We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday, great cottage, great weather.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tobermory, Bruce County, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary K
1 review
“Great holiday, great cottage, great weather.”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was great for our three generation family holiday. We spent most of the time at the cottage, swimming, and kayaking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful, Clean and spacious cottage”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was perfect for our extended family gathering - spacious yet well laid out as it offered us the opportunity to enjoy meals and meal prep together. Lovely private spot with a great deck at water's edge. We really enjoyed the kayaks and the firepit at the beach. The games room was well used by our group for nightly table tennis tournaments. This is obviously a well-cared for cottage and we would be delighted to return to it in the future.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed for a week with my husband, teen and parents. This cottage is lovely and spacious, and had a well supplied kitchen. With two bedrooms, a bathroom and living area on the lower level, it is excellent for families who need a separate space. Large master bedroom with it's own bathroom, but could use darker window coverings. The lower deck is great for sitting by the water, though it needs shade. A great location, only 15 minutes to Tobermory. We would have liked a better door up in the living area so to let the beautiful breezes in. Very nice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, nicely decorated, good lake view
Liked least: Needs shade on lower deck, a screened door upstairs, darker curtains in master bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiLizar...
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location But Too Many Onerous House Rules With Penalties”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was a great location on lake Huron close to Tobermory. However, beware the owners lengthy list of onerous house rules where they may penalize you for a variety of issues/items...you will pay big $$$ if you fail to take out all the garbage, put everything back in its place, or fail to do an extensive cleaning of the property prior to leaving it (they do have a cleaning lady come after you depart so we don't understand why we would have to clean it so extensively - mop all floors, vacuum all rugs, scrub all toilets, sinks, showers, taps, clean the kitchen, wipe out both refrigerators (freezer too), microwave, Bar-B-Q, stove, etc. Please remember that you are paying $2,350 for a week in summer and you're suppose to be on Holiday - not spending a day cleaning the place - they even want you to dust the entire place. Amazing. Not only that, you effectively lose 1 whole day of your vacation because they have a crappy check in time (4:00PM) and crummy check-out time of 10:30AM. Remember to get up at 5:30AM day of departure to commence your cleaning effort of the property prior to complying with your stipulated checkout time of 10:30AM. Oh and remember to launder all the sheets, towels, face cloths, and fold and neatly stack where originally found or fees will apply by the cleaning lady and a $50 Administrative charge. One other thing, the owners ask that you fill the LP Tank if it runs out on your week of usage. So if you use the Bar-B-Q one time and it runs out of propane on your watch, you are expected to spend your valuable vacation time and money running into town filling up the owners tank and effectively subsidizing all the previous renters who used the Bar-B-Q. This is a rediculous request by the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location was very good
Liked least: The cleaning requirements, threat of additional fees, extensive onerous house rules
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked the location of the cottage. This is one of our most popular properties and the owners are very customer service oriented.
Some of the other information provided in this review is inaccurate and we would like to clarify a few of these items. At the time of booking and prior to confirmation of your booking each renter is informed that they are required to bring their own linens and towels, clean the cottage and remove their garbage prior to leaving. Washing linens and towels at the end of your stay is not necessary however some owners do provide King sized sheets for guests because most people do not have these at home and ask that they be laundered prior to leaving the cottage. If the cottage is kept neat and tidy throughout your stay, this makes your final check out day less onerous. Check in and check out times are posted on the site and are set to accommodate people that check the cottages in between rentals and to ensure that the cottage is at its best for your arrival. There is always a spare barbecue tank at the cottage. The location of the spare tank is provided in your cottage information kit but we do ask that you refill the tank if you have used a large amount and the second tank is close to empty. Often owners will reimburse you for this. All you have to do is call our office and notify us.
If you do not agree with the house rules or terms and conditions of the rental agreement it would be prudent NOT to proceed with your reservation rather than not fulfill your contractual obligations. It is important to remember that this is someone’s private home and that they are sharing it with you. Rentcottage.com believes that keeping the property clean and tidy, removing your personal garbage and leaving it as you found it is the respectful thing to do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing