We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
109
135
89
62
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
135
89
62
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall islandlake pehoean updateamazing locationdining roomhotel locationhour walkturquoise lakesuperior roomjaw droppingviews are stunningglacier greypisco sourspaine grandefrench valleyworldvalentina
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights while I spent a month touring the Patagonia regions of Argentina and Chile. The setting at Lake Pehoe was simply stunning, probably the setting that wowed me the most.

Rooms are basic and clean.The restaurant is separate from the various cabins but it is only a 30 to 50 step walk

One of my meals was very good. The steak meal was subpar (steak cut too thin and over cooked) but I am from western Canada and it is hard to beat the beef we raise there. My other meal was average.

Wi-fi was free but is only available in the lounging area above the restaurant. Wi-fi was intermittent and was never better than slow:((( That type of connection can be expected for such a remote mountainous area.

Anyhow, the reason you stay here is because of the scenery. You are in Torres del Paine National Park and that should speak for itself.

There are three main hikes in this area. We took the ferry to Grand Paine Lodge. We hiked into Grey's Glacier the first day, stayed overnight in the lodge, hiked into French's Valley the next day and then returned to the hotel at Lake Pehoe. Then the next day we hiked up Torres. Of course, there are also many other hikes you can do, including back packing in if that is your fancy.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same and are ground level.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flameforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

This hotel has the best location we ever had, on a small island on Poheo lake. From there you can enjoy great views of the mountains and lake at sunrise and sunset. In addition it is in the center of the park allowing you to access major places easily. The drawback is the management and maintenance which are really disapointing: unable to get hot water in the room so we had to use an other one to take shower, limited food left when we arrived for breakfast at 9AM and other few details which spoil the stay. Hope management will improve as this place is incredible. if you decide not to stay there at least visit the place. The staff is helpfull and the diner has limited choice but good quality

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Minoutaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

It has the choice location in the Torres del Paine with the best views. Unfortunately it is poorly managed and maintained and they get away with it because they can. CONAF, the government agency that regulates the park is corrupt and renovates their concessions regardless.

To access the Hosteria, one must cross a rundown bridge with rotten planks, and at night, all but two of the lights are working. Lighting in the grounds are also in despair. Access to the old cabins is by a set of stairs that are in disrepair; I tripped twice coming out in the early morning. The rooms are poorly maintained with cracks in the shower walls, stains in the ceiling and dirty walls. Ond day the room was not cleaned at all.

The food and the service is terrible. For breakfast, they cannot even cook scrambled eggs and it runs out if you do not get there in time. Fortunately up the road there is a campground with a restaurant run by SODEXO...great food and friendly service.

Room Tip: There is a new section to the facility with better rooms and view for about $30 more/day, so if you must go, this may improve the experience if you must stay there.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EDUARDO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

If you want luxury rooms, this is not the place for you, the rooms are very basic and need to be updated. The bathroom window does not close properly and the cold Patagonian wind enters the room. Hair dryer does not really work. But then you look at the location: it is incredible and makes up for the rest! Have you ever been on a hotel on a small island with these incredible views on the lake and mountains - it is difficult to find a more beautiful location!!! Do not miss the room upstairs from the restaurant with many sofas to relax while enjoying the beautiful view! I won't forget this special place! I just had to take away one point due to the rooms.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank LilliMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

My wife and I spent five nights at Hosteria Pehoe in March 2015.

Hosteria Pehoe offers 1000-star views, a 5-star site, and a 1-star hotel.

The hosteria was originally a hunting lodge, which became a hotel about the time Torres del Paine National Park was created. When the park was created, the owner of the buildings – but not the land – was given a concession to operate the hotel for X years. That concession expires in a couple of years, and the park service will put the concession up for bid. The owner has stated that he will not bid on renewing the concession. Instead, he is operating the hotel to maximize revenue.

The result is a place with a lot of charm, but a run-down hotel with small, dimly lit and poorly maintained rooms. The staff are young, inexperienced, and poorly trained. However, they are eager to help if you ask them for something – but you have to ask. In addition, the laundry service is excellent. On the other hand, our traveling companions and our guide had trouble getting their bills straightened out.

Our package included full board, which consisted of carry-out breakfasts (our choice) and the same two-starter, two-main-dish menu at both lunch and dinner. About one dish out of four was good, the rest were pretty bad. Most of the wines on the wine list were not in stock.

There was WiFi only in the lobby, although it worked from my room. The Internet service was terrible.

For me the views, location, and charm of the existing hotel were extraordinary enough to make me glad I stayed there, despite the awful food and slightly run-down rooms.

When the new concession is sold, you can be sure that the buyer will tear down the existing buildings, build a new hotel, and charge at least US$700 per night.

Thus, go while you can.

Room Tip: I was lucky enough to get Room 36, the best room in the hotel. Superb views, but plenty of foot traffic outside.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bullet43_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews