We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some rooms are substandard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Canada Hermanville
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some rooms are substandard”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We had a room in the courtyard - it should never have been made a hotel room. Open access to any one who passed

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    32
    24
    36
See reviews for
33
65
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We arrived on foot by ferry, and planned to get a cab to the hotel. When we arrived it was early and as it was a beautifiul day, we walked to the hotel on the beach.
At the ferry port we asked for directions, and we were told it was about 6km, Im sure it says much less on the details.

We were only there for one night and went into Cean, to find that the last bus back is 7.30pm. We got back to the hotel at 8.00pm to find the reception closed.
We then went looking on foot for a bar or restaurant, there was nothing open.
We were concerned because we wanted to book a cab for the following morning. We then remembered that the hotel had offered breakfast, so we were sure that someone would be available the following morning. The following day, we were shocked to find that the reception was closed. We rang the hotel emergency number and said that we needed a cab urgently. He refused to call one and said that he was in bed!, he said that we should have asked for one the previous day. We explained that the reception had been closed at 8.00pm, but he refused to call one, knowing that we may miss our ferry.
We walked to local bread shop and the staff tried to get us a cab, but there was none available. The kind girl even rang her dad, to ask him to take us, but he was not at home.
We attempted to walk the distance, but it was just too far, we thumbed a lift and eventually a kind French woman took us. My feet were covered in blisters
This hotel is a large house. The reception area is very small and it has a couple of tables in there for breakfast. The stairs are old and the hand rail is wobbly.
I would not recommend that anyone stays here. The uncaring management do not deserve the trade.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pompey1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hermanville-sur-mer hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We have used this hotel several times and although its not the best its clean and handy for large parties of people who want accommodation together. It also has a large car park on the anex area over the road from the hotel, for mini buses or similar. There is no bar but you can get drinks off the owners if you ask but we found it cheaper to call in the local supermarket. The breakfasts are average, but you can request special breakfasts if you book ahead. They do not do evening meals.The local restaurants are in the main street about a mile and half away, which is to far to walk, but there is plenty of parking there. We found a local bar where the proprietor would drive you home if you spent some time (and money) there. The hotel is handy for the DD landings etc and a good place to base yourself for that area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBTNarva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

NEGATIVES: We booked our reservation directly with the hotel's website, however when we arrived we were told that one of the two rooms we had booked had "water damage" (we were later informed that wasn't likely). So...they insisted that all 7 of us (only 2 were small children) stay in one quadruple room. We requested that they call some other hotels in the area to check for availabilities for the other family traveling with us, however the staff pretended to do so (I suppose they didn't realize that we understood their French) and even that was a pathetic "try." The staff was extremely rude and kept rolling his eyes (as if it wasn't a big deal for us all to pile into one room!). Fortunately the room was larger than a normal European hotel room, however there wasn't room to move around the beds (which was a very awkward experience because we do not normally stay with the other family like that). The lack of privacy and closeness of the beds made it feel like we were in a HOSTEL. The room was also in a house across the street from the hotel (which was strange). It was extremely HOT in the room (no A/C and we were there in August). It sounded as if there was a dog kennel next door. Dogs were barking ALL night long. No lift. The stairs to get to the second floor were outside and not covered. The exterior door at the top of the stairs did not lock. There was absolutely no security and no staff available after the evening hours.

POSITIVES: There was a hair dryer in the bathroom. The room and bathroom were very clean. The cleaning person provided extra towels upon request.

BOTTOM LINE: WE WOULD NOT STAY THERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krysteen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

As the title says. very poor experience as the noise from other meant we got very little sleep. was only booked as a stop over. would not be suitable for a holiday. cannot recommend at all. the photos on the site are very deceiving.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drifterWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermanville-sur-mer
1.5 km away
Hotel de Lion sur Mer
Hotel de Lion sur Mer
#1 of 1 in Lion-sur-mer
134 reviews
4.7 km away
Le Beau Rivage
Le Beau Rivage
#1 of 2 in Luc-sur-Mer
254 reviews
3.7 km away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
484 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel des Thermes et du Casino
2.8 km away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canada Hermanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canada Hermanville

Property: Hotel Le Canada Hermanville
Address: 183 rue Amiral Wietzel, 14880 Hermanville-sur-mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Hermanville-sur-mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hermanville-sur-mer
Price range (per night): $83 - $195
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Canada Hermanville 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Canada Hermanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canada Hermanville Hotel
Le Canada Hermanville Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing