We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic with fantastic views!”
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The blue bay was everything we expected and more. the location was fantastic, and the room we had (top floor at front right corner) was private and the views across little tub harbour were lovely. The hotel was very clean, and all basic needs met. Being next to the beer store was an added bonus!!
The fish and chips at craiggies shack were amazing. Also the grandview for a more al la carte meal.
Tobermorey was quiet but very relaxing and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Blue Bay Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 324 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed for one night in Aug. The room was clean and well maintained. Unfortunately, we were not able to get a second floor room as other reviewers suggested as the place is fully booked. View is OK from the ground floor and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgian776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

A decent, basic motel in a very good location. The King size bed we had was large and comfortable, but everything else about the motel, apart from the location, was basic. Considering the amenities and lack of breakfast included, the price is extremely high. You are paying for the location. I do not understand the exhuberent reviews below (I do note that many mention one employee by name, but don't know if this indicates a particularly helpful staff member or a review written by a friend or family member of management). The ceiling fan was a bit noisy but a/c could be, too. The proxmity to the dock area, and restaurants, etc. is a plus, though the town is small enough that one could easily walk from most (not all) of the other places.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions. Your input helps us improve on our well known outstanding customer service. Your per-reserved, recently renovated king size room with fireplace, LCD tv, Bubbler tub, mini fridge, coffee maker, hairdryer and handmade furniture showcased the best accommodations Tobermory has to offer. Such amenities, along with our commitment to environmental practices, high quality linens and great location reflect the $159 prime season rate.
Many of our guests appreciate our tradition of us showing them to their room at check in to ensure everything is to their liking. During this process our staff introduces themselves by name so that should the guest need assistance they can feel comfortable coming to find us or asking for us by name in the office. This generally translates through to guests feeling comfortable using our names in reviews.
Travel Tip: prices on single queen rooms help save some cash when traveling with a partner as does traveling in the off season. The savvy shopper knows that booking early ensures their choice of room style, travel date and price point.
Thank you again for your input. We look forward to serving you again.
Cheers--Kelly, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Great little spot with views of the harbour. No air conditioning, which at first was a concern, but the ceiling fan and large louvered windows kept the room cool for sleeping. Small fridge and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambrotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Shame on Blue Bay Motel for charging $165.00 for a weekday rate, doesnt even matter that it is in Tobermory. This motel, is completely pre-historic in its ammenities, decor, facility, etc. The only thing that is par for course is there location. Panel on the walls, green ivy wallpaper in the bathroom, to go along with a green toilet and tub. The towels provided (2sets) were not even matched. The bathroom window in the shower area was rotten and mouldy, the sink had chips in it, my pillow had long hair on it.
Come on Blue, you could at least go out and purchase a matching set of towels for each unit. Lights, with the gold chains looping from wall to ceiling, OMG is was just outrageous for the price we paid.
We stayed for two nights in Sault Ste Marie over the weekend, at a HOTEL, and paid less each night, than the above.
Each unit had only two chairs available for outdoor sitting, but clearly the office was advised that there were more occupants. We asked while we were there for extra chairs to use, and were told that none were available.
I would never recommend this motel to anyone, based on the outrageous rates, and the value of what you got for your money.

Room Tip: Go to Bruce Anchor
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachgirl061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thank you for your candid opinion about your recent stay. Your views help us to improve on the exceptional service we are known for. We would like to take this opportunity to state that had your concerns been brought to our attention during your stay we would have worked hard to achieve a positive outcome. We hold the highest standards of cleanliness regardless of the age of our establishment, and many of our repeat guests request our older rooms. Our price point is in line with all the other hotels in town. It reflects your advance reservation for 4 adults in a large room with all our amenities (including 2 brand new queen mattresses, sheets, pillows) during the busiest weeks of the summer. Your comments have been shared with the staff to help us improve your next visit. We look forward to having you stay in the future. TIP: If retro chic is not your preferred style may we suggest requesting one of our newly renovated rooms. Kelly Levack—Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
1.1 km away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
121 reviews
0.7 km away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
89 reviews
0.4 km away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
0.4 km away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
68 reviews
0.5 km away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range: $73 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Bruce County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing