We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best possible time off”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Little Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Usk, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leanavd
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best possible time off”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed in little barn for few days last summer. It is a great place to have some peace. At the same time the little towns Usk and Abergavenny are a 15min drive away. Also Cardiff is not far away.
The house is super clean and cosy. Either you travel alone or with two, this house is superb!! And the view is breath-taking!!
The owners are very friendly and helpful. I'd return there any time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and the view.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie t
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tranquil”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The little barn is superb if you want peace and tranquility, it is well kept with everything you need, you can sit and relax in the garden and watch the wildlife and also the cheeky chickens who are adorable. We didn't want to leave it is so quiet and relaxing would recommend if you want some time out from your busy life, thank you both and hopefully we will return if we have time from our busy schedule.
Julie and Sam cheers x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefullness
Liked least: Nothing everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnD871
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So Peaceful”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 5 nights in this lovely little place. It is a short drive from Usk and at the end of a short track near a church. It is very cosy and well equipped with everything you need. The TV looks a rather small for the lounge but then this adds to its character.
Mandy and Rob are first class hosts. They live right next door but are not intrusive. They are very friendly warm people interesting to talk to and always on hand if you need something.
The chickens wander around and always come up and see if you have anything tasty they could find to eat.
We had a wonderful, peaceful stay and enjoyed so many walks in the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thanks for you kind comments. We enjoyed having you. Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gorgeous Place to Stay ...”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner booked The Little Barn from Friday - Sunday for a relaxing weekend away. Mandy came out to meet us when we arrived and showed us how everything worked - she is lovely and very friendly.

The Little Barn is gorgeous .. cosy, beautifully decorated and has everything there you could possibly need. Mandy had even been kind enough to leave us tea bags, coffee, milk and some Welsh cakes - very thoughtful.

We had such a chilled relaxed weekend away, and made some new friends (Mandy & Rob's hens and the neighbour's cat called Gordon) and I can't recommend this place highly enough. We will definitely be returning!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelyn...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal escape from modern life”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Mandy and Rob were very friendly, and not intrusive. Facilities in the accommodation were excellent. The views were stunning, with sunsets like we have never seen!

Ideally located for restaurants, pubs, and shops, yet far enough away to feel like you have escaped the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It was lovely to see the chickens and cats wandering around (trying to join us at every available opportunity :) ).

We are very much looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Rob and Mandy. Jacquelyn and Stephen, Devon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location/views, and accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing