We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,863)
Filter reviews
2,863 results
Traveller rating
1,041
925
444
245
208
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,041
925
444
245
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grill beach bar star fish beautiful beach foam party chicken crepes the bus golf cart santa maria a la carte seafood other resorts iced coffee omelette entertainment staff salt and pepper
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 2,863 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Honestly I was really worked up about all the negative reviews I had read on this Resort as we did a last minute booking, then read about all the water issues they had... please ignore negative reviews because we had a fantastic time!

Unbelievable beaches, great friendly staff all around the resort, and plenty of activities to keep busy, but quiet enough to also relax and enjoy your vacation.

I have been to Cuba 9 times now, first time in Cayo Santa Maria, and will definitely return to the Starfish Resort.

Thank you so much! :)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Shan4689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We visited the Starfish Cayo Santa Maria from March 24 - April 03, 2017. It was our 3rd visit to this resort and we will definitely return again. The resort is beautiful like always, the people are happy and very friendly, the room was clean and the beach beautiful! Big THANKS to ALEX customer representative for everything. Thanks all other staff they was amazing as always. Definitely my family recommend this resort everyone. Starfish Cayo Santa Maria is definitely one of the best resorts in Cuba.

Stayed: March 2017
9  Thank bokili67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

The resort was clean and staff was very friendly. Weather was perfect, beach beautiful. This was our first trip to Cuba and first all inclusive, so I have nothing to compare it with.
The water issue had been resolved before we got there thankfully! The a la carts were very nice but the food at the buffets were ok. People say you don't go to Cuba for the food! Didn't like that people could smoke in the lobby and bar areas. Entertainment was so so. Enjoyed our second floor room with beach view. One of our waiters, Julian went above and beyond, friendly and funny!

Room Tip: Suites are nicer, two bathrooms.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We returned 5 days ago after spending a week at the Starfish Cayo Santa Maria. This was our fourth stay at this resort, the first one was under the Husa banner. Our trip with Sunwing from Toronto began with a disappointing delay of 1 hour and 25 minute The captain announced that the incoming flight had a lavatory problem issue, thus the delay. Our second disappointment was the room that we were assigned on the 3rd floor in building block 29. It was simply a disaster. It looked more like a storage room for broken down furniture some of which was sitting on the beds with just the mattresses and by the door way. We immediately called back the bell boy who was equally surprised and shocked. After a 20 minute wait in what was now very late in the evening, we were assigned another room on the same floor. There was no bottled water supplied in the room and we needed same for our medication etc. I had to ask the 24 hr snack bar for a bottle of water and had to settle for fizzy water.

Beginning with our first full day, things started to get better and more or less what we came there to expect. As usual, the friendly and helpful staff at this resort stood out. A few of the staff that we were looking forward to meet again, were not there, transferred perhaps,to other resorts. Half of the complex was closed except for a few building blocks which brought more people to the buffet and lobby bar area making it harder to find a place to sit and also longer line ups at the cooking stations.

The endless white powdery beach with its clear turquoise waters was the main reason for going to Cayo Santa Maria, and except for a few red flag days, it did not disappoint. There was a few spotty drops of rain otherwise it was blue skies and a few clouds every day and best of all, not one mosquito or hardly a fly to irritate you. A few times in the early morning the mosquito sprayer was used to control them.

We attended a special dinner and karaoke contest event with invitations to repeat visitors like ourselves. It was a fun evening complete with a lobster dinner. Other events included a foam pool party, a beach party at night, and entertainment both at the on site1200 seat theatre and at the nearby Pueblo La Estrella. Shuttle service was readily available between the resort and the Pueblo.

I would like to acknowledge with thanks the Alejandro of Customer Service, Rene the bell boy and shuttle driver who kept us entertained with his singing, and Junior, the maintenance man who helped us put a temporary fix to a damaged luggage that was then able to make it back home in tact.

The Starfish Cayo Santa Maria has one of the best lush garden settings one can find. The hard working garden attendants are always seen busily maintaining it and always had the time to acknowledge you with a cordial 'Hola' Thanks to all at the Starfish.

Room Tip: Building block 29 is quiet and a short walk to the lobby bar, dinning rooms, pool and beach.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank R0nB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We visited the Starfish Cayo Santa Maria March 2017, 10 days, it was our 3rd visit to this resort and we will return.
The staff could not do enough for you and always eager to help or point you in the right direction.
On this particular visit there was some problems with water and it was an outside source that affected the entire island. Was easy to overcome. The beach is beyond spectacular, our room perfectly fine. We will return hopefully in the early winter.

Room Tip: Rooms in Villa 9 or 10 are very close to the beach, main pool and lobby
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DPKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews