We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
318
247
83
32
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
247
83
32
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken mayo butler service santa maria lobster a la carte diamond club dinner reservations pool bar the bus breakfast and lunch buffets pizza beach grill adults only section bottles of liquor golf cart vacation enjoyable other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This hotel has several pros and cons.
Pros first as it's always nice to start positive. No waiting in line for check in and out as it was done by desk staff while we met our butler and had a drink - very civilized!
Shown to our room, all amenities pointed out and we stayed in building 61 and Carlos and Leon were our butlers. Rooms were nicely appointed and our maid was fantastic. Had to say that we saw much more of Leon than Carlos. Leon arranged all dinners and special coffees for us in the morning. Always helpful. Lovely beach but needs more shade as it was always a fight to get a palapa first thing in the morning.
We stayed here during March Break. Weather not terribly warm (I'm used to 30-32 for Cuba) as it was around 25-27 but hey, better than Ottawa.
Cons - whew, where to start. Only 3 buildings of the 6 at Sanctuary were open as there was still damage to them. Noticed it at meal times and around the pool - lack of people but you do get good service! Food was Cuba food but I would like hot food to be hot and cold food to be cold. I really don't think this is hard. Also, put signs on the food so we can know what we're eating. Buffet for breakfast and lunch at Sanctuary and dinner could be reserved at either Sanctuary, Grand Memories or Memories. There is also a small shack at the beach, along with a bar that serves hamburgers, sandwiches, wings, etc. Very small but good.
Suggestions - cold food cold, hot food hot, signs, enlarge beach food shack and put in a few tables with shade, have spoons on every table all the time, with your special coffees, serve small biscuits, turn down service at night (with a chocolate!!), have coke in bar fridge in room, (no point having all that rum and nothing to mix it with) offer more REAL Cuban food at meal times.
Bank is at Grand Memories, around the right side of the front desk. Sanctuary desk only offered 5's and 10's. Check banking hours. Bought our coffee at the Grand as well as I wasn't sure the airport would have the brand I like. (Serrano - the best!)
Would I come back? Unsure at this point as we have other areas we like in Cuba as well. We have been to Cuba 13 or 14 times so this is not our first run in case you think this is overwrought. :)

Room tip: Building 61 is in a good area but it does face either the pool or scrubby forest.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Tttyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Our dear Guest,

We hope your return back home was pleasant.

It is a great honor for the Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria to receive your coment and to know that you spend a nice time during your recent stay in our Caribbean Island.
I would also like to thank you for your honest feedback and your suggestions regarding the improvements that can be made, please be aware that we are reinforcing the supervision regarding this matter, as we work under high standards for oue guests satisfaction.


It will be a pleasure to welcome you backa nd show you all the improvements in the Resort.

Warm regards from Cayo Santa Maria
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Room clean and spacious. Food lots to choose from and tasty. Beach amazing with beach grilll and bar, pools cleaned regularly and no shortage of shade or lounges. There was also a grill by the pool so no shortage of food. There was 6 seater carts with drivers that would take you where ever you wanted to go, and a butlers to help if you needed anything in your room or help with other items ie: dinner reservation.

Only issue drinks, low quality. Except the Rum.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HotSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Our dear guest,

It is pleasant to receive such nice comments of your stay with us, theSanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria team would like to thank you for your high punctuation, we are glad to hear that you had an amazing and pleasant stay at our hotel, our main goal is to satisfy our guests and it is very gratifying for us to know that we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding the quality in our drinks, our Food & Beverage Department is already taking the correct measures in this matter.

We are looking forward to see you soon, our staff will be delighted to welcome you back.


Best regards from all the Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

After reading all the great reviews on this resort we are so excited to visit beginning May 7, 2018. We are retiring on May so this is the perfect 1st day as we embark on our next phase or our lives. See you soon. Mark and Rita.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Mark,

We hope everything is perfect in home.

Please be aware that we are looking forward to pamper you in our paradisiac destination and be part of this next phase of your lives

Best regards for you and Rita from all the team of Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I and our friends, another Couple, visited Sanctuary at Grand Memories Cayo Santa Maria from March 20th to the 27th.
We have traveled to Cuba approximately 12 times over the past 13 years. We travel to resorts at least 4 star and up. This was one of our best trips and by far one of the best resorts we have been to.
The location of the Sanctuary buildings to the beach, pool and Sanctuary Lobby was very convenient. Even though you are part of the larger Resort you don't even need to venture past the Sanctuary. Everything is right here for you. Keep in mind we travel South to lay on a beautiful beach and recharge for the week, this might not be for everyone. This resort & beach is the place for just that!
We had two Butler's, Miguel (Mike) & Yadiel.
These two were truly awesome and I would return to the Sanctuary just based on the service these two young men provided.
They checked us in when we arrived, while we sat and had a drink. They arranged our rooms right away (we landed onsite at 1pm) and then delivered our luggage to our rooms right away. These two gentlemen looked after anything we needed the entire week and were always accessible wherever we were. They also, along with our wonderful maid, set up a surprise birthday decoration for our room as it was my birthday during the week there. On top of the cool decorations they also arranged a flaming birthday cake delivered to our table and a serenade.
Overall the food here is pretty good for Cuba, we had the luxury of an alacarte restaurant every night (arranged by our butlers each day)...no standing in line for reservations like other resorts.
All the staff we were in touch with were very accommodating and very happy, smiles all around every day.
We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank TonyHFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Tony,

We hope you had a nice flight back home.

It has been such a huge pleasure to receive your compliments. Our team will be delighted once they read your wonderful comments. Thank you very much for recommending Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria to future guests. You have praised so many aspects, including food and staff, which are very important booking factors. Receive please our deepest gratitude because we are inspired by your positive feedback. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for those stays to come. It will be such a huge pleasure to welcome you back my friend, so we could share more wonderful moments.

Make sure you send us your booking details and preferences for your next year stay, we will be very glad to look after your time with us.

Best regards form our little paradise.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

First time!The service we were provided was top notch! Everything was more than we ever expected, The butler service was wonderfulAt the sanctuary we had access to the two other grand memory properties, so we had a wide choice of activities, ala carte restaurants or buffets, 24 hour bars, and snacks. The sanctuary is an all adult resort, so very comfortable!!

Room tip: All have balconies, so choose which floor
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Rosella,

The Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria team would like to thank you for your nice comments about our Hotel, as it is a great motivation for us to read your kind and positive words.
We appreciate you took part of your precious time to share your experience.

Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort. Thank you very much for highlight the service provided by our butlers.

Warm regards from Cuba,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews