We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
16
20
33
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
20
33
12
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I booked 3 rooms for my family. The rooms were spacious.
The pool was big.

But...
The bathroom was not satisfactory. It’s so old and it looked yellowish. The bathtub was so yellow and looked dirty. I did not feel like taking a bath in it. Even the bath curtain was dirty and looked moldy.
They did not even provide tooth brush in the bathroom. Luckily I brought mine. That’s a basic stuff in a hotel room. I don’t think so we need to request for such thing. I overheard at the receptionist that someone requested for tooth brush around 11 pm and the receptionist requested to give it the next day. Wow!
The pool was opened for public with some fees imposed (it’s free if you stay in at the hotel). It was crowded during weekends and holidays.
The breakfast was so limited and tasted bad.
The iron and iron board were not properly kept. They just let it seen without keeping in in the closet.
Major renovation is required for this hotel!
Overall experience, just so-so!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank emeahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanZaidi, Rooms Division Manager at Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear emeahm,

Warm Greetings from Swiss Inn Sungai Petani !

Thank you for sharing your observations.

I sincerely regret to note your less than satisfactory stay with us and my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had encountered on this occasion. Kindly rest assured that our management team had looked into the issues you had raised and every effort is being made to minimize any future recurrence and our Hotel is constantly conducting trainings to our staff in order to nurture better service oriented mindset for all of them.

Do kindly treat this as a one-off aberration on our part and not a mark of the hospitality that we are known for.
We do look forward to meeting you on your next visit and we will make sure you carry back better memories of your visit with us.

Best personal regards,

Wan Zaidi
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

In my arrival, waited about half hour to get them to check the available intended room that i previously book. Disapointed because it took them hours to really done that. And confirm finally at 2.30p.m.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanZaidi, Rooms Division Manager at Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Encik Adzly,

Greetings from Swiss Inn Sg Petani !

At the outset, We would like to thank you for sparing time and reviewing our property.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have addressed the matter with the concerned department and have taken all corrective measures to obviate re-occurrence and for your kind information the type of bedding for rooms are subject to availability only during hotel is running high occupancy and the delayed in processing the check-in happened due to the Front Desk team tried to allocate the type of bedding required.

Do kindly treat this as a one-off aberration on our part and not a mark of the hospitality that we are known for.

We do look forward to meeting you on your next visit and we will make sure you carry back better memories of your visit with us.

Kind regards,

Wan Zaidi
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Great pool. Breakfast need to be improved...

Overall still okay. Enjoy swimming by the pool. Maybe the room rate need some special discount or promotion. The room I stay was spacious. The bed pillows all in great shape. Still breakfast need improvement though...

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank azmer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanZaidi, Rooms Division Manager at Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Encik Azmer,

Greetings from Swiss Inn Sg Petani !

Thank you for taking out time to share valuable comments of your stay at our property and we have made a note of all your feedbacks

We also wish to express our gratitude for your comments of the hotel’s beautiful and big swimming pool which is the biggest in Sungai Petani with a size of 40 meter long and 25meter wide (almost the size of an Olympic size swimming pool !)

We will make sure that you carry back better memories of your stay with us in the future, and towards this please allow us to be of service to you once again.

Kind regards,

Wan Zaidi
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

The Hotel is a bit rundown and hence, the bathtub got dirty stain.
The water from shower is not that strong. However, the room is big and comfortable to move around.
Location is acceptable in SP. Easy to go in and out.

Room tip: No comments as it is up to you.
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rosli23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanZaidi, Rooms Division Manager at Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Encik Rosli,

Greetings from Swiss Inn Sg Petani !

At the outset, We would like to thank you for sparing time and reviewing our property.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have addressed the matter with the concerned department and have taken all corrective measures to obviate re-occurrence.

Do kindly treat this as a one-off aberration on our part and not a mark of the hospitality that we are known for.

We do look forward to meeting you on your next visit and we will make sure you carry back better memories of your visit with us.

Kind regards,
Wan Zaidi
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The most thing I love is the big swimming pool.

They give us an early check in when we arrived early. Its a good thing because we bring along our toodler.

The room is spacious. The tv channel is good. The breakfast is great.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aineecumijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanZaidi, Rooms Division Manager at Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear aineecumijoe ,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are absolutely happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward for your return to the hotel soon.

We also wish to express our gratitude for your comments of the hotel’s beautiful and big swimming pool which is the biggest in Sungai Petani with a size of 40 meter long and 25meter wide (almost the size of an Olympic size swimming pool !) and few other facilities during your recent stay at Swiss Inn Sungai Petani .

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

best regards,
Wan Zaidi
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews