We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
448
191
54
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
191
54
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course private beach remote control true star sea view pure relaxation slovenian border rooms are beautiful breakfast service olive oil special thanks close to the hotel visited this hotel food and wine amazing hotel couple of nights main building
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2016

The hotel's location is perfect, on Adriatic coast, Golf Club near.
Picturesque environment, modern beautiful design, Energy Clinic Spa - a special way to relax and forget about stress and pains. Rooms are spacious, very comfortable bed, high quality towels and robes. Healthy food and high level service.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are also looking to pool. Rooms without sea view are looking fields - green and beautiful
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmbassadorTel_Aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

It was our first short stay in one of the Kempinski hotels which definitely met our expectations. Great service, beautiful and spacious rooms, several pools, also for kids, secluded private beach. The only minus is that the drinks and the food in the hotel is way too expensive. I guess that was the reason why many guests had to go out for dinner. Otherwise, we will certainly come back!!!!

Room Tip: ask for see view
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Galina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

We spend a week in the hotel, the favourite place of my mother-in-law to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is situated in the Istrian coast has a breathtaking view to the Adriatic See, the bay to the picturesque slovenian city of Piran and the olives trees of Savudrija. In the hotel's neighbourhood you can find the famous and well-frequented Golf Club Adriatic which we also had the chance to enjoy. We had our room on the second floor in the middle facing the sea and the pool area: try sea view if you can: there is no better thing as to wake up and go to the balcony and enjoy that landscape. Room is equipped with B&O TV which is a great device although we had problems with the German channels had to call maintenance to fix it. You can switch on-off everything on a panel beside you pretty authomatised. Tv in bath is a cool idea and solution! Bathtube and shower were both great to relax in.

Have already visited some Kempinskis I was expecting more from the breakfast especially in Croatia which has all those great salamis, hams the selection was not really 5-star...would have been nice to have more types of bread, fresh juices not like all from paper box except for the orange. In this part there is definitely room for improvement.

The dinner was on the other had great: they brough out the fresh fish what they have just received and we had the chance to select what we want and how they should prepare it. Was simply amazing. We had seabass for 2 with grilled vegetables: very tasty! The desserts are also delicious but the portions are huge do not use it if you are close to get to be full..service was excellent in the restaurant.

Spa is great, it is huge with all the saunas, relaxing rooms and treatments you can imagine. Awesome place to relax and calm down. They have waterbeds in the relax area: lounge music, nice darkness guaranteed battery recharge and full relaxation.

The staff is attentive, helpful and friendly we were missing bit the service at the pool should have been more frequent even if there were only 5-8 couples lying. Reception/concierge did an awesome job special thanks to Velibor for handling all our several requests and turning our wishes to reality. Always. :)

We made a special private sightseeing with a driver, Maurizio: no one knows the area better than he does. A real gentleman speaks 4-5 languages and drives great! Thanks for the unique experience.

All in all: great experience we will certainly come back. I expect that the small mistakes will be taken care of and feedback would be heard and appreciated.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ildiko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiorela_Morozin_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Dear Ildiko I,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read that you very much enjoyed your stay at the hotel and would like to congratulate your mother-in-law once again and wish her a very happy birthday.

It is very rewarding to know that you like the hotel surroundings and countryside location, and that you particularly enjoyed the beautiful Adriatic Sea view from your Deluxe room. When it comes to room features, we absolutely agree with you and think it is a nice touch for guests who love to enjoy all the commodities of modern technological solutions for lighting and curtain adjustments without getting out of bed. Unfortunately, lately we have experienced some technical difficulties with some of the German TV channels and are in the process of finding a proper long-term solution, which is a part of a larger investment. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience.

It is also nice to see that you had some relaxing and revitalising spa time at Energy Clinic Carolea Spa and chose to stay active during your holiday and played golf at the 18-hole golf course at Golf Club Adriatic.

How you described your seafood dining experience and restaurant service during dinner time is exactly what we aim to surprise and delight our guests with. Such exceptional gourmet stories are making us proud of what we do. All the more reason that we truly regret that you didn't have such a positive impression in all areas of your restaurants' and bars' service. I have discussed your remarks about the breakfast selection and the pool bar service with the respective department heads to follow up on the points you mentioned in order to avoid such shortcomings in the future. Our goal is to convince all our guests of our high standards of quality and service in all aspects, and to be recognised as the leading destination for gourmands visiting Istria.

Your compliments relating to our attentive and friendly team are very much appreciated and encouraging, especially when we read that Velibor managed to turn your wishes into reality, and that Maurizio made your private sightseeing tour a very special experience. We are very proud to have such team members on board and pleased to share such wonderful compliments with the entire team.

Thank you once again for your honest feedback. We look forward to delighting you with our hospitality and all our services on your next visit to Umag riviera.

Best regards,

Fiorela Morozin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights (one of which was her birthday) and we really enjoyed the hotel and the facilities. The room was great (we got a free upgrade to a sea view room), clean and spacious with a nice small terrace.
Breakfasts were awesome with anything you could wish for.
We also used the spa (swimming pool and sauna/steam bath) which is included in the room price.
Lastly, but not less important, the staff. Special mention to Bojana at the reception desk who was very kind and accommodating with our requests, yet still professional. Thanks also to Marko for the upgrading us.
Top hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cristiano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiorela_Morozin_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Cristiano P,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your spring break in Istria and for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel location, facilities and services, and wish to congratulate your girlfriend once again a very happy birthday. It is nice to see that our staff took good care of you and that Bojana and Marko made the impression even nicer.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your girlfriend for another wonderful stay in the near future.

Kind regards from Alberi,

Fiorela Morožin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here several times, with friends, and as a family. The hotel is beautiful, and the north-side view towards Slovenia's Piran, Portorož and the Julian Alps in the distance is breathtaking on a clear day - having a sea-facing room really pays if you like sitting on the balcony, sipping a drink and relaxing!

The service of the hotel is good, rooms spacious, clean, and that goes for the rest of it as well. The staff is friendly and helpful. Sitting on the bar terrace in the eveninf on a warn day is absolutely great.

The golf course Adriatic golf is great, even though one of the more difficult. A must play for enthusiasts if one is in the region (try to find a day with less wind to make it a bir easier).

One last thing - food: yes, enjoy the breakfast. Good selection, nice morning atmosphere, especially when eating outside in the summer.

But don't go to the hotel "Dijana" restaurant for lunch or dinner! I have never seen such mediocre food (and poor service) at such sky-high prices!!! And the wine - while there is a nice selection, the prices are 2x or even 3x of those in very good restaurants in Istria, for the same bottles. Believe me, I checked - and found that this hotel tries to rip its (captive) guests off in this restaurant, with its food and wine prices.

So dom't forego on the beautiful hotel, come and stay here - but for dinner book a taxi instead and choose one of the great Istrian konobas - there are ten in a 20 minute drive circle!

Stayed: March 2016
5  Thank JankoM013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiorela_Morozin_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Dear JankoM013,

Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic. We are very pleased to read that you like staying at our hotel and enjoy its countryside location and beautiful views of the Adriatic Sea, charming Piran and the Alps. It really is a privilege to enjoy such splendid views. We are also happy to read that you like a challenging game at the 18-hole golf course at Golf Club Adriatic, and thank you for recommending it to other golf enthusiasts.

Your compliments relating to our team, room features, overall cleanliness and breakfast selection, as well as the pleasant atmosphere, are very much appreciated and encouraging. We truly regret that you didn’t have such a positive impression of all areas of our service, and we apologise for not delivering on our promise of providing exceptional culinary experiences at restaurant Dijana.

We would very much appreciate more feedback on this matter in order to introduce necessary improvements. Please contact me at gm.adriatic@kempinski.com and I will personally investigate it. Our aim is to convince you of our high standards of quality and service in all aspects, especially since we put a lot of effort into being recognised as the leading destination for gourmands visiting Istria.

As an additional note on our gourmet offer, this spring we have introduced favourable offers on restaurant Dijana’s à la carte menu and further encourage the philosophy of a healthy, balanced diet by promoting a very attractive menu featuring Istrian wild asparagus as the star of this month. Of course, we absolutely agree with you that there are several restaurants worth visiting in the area for our guests to discover an amazing blend of Istrian and Mediterranean flavours, even within a few hundred metres’ walking distance. For example, there’s another sea-view restaurant, La Terazza, in the neighbouring Skiper Residence, open during summer months.

Thank you once again for your review and for your time in supplying additional feedback. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Fiorela Morozin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews