We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great silent place & extremely clear night sky !”
Elevated front deck with southern exposure overlooking sandy Lake Huron shoreline...great for kids.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elevated front deck with southern exposure overlooking sandy Lake Huron shoreline...great for kids.
View of the Willow Bank from the water's edge. Sit back and relax on the front deck with a good book, a cool drink and enjoy the spectacular view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Elevated front deck with southern exposure overlooking sandy Lake Huron shoreline...great for kids.
View of the Willow Bank from the water's edge.
Sit back and relax on the front deck with a good book, a cool drink and enjoy the spectacular view.
Back porch and main entrance to cottage
The Willow Bank sign welcomes visitors to the cottage
Forever changing but always spectacular views overlooking the waterfront
Master bedroom with king sized bed and walk-out to private balcony
Second bedroom on upper level of main cottage is furnished with a comfortable queen-sized bed..
Newly remodeled bathroom features a reglazed deep claw foot bath tub. It's the place for long soaks.
The bathroom also features a spacious shower stall with a glass door for those that prefer a shower.
Fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel pots and pans and a full selection of utensils
Light and bright comfortable living room overlooking waterfront
Dining room table can be expanded so that 8 people can dine comfortably
Entertainment room on lower level with gas fireplace, HDTV, Blu Ray and surround sound.
Excellent water system supplies plenty of clean water from a drilled well
New in 2014! PVC Decking and Glass Railings make for an even more comfortable front deck
Outdoor dining while enjoying the spectacular view from the new deck is pretty special
The charming guest cabin is clean and comfortable.
The guest cabin is furnished with a queen sized bed and a couch that coverts to a single bed.
The Willow Bank features two kayaks and a paddleboat for guests to use during their stay.
The back view of the Willow Bank at dusk
Exploring the area surrounding the cottage by water is a great way to relax and get some exercise.
Paddle a kayak from the cottage to the lake or swimming raft
There is a shoreline fire pit with benches and complimentary firewood.
Imagine a blazing fire under a star-filled night sky
Camp-fire on the night of the Supermoon May 2012
The amazing night sky at the Willow Bank. Photo by guest Danny Turcotte of Catch-Light Photography.
World famous Lake Huron sunset can be seen from Singing Sands.
The rugged Georgian Bay shoreline is a short drive away from the cottage.
The Bruce Peninsula National Park is home to the Grotto.
The color of the water in Georgian Bay contrasts with the rocks and the trees.
Lake Huron near the cottage can be the place of large skies and big waves on windy days.
The Bruce Peninsula is home to many lighthouses. This one is in the Lions Head harbour.
The Chi Cheemaun is a car and passenger ferry that sails between Tobermory and Manitoulin Isand
Sunset dinner cruise aboard the Chi Cheemaun is a favourite activity for some guests
Sail from Tobermory at dinner time enroute to South Baymouth and then sail back home.
The Bruce Peninsula National Park's Visitors Centre is worthy of a visit
There is an elevated observation tower for visitors to climb.
There are breathtaking views that stretch out in every direction to the distant horizon.
The Canadian Red Maple Leaf flies proudly atop the tower.
There are many hiking trails including the Bruce Trail for visitors to explore.
The Bruce Peninsula is a special place to experience anytime of year.
Often Hummingbirds are seen at the feeders and the flowers throughout the summer.
Downy Woodpecker at a feeder
As daylight fades the sky changes colors. The sky will darken and stars will appear.
The Willow Bank is nestled in the trees but is still on the shore of a shelterd bay.
Explore the nearby woods by hiking the trails. Make sure you bring your camera and take some photos.
The Willow Bank cottage was recognized as one of the top cottage rental properties near Tobermory
This honor was awarded to a select group of vacation rental owners based on reviews from past guests
In 2012, Glenn Aishford was rated excellent as a cottage property owner by Tripadvisor and Flipkey.
The Bruce Peninsula is a peaceful and beautiful place. Bring your camera.
Wildlife seems to be everywhere.
Sunlight dancing across the top of the waves as they break near the shore.
Singing Sands beach is the place for picnics and long walks in the sand
Wildflowers seem to be everywhere
The varying hares are regular visitors around the cottage.
Grab a tall drink and settle in for a relaxing sit
The Indian Paint Brush blooms early in the year
A view of the Willow Bank from the far shoreline opposite the cottage
The Willow Bank is tucked back into the cedar tress
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Tobermory, Bruce County, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zbyszek T
Otwock, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great silent place & extremely clear night sky !”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are very happy that we have chosen this cottage on our tour from Europe. We spent great time in this beautiful location and the cottage is one of our favorite places in Canada. Clear sky full of stars with luminous Milky Way is amazing. Meteors are brighter, and the night there is the most spectacular!
During the day we were accompanied by birds, whose habits amazed us.
We met a lot of animals here (but we did not encounter a bear).
All we want is... to be back there soon!
Thank you, Glenn!
Camelopardalids Expedition 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall the cottage - the balconies are great!
Liked least: Cold nights this May :)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
I was honoured that your group of amateur astronomers chose to travel from Warsaw, Poland to the Willow Bank cottage near Tobermory, Ontario, Canada to observe the meteor shower that occurred during the early morning hours of May 24th, 2014. Our previous guests have commented in the past about the clarity of our night sky at the cottage, but to have three esteem representatives from the Polish Fireball Network decide that the front deck of the Willow Bank cottage was the perfect place to observe this once in a lifetime phenomena is humbling. I am proud that the cottage exceeded and your expectations and thrilled that you said it was one of your favourite places in Canada. We would welcome you and your other colleagues to the Willow Bank anytime. Good luck in your research.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solala41
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful clean cottage with lots of fun stuff to do”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

we stayed at the cottage for one week. it was clean and in excellent condition. it is perfect for families as well, as the water is shallow and there is lots to do with kids. 2 paddle boats are provided, kayaks, an outdoor fire pit, a swing, many things that can keep you entertained during your stay. tobermory itself is only a 15 minute drive away, but yet the cottage is very private.
we would definitely come back here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. My wife and I work hard to make sure the place is clean and tidy for all of our guests. We look forward to your return to the Willow Bank.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 May 2014
Thanks Saira for choosing to stay at the Willow Bank. It is always special to host a group at the cottage that have never spent anytime in the country far away from the big city. I am glad that you and the rest of your group enjoyed your stay and would welcome you folks back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jan 2014
Thanks Alan and Audrey for taking the time to review the cottage following your stay in August.

I am happy that you and your children were able to see and hear some of the wild-life that live in the area surrounding the cottage. I believe it is these encounters with nature that children staying at the cottage seem to really enjoy.

I am glad that you folks enjoyed the night sky. For some young children that have stayed at the cottage, the first time they have really spent anytime outside after dark is when they were sitting around a campfire and roasting marshmallows with their parents, Seeing a star filled sky overhead and hearing a pack of coyotes howling off in the distance is not something that children will ever soon forget.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Willow Bank and we hope you folks will consider returning to the cottage again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you Stephanie and David for deciding to stay at the Willow Bank cottage and for taking the time to post an on-line review. It was a true pleasure having you and your extended family spend time at the cottage this winter.

As you know, this was our first time making the cottage available during the holiday season. We were hoping that there would be a family wanting to enjoy the Northern Bruce Peninsula when there was snow on the ground.

We would welcome you folks back to the cottage anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing