storage.
Master bedroom with super king size bed or twin beds. Room for a travel cot too!
Beds all made up for your arrival.
A snug bunk room with adult size mattresses for extra comfort.
Power shower and bath, hot water on demand with heated floor mat.
Good quality bedding and towels are included in the rental.
Secure storage for the cycles. Parking for motorbikes.
Lots of our guests love The Snug, one couple have stayed with us six times in one year.
Enjoy the Yorkshire sunshine, eating fresh crossiants and ground coffee after a morning walk.
The Snug is full of old charm with thick wobbly walls, beams, timber floors and old doors.
Welcome to Yorkshire Member
A must shop to visit - numerous local artists work displayed and lots more.
Theaskston's brewery a popular destination
World Heritage Centre - Fountains Abbey  truely magnificant, about 10 miles to south of Masham.
Popular Black Sheep Brewery - offering a bistro, brewery tour and sheepy shop.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Masham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChrisK341...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bliss .”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our second visit to the snug cottage in Masham. We arrived on the 29/3/17. For all people who are reading the reviews of the Sung cottage in Masham and are thinking of visiting this beautiful historic village and are looking at places to stay then we as fellow travellers would 100% recommend this atmospheric wonderful cottage. It really is the most perfect place to stay in Masham if you prefer your own space instead of a hotel. Karen the owner of this special place has made sure that everything you need in a home from home is in the cottage. The kitchen has everything that one would need utensils wise. The bed is Without a doubt the most comfortable bed I have ever been to sleep in anywhere I have ever been on holiday. The bath and shower is really great and the log burner in the living room is just magical. To sit in front of it with a bottle of wine is just so nice and extremely relaxing. Go to the information centre on the market place and get some great print outs of some of the amazing local walks and explore the village and of course the Theakstons visitors centre and the Theakstons black bull in paradise. But be assured of one thing at the end of your day in Masham you will not return in my opinion to a cottage as beautiful warm and relaxing as the snug. Roll on our next visit. Oh and one more thing. Sit down with a cup of tea or coffee and savor Karens drizzle cake. YUM. Chris & Sally. Derby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
So pleased to hear you had a great stay again!

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in wonderful Masham”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Really enjoyed our stay in Masham at The Snug. We found it to be very comfortable and well equipped, was very well presented on arrival and excellent attention to detail (cake !). The road outside can be a bit noisy sometimes, however this never really disturbed us. All in all it was a perfect place to stay in the bustling market town of Masham with its lovely pubs, and easy to walk into some incredible countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStar...
1 review
“Warm, Cosy, Comfortable and Friendly”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was our second visit to The Snug and once again we had the perfect holiday.
Karen has made sure that everything is provided - it is certainly very cosy and comfortable. Being October, the weather was colder than our first visit but there was plenty of heat in the cottage to ensure it was warm and welcoming.

Masham is a lovely place to stay being so very handy for all the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. There is a small market twice a week and this year a Farmers' Market on the first Sunday of the month during the summer.

We had our dogs with us and there were no problems with them at The Snug. Yorkshire is a very 'dog friendly' place and they are made welcome in many eating establishments especially in Masham itself.

We have already booked our return visit in the Spring - The Snug has become one of our favourite holiday haunts. Thank you, Karen, for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience of staying at The Snug.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thanks, we look forward to welcoming you back for your return visit in Spring.

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moulders2...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our home away from home”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our 2nd visit here and 1st time with our pup. It's a great little property, well situated for everything in Masham and as a base for the wider Dales. We can't fault it and my only minor (very minor!) gripe would be slightly larger sofas in the lounge for cosy nights in - at 6'2, it's hard to stretch out!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des678
1 review
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Snug is a home away from home. It has many homely touches and we settled in easily. It was very clean and it was lovely to be greeted with a homemade cake. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing