We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
91
199
49
17
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
199
49
17
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel easy to find and lots of parking space. The reception and friendly and efficient. Rooms are not the biggest, but are fine, though bathroom toiletries are not replaced regularly. Restaurant is great and good value. Bar is basic but happy to stay open after restaurant and reception closing.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank KatherineJo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESBELIN V, Responsable relations clients at Logis hotel Le Relais des Puys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

We are pleased that your stay went well. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful region. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Great value for a hotel just a few minutes drive from Le Puy de Dome. Easy to find with plentiful parking. Hotel reception were functional and friendly enough. Rooms were on the compact side and basic. Ours had just a shower with minimal toiletries which weren't restocked without asking. Small tv and limited channel choice. Restaurant was very good and sensibly priced. Good fixed priced menus and varied Al La Carte menu. Basic bar but the staff were happy to serve hotel guests even after the restaurant and reception has closed.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose le Relais des Puys in conjunction with Vulcania. We arrived very early in the morning to get our entrance tickets, which were handed to us very quickly. The drive to Vulcania is about 5-10mn.
The hotel is cleaned, average size rooms, has a car park, gardens and free Wi-Fi (you've got to get a personal code to log in).
The rooms garden side have a gorgeous view of the Puy de Dome, whereas the other side get a car park/Clermont Ferrand view.
We slept on the car park side with closed windows and didn't hear anything from the near by road. However i think that with open windows it would have been a bit noisy.
The restaurant does local specialities quite well. We had a good laugh with our waitress, Audrey, who also knew how to be professional when it called for.
Breakfast is on the minimalist side but for 10 euros what do you expect?
If you need directions or tourist info the lady at reception is a gold mine!
Overal, it was a very good experience, and yes, i'll go back to this hotel next time i'm back in the region.

Room Tip: chose garden side for the view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Coming out of hot Clermont Ferrand into the cooler 'mountain' air was a great boon and the views of the city from this hotel are an added bonus. This is very much a stopover place as it does not have much in the way of facilities (a spartan kiddies playground out back). The advantage though is that you are five minutes from the Puy de Dome train and can make a head start on everyone else in the morning. It was very French! No attempt at any stage to engage in the Anglo-Saxon tongue. Fair enough, we're in France, but then this is a service industry! If your French is poor/non-existant, this might prove a struggle. Room fine and functional, with a view. Evening meal very respectable and friendly waiters. Breakfast something of a bun-fight, but we probably arrived at the peak time. Worth a stop and surely better than a steaming city centre on the plain below.

Room Tip: Reasonably quiet and picturesque wherever.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valéry E, Propriétaire at Logis hotel Le Relais des Puys, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Jonathan,
I am very pleased you had a good stay with us.
I regret that people who took care of you did not want or dare to speak English. This is unfortunate and surprising because we have a trained staff...
You enjoyed the location and service. So I hope you'll get another opportunity to come.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our room was basic but clean, quiet and well equipped, and the staff all seem very friendly. I was able to communicate with them even though my French is quite limited. It was very good value, especially when compared to similar hotels in Britain. The restaurant served fantastic food and, from what I could gather, seems to have a good local reputation. The hotel is also well situated and within easy reach of the magnificent Puys De Dome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SevenoaksRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valéry E, Gérant at Logis hotel Le Relais des Puys, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Hello,
I apologize for my late reply.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you very much for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews