We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
66
53
19
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
53
19
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa paradiso third floor dell etna very nice hotel pastries swimming pool mt outskirts dessert choices
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hoel Villa Paradiso dell Etna for two night a week apart. The hotel is an older hotel located in Vin Grande, apparently a suburb or on the outskirts of Catania. Upon arrival, I was greeted by reception area staff who spoke very good English. The check in process was very quick and easy. The lobby elevator was located next to the reception desk and after checking in I proceeded to my 2nd floor room. Hallway lights are activated automatically by motion sensors and the hallways are well lit. The rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds and chairs and plenty of space to store your belongings in closets and a dresser. There is ample room lighting and electrical outlets to utilize to charge your phone and other electronic accessories (a spike bar by the television was very useful). The bathroom has a full tub with shower curtain and was a pleasant change from the typical small European shower. Water temperature and pressure was not a problem and the bathroom was supplied with a variety of soaps and hair care liquids. There were plenty of towels as well. During my stay I also ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinners were typically a set menu with two choices of appetizers, first and second courses. Dessert was served as well. All selections were beautifully prepared and very good in taste, size and quality. The breakfast was served on the third floor and was buffet style with a variety of fruits, cereals, meats, breads, jams and pastries as well as hard boiled eggs. All were well presented and very good. Of special note was the beautiful view of Mt. Etna provided from the third floor breakfast area. The grounds were nicely landscaped, neat and clean and although I did not use the swimming pool it appeared clean and well presented. Since my two days at the hotel we're a week apart, the hotel held my excess luggage in a secure area for me. Staff was always helpful and cooperative and I would recommend the Hotel Villa Paradiso dell Etna without hesitation. The picture I posted is the view of Mt. Etna from the third floor breakfast area.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Desmonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Such a shame....I suspect in its day this was a lovely hotel...sadly not so now. On the plus side, it was immaculately clean, the evening waiting staff were excellent and there was a large free car park. We we were upgraded to one of four suites - faded, but lovely. Breakfast grim- sweet thick fruit syrupy juice served in plastic cups, the slowest toaster in the world, and a stewed communal coffee pot . We didn't see anyone who seemed to be in charge; lovely and clean swimming pool but no loungers; the gym and beauty treatments are no more; the hotels main focus seems to be for coach trips, which when you are the only non coach trip couple is a bit tricky - especially when you go for dinner but told to shush by the coach trippers as they are making speeches .......Evening meals were on the whole ok, and some courses lovely....just could have been so much better and it felt like no one cared about the hotel anymore!!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Hotel is very tired and in need of a good overall, no restaurant for evening meals, only breakfast. Rooms comfortable but general lack of staff shows in lack of cleaning and maintenance. Has a small pool but not very inviting with tired furniture and no service.
Exercise room not available, pizza/cafe at pool closed, basic amenities only.
Restaurants within walking distance but sidewalks narrow and disappear in some places. Not somewhere I would return to, prefer to be closer to Catania center.

Room Tip: Better hotels in Catania center near nightlife and more restaurants.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Lovely old fashioned villa in the outskirts of Catania, perfect starting point for exploring etna and surroundings. The hotel is set in a beautiful lush garden with a very nice swimming pool. We had a family suite with master bedroom, a living room turned into the kids bedroom with 2 single beds and a huge bathroom, all decorated and furnished in old fashioned style. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel however must have seen some better times: the Gymn has been closed (though still advertised in their prospect), the hotel bar closed very early, usually when the last guest had finished dinner, and the pool walls are in need of a good scrub. The food was ok. Nothing exceptional though. Breakfast was ok too, but I've definitely had better in Italy. I would rate it as a good 3 stars, excellent value for money.

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank ValerieKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We stayed 2 nights just as a base for touring Etna. The hotel was "faded elegance" and had good sized public rooms and a pool. The staff were very friendly. The hotel was a bit difficult to find and on a busy road. The room was good with a view of Etna.The big disappointment was dinner. No a la carte was available and the only option was a 35 euro menu from which one chose from limited options. Thus was kind of expensive if you only wanted a light meal and in any case seemed to be prepared from the freezer. We thought about eating out but there were no restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Etna which does not face the road.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mjlfarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews