We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tobermory Inn, Suites & Cottages
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Was told room not ready for another hour and a half beyond the check in time. Broken toilet, filthy, moldy refrigerator, zero shower pressure. When toilet was fixed, it still had work to done, but now, water leaking and seeping into the bedroom, soaking carpet. Dirty stained towels, no wi-fi. Definitely no place to bring your kids. Otherwise great lakefront view.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hchirume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We could not have received less for our money. We reserved a queen bed including wifi and Continental breakfast. We ended up with a double bed, breakfast was coffee and toast and wifi was across the parking lot on the deck of the restaurant only when it is closed. There is no a/c in the chalets so it was extremely hot. There are 4 picnic tables for 9 units and 2 are unsafe to sit on. The pool was empty despite being part of their site as a feature. They do not provide cleaning through the stay so we had to call for towels and toilet paper. There is no one in the office ever so the phone isn't answered and then you get a message saying the mailbox is full. Finally finding a staff member was met with "i always answer my phone. You couldn't have called". I told her the outside garbage had not been emptied all week and was told we could use the dumpster across the parking lot. When I walked away she started ranting to a staff member and swearing. She said she was having a bad day and if i looked in the window i would understand. There was a order from the city for not having a permit to perform plumbing repairs. There is no reason I can think of to ever stay here again pr recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

While many of my complaints would follow suit with others who have posted - I must say that for a place to cook and sleep... What more do you need? The view was fabulous, the concierge was lovely, and the cabin did exactly what we needed it too! We have a great time because life is what you make it! Sure - thinks are old and rustic.... But it's cottage country! We went with the intent to be outside majority of the time, and that's what we did.

A few items I will touch on are that would have made our stay more enjoyable are:

1. No one told us you needed to boil the water. I wish this was told to us upfront.

2. The water pressure in the shower was non-existent. Didn't shower the two nights were were there.

3. They need to build a dock or put in a floating dock at the edge of the property. It would be so much nicer if there was water access (especially with the outdoor pool being closed)

4. Have corner store type items available for your guests. It would have been nice to purchase items like tin foil, ice, and firewood on site instead of having to drive to foodland.

Overall, we had great food and great company so we were satisfied!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We booked more than 30 days ahead, only to find upon arrival that 75% of the hotel was closed down by the Fire Marshall. The manager claimed we should have been informed, we drove four hours to get there and had no such notice. After several hours, she finally found us a 3 bedroom chalet type room but upon inspection we found old furniture, NO air conditioning, etc. and declined. Several other guests were angry when they discovered no rooms. Pool was an empty pit, not as advertised. Needs serious upgrading and obviously has some fire hazard issues. Still waiting for a full refund as I booked online and paid up front. Never again!!! Only good thing is Jessica, she tries her best but is fighting a losing battle with the owners and managing company

Room Tip: No room is a good room in this hotel, stay away. Old and dumpy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sroeauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The worst experience ever!
Customer service has no meaning here. There is no way to contact their office via email or phone. We had booked a cottage in June and fully paid (through their website). When we got there, there was no one to check us in. Then a lady showed up and she couldn’t find our booking with last name or reservation number!
The lady in the office was rude and kept saying you are not in my system. I’m a middleman and can’t do anything.
After half an hour wasting our time she put us in a cottage reserved for someone else and told us that she will deal with that customer later!
The rooms and bathroom were very dirty, outdated and smelly. If we had any other options, we would have avoided staying there even for a minute. Luckily we had our own pillow covers, sheets, blankets, disposable plates and cutlery. We had to sanitize everything and were careful not to touch anything.
The place is shabby and falling apart. It is pretty unsafe to stay there. The municipality affair has issued a “stop work order” because they were doing renovation without proper permits (see the pictures attached). The lady in the office said they had to move people around because of this order and cannot accommodate people with reservations in some of the rooms.
Stay away. This place is just horrible!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maryam73_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
1.5 km away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
94 reviews
1.2 km away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
71 reviews
1.5 km away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
127 reviews
1.2 km away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
106 reviews
0.2 km away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobermory Inn, Suites & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobermory Inn, Suites & Cottages

Address: 122 Bay St S, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada (Formerly The Hub of the Tub)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Tobermory
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tobermory Inn, Suites & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tobermory Inn, Suites & Cottages. We provide Cottages that have two or three bedrooms and a beautiful view of our water-view/sunset evenings. One,two and three Bedroom Suites. Also lodging at the Inn. Great for family get-away. Watch the Chi-Cheemaun (Big Canoe) Sail into port. With New Management and Staff we are here to make your visit a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Tobermory Inn, Suites & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tobermory Hotel Tobermory
Tobermory Lodge And Motel
Tobermory Inn, Suites & Cottages Bruce County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing