We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
19
98
72
42
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
98
72
42
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel was built by the Prince Boun Oum as his residence, however, it was abandoned in 1974 when he escaped to France. It was later converted into a hotel. Thus, it looks magnificant with a huge compound. However, when you take a closer look, it is very rundown with many places that requires a new paint job.

The rooms are huge and really clean. We took a double room and it cost about USD 35 per night which is very reasonable. The room has a backdoor that leads to a nice view of Sedone River.

The hotel provides airport transfer, but it is very unreliable. We had informed the hotel of our flight and pick up timing from the airport a few weeks before the trip, and gotten a reply that the driver will be there to pick us up. No one was at the airport when we arrived! I had to borrow a phone from the information centre at the airport to call the hotel, and the receptionist just asked whether we are already at the airport, and told us to wait 15 minutes for them to pick up us. If you take a taxi to the hotel, it cost USD 10 from the airport.

Receptionists are generally friendly and helpful, their English is not amazing though, and it is sometimes difficult to ask them questions.

Overall, I think it is pretty good value for the price that we pay. I gave an average rating because I was quite disappointed about the airport transfer.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The purpose for going to Pakse was to take a 3-day trip on the Vat Phou Mekong River Cruise through parts of Champasak Province. We flew into Pakse a day before the cruise and checked into the historic Champasak Palace Hotel. We also spent 1-night there at the completion of the cruise.

The building was originally built as the palace for the last king of Laos and is described by some as looking like the top of a wedding cake. In fact the picture we've included is actually of the central part of the 4th, 5th & top floor of the hotel. We booked one of the larger rooms on the 4th floor and while a little worn, it was full of charm and lovely furnishings. The bathroom had been recently updated and our room had large double doors opening out onto a terrace overlooking the city.

We had read some negative comments about the breakfast at the hotel but to be perfectly honest, it suited us. While service at the front desk was a little inconsistent, I would chalk that up more to a lack of communication more than a poor attitude.

All-in-all, we got the historical experience we were looking for.

Room tip: For a historical experience, book one of the VIP rooms on the upper floors.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mediakzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Despite the reviews, and because we wanted a unique experience, we stayed we stayed in the Champasak Palace for 3 nights in late May 2012, 3 people in the two Princess rooms. Staff were so attentive, the bellboy was great as we had a lot of coming and going on tours, the hotel looked after our suitcases and gave us the same room each of the three nights we returned.
The laundry was cheap and beautifully packaged.
Breakfast was very good value.
Wifi was good. Bed was comfortable. Great views. The shower was a joy after days of travelling.
We loved the hotel, although parts of it need a bit of a revamp, it is like staying in a fairytale.
On advice from TA we wanted to have dinner on a boat on the Mekong, and the hotel arranged this for us. They also provided shopping advice.
There was always someone in reception who spoke some English.
DarwinGranny

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We went to Pakse in low season, there’s only few guests in hotel (less than 10pp) We had only 1 a la cart for breakfast (you can choose between boiled rice or American breakfast)

Reception couldn’t give any information to you when we asked about place for dinner they can’t recommend just said “you can find some restaurant outside”. But the good things of Pakse is it’s a small town we can find small place to eat by ourselves and we have found many new hotel with a reasonable price. So the day after we decided to change hotel.

*I don't know, if you stay in a high season you may get a good service and full breakfast

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nungning
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at this huge hotel more for fun than good reviews! We were recommended to have a VIP suite which sounds grand but was still a reasonable price. The views were wonderful overlooking the town. The bedroom was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. The breakfast was very adequate catering mainly for the odd Thai, Chinese coach passing through. The staff tried very hard to cope with our lack of laos language and organised a taxi for us for a couple of days touring around the countryside. The evening meal was not tested as we walked a short distance down the main road to a very good little cafe. Bedside lights and wall switches did not work but I would not have missed the experience of this bygone era hotel!!

Room tip: A VIP suites is worth the extra for the sheer privacy it offers
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity-Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews