We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!!!”
Review of Villa Jerkan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Jerkan
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Jerko and Villa Jerkan were wonderful!

My wife and I stayed at Villa Jerkan for three nights at the beginning of our honeymoon in July, 2009. When we arrived (after midnight), we were greeted warmly by Jerko with a carafe of red wine. Over the next hour, we drank and talked with Jerko in the majestic, open-air patio on the ground floor of his hotel facing the Adriatic Sea. Jerko was extremely friendly--a funny and charming ex-sailor eager to learn about our lives and to tell us stories of his own. During our stay, Jerko invited us into his own home not far from the hotel. We met his wife and his dog (a Jack Russell named...Jack!), enjoyed an afternoon drink of Croatian liquor in his parlor, ate huge juicy peaches from his peach trees, and toured his olive garden. Throughout our entire stay, we found Jerko to be extremely pleasant and totally genuine. We've travelled a fair amount in Europe (my wife even lived there for a time). Jerko was the best host either of us has ever met.

Besides Jerko, the hotel was excellent. The entire building was immaculately clean. Our room and bathroom very big (by European standards) and tastefully furnished with marble (maybe it was travertine or something else...I don't remember) and cool blue and green colors. We had a nice-sized balcony on the top floor that faced the Adriatic. Sunrises and sunsets by the tops of the palm trees were incredible. It was great to have meals on the balcony as well (there's a grocery not far from the hotel...be careful crossing the road!) Fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, olives, cheese, pizza, beer, wine, etc. looking out over the drowsy Adriatic in July...

Podstrana was also excellent. It's a peaceful, down-tempo stretch of beachfront villas, small boats, restaurants, and cafes along the Adriatic. Despite this amazing location, it had zero pretension. We loved walking along the coast to find a place to relax for a drink or just to take in the people on a summer night. It's a short ride into Split, which is certainly worth a day of sight-seeing and eating...amazing octopus salad. From Split, you can easily take day trips on car or passenger ferries to places like Brac and Hvar (stay a couple nights here if you can...). We had a car and found that getting around Croatia was ridiculously easy despite the fact that words and place-names generally have eighteen consonants per one vowel.

Overall, we would highly recommend staying at Villa Jerkan to other couples or small families who travel well together. If it helps to put things in context, my wife and I are Americans. When we travelled to Podstrana, she was twenty-six and I was twenty-eight. She was a grad student, and I worked in an elementary school. We were traveling on a budget. Like I said earlier, we had travelled some in Europe before. We were living in Honolulu (Waikiki) at the time, and, yes, we were that impressed by the natural beauty of Podstrana, the Croatian coast-line, and the Croatian interior (Plitvice National Park is heavenly...). Jerko is an amazing host. The hotel is beautiful. Podstrana is a perfect launch pad to explore Split and the surrounding areas.

The only disclaimers I would put on Villa Jerkan are:
-Don't be surprised if you miss the driveway the first one or two times. We came in late, and it was a bit hard to see.
-If you're going to the grocery store (...or Jerko's house!), be careful crossing the main road. It's madness at times.

Ben and Meagan
New York City, NY
-If you meet Jack, watch out. He's got sharp, little dog teeth! (Just kidding...he was a puppy then.)

Room Tip: Ask for a high balcony facing the Adriatic!
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schmeagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Villa Jerkan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at Villa Jerkan in October 2011. Jerko (owner) was there to greet us and made us feel very comfortable. We were looking for a quiet holiday and certainly got that as we were the only people in the building.
The apartment had an awesome balcony with great views up and down the coast. Everything was clean and bright.
The location was right on the beach and within easy driving distance to Krka, Split, Trogir and some mountain hiking.
Jerko (owner) did a great job of providing for all our needs. Thanks for the wine Jerko!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have spent 7 days in Villa Jerkan. Owner is really good old fashioned guy from travell industry, does everything to make the guest happy. Studio room is OK, however there is no microwave oven, dishwasher and coffee machine. The see is usally clean, unless the wind blows from Split, but it is still OK. A good location to make trips with a (rented) car to Split, Trogir, Omis, and even to Makarska, Sibenik and Primosten. Pls. note that payment is preferred in EUR and in CASH. I believe it is a typical value for money place. We booked the trip through booking.com.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Botond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Villa Jerkan is quite simply the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. My wife could not believe how clean the communal bar/reception toilet facilities were. The best thing about Villa Jerkan is its location and proximity to the beach which is never crowded.The crystal clear sea is safe to swim in. It does have some seaweed later on in the day but this is not an issue. The road behind the hotel is the main route between Split and Omis and is very busy. I stayed on the other side of the road last year and it was a big problem with our children. If you are going to stay in Podstrana this site is the ideal side of the road if you have children. Jerkan is very close to the mini supermarket which which has everything one requires for the stay. There are several excellent restaurants nearby and the walk to Jure and Amigos (the two we liked the best) on an evening as the sun sets is wonderful. Jerkan provides all the sun lounges free of charge and there is ample shade provided on the beach itself if required. The location itself is idyllic. We take wonderful memories home with us. I walked up to old Podstrana on the mountainside which is visible form Jerkan. I wanted to see the church which stands out when looking up at it. I set off just after 8 am and reached the village at 8 50 am. Not a trip for the feint hearted but well worth it as the views it affords are spectacular. Jerko his son Marko and their staff were wonderful hosts. They will collect you from the airport and drop you off for the modest fee of 40 euros each way. We loved it at Villa Jerkan and we cannot wait to return.
One can boil, fry or heat on the two hobs provided but there is no toaster, grill or oven.
Overall we grade this location as excellent for families. Our two boys aged 9 and 7 really enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: Our room had two balconies and a seperate bedroom for the adults. Air conditioned throughout. Good s...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanicusNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I know everyone here will rave about Jerko- and he is quite a character- but I have to report that when he came up to our room (we invited him up, as we were drinking beer on the terrace and we had not yet met him), he had some pretty terrible things to say about Jews, America, etc. It was very jarring, particularly because some of us were Jewish. Its a shame because its a great property, but would I stay here again knowing that the owner blames Jewish banks for all world problems? No I would not.

That said if this sort of thing doesnt bother you- its ON the beach, its a clean apartment, great airconditioning, incredible sunset- not the best location as it was very hard to get to, but once you are there, its worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nb424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
2.8 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
150 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
259 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#8 of 8 in Podstrana
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
9.5 km away
Hotel Damianii
Hotel Damianii
#3 of 7 in Omis
122 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Krilo
Hotel Krilo
#1 of 1 in Krilo Jesenice
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Jerkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jerkan

Address: Sv.Martina 124/B, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range: $60 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Jerkan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Jerkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Jerkan Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing